We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We can't say enough good things about this inn, because there were numerous positive pleasures, that we enjoyed. The room was spacious and immaculate, and cleaned daily to meet our expectations. Everything was provided, without requesting special attention. The food (breakfast) was provided, and the selection each morning was excellent. Every item was fresh and flavored like home-cooking. The reception staff was very friendly and efficient. They provided us with recommended restaurants that were superb, and even found an Optometrist to repair my glasses. What else can I say, this Hotel is the best...
Judy Chapin

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithKokomo_IN_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2010

Hello Ms. Chapin!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Cherry Tree. I'm so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay, our cleanliness, our service, and our restaurant recommendations. I'm glad we were able to help you find an optometrist to fix your glasses, too. Having "four eyes" myself, it's never fun to have your glasses break while on vacation.

I hope you have a nice fall and we'll be happy to see you visit us again.


Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,294 - 3,300 of 3,472 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2010

I have never been to Traverse City or stayed in any of the hotels so I took a gamble and found a good deal on hotels.com for the Cherry Tree Inn. I read all the reviews and looked at all the photos and I was still a little concerned about stay at the hotel. I had two problems: one was I couldn't find an actual layout of what my room would look like and the second was I hated the red bed with the blue carpet pictures. Ah screw it, I went for it anyways. Well my girlfriend and I were really glad I did. We had an excellent stay at our hotel. We were given the top floor with an amazing view of the water. I spent most of my time on vacation sipping cocktails on the balcony just feeling the breeze. Also our room was plenty big and.....A brownish carpet instead of blue! I was thrilled. Service was good as I did not wish to be disturbed on my vacation and the only phone call I got was from the front desk asking if the room was when we first came in. Awesome hand soaps that don't leave your hands greasy. We swam in the pool and I was about to try the hottub when I found my only complaint. The steps location are very deceiving when the bubbles are going along with an awkward positioning of the railing. I almost did a front flip into the hottub because I expected there to be a step where there wasn't one. Breakfast in the morning was good and I personally really liked the coffee. They also got the yogurt without the chunks which was perfect me as a person who doesn't like to eat weird textures. I could go on but in the end we had a great time and the excellent accomodations the Cherry Tree Inn provided really made our vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darkwater59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

They were overbooked and I had to make a room change the first night., The breakfast area was too small and not much there, coffee was awful. Fitmess equip. was broken. Beach had marsh area on each side. The next day our room bed was not made up. We were asked to leave the third day after a staff told us that we were all set to stay in our hotel room for the following day. I had three kids and they informed me right when I was leaving for the day. Poor communication and too expensive for services. We went to a much better hotel down the road which was cheaper, better breakfast, beach and rooms. My husband and I are both professionals and would not stay again after the way we were treated.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hindyAlgonac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

Good day!

Thank you for your review of our property, and I do apologize that it wasn’t a better stay for you. As you and I discussed on the phone yesterday, you had reserved three different rooms and scheduled two room moves. At the time you reserved, which was at the beginning of July, other guests had reserved prior to you so we couldn’t accommodate your four-day stay in one room. By all means, we always want to keep a guest in the same room for all days of their visit – it’s simply easier on the guest. As I discussed with you on the phone, your reservation was not the case of overbooking. (To me, it’s ethically wrong to purposely overbook rooms. We never practice that sort of business at the Cherry Tree.) For your stay, you had reserved it with the room moves, we sent confirmations to show the different rooms you reserved, and you said you were aware of the room moves to me on the phone. We always monitor room moves to see if can avoid them for our guests, but if other guests who reserved prior to you don’t change their reservations or don’t cancel, we can’t accommodate you to be in the same room for all nights. I do apologize for any confusion with the room moves, but we did communicate as best as we could prior to your arrival.

I am sorry that during your stay we didn’t communicate better with you about the second room move. We could have certainly done that better, and I will work with the staff to make the communication to guests better. However, we did do a very nice job of accommodating you on that second room move. We thought your next room wasn’t going to be ready until after 12:00 PM, but our housekeeping staff worked hard and fast to prepare a room for you prior to 11:00 AM. We then offered to assist in moving your luggage for you, but you refused the help, the move, and you used an unprofessional word to describe one of my employees after she explained how she would help you. We certainly wanted to make the move as easy as possible on you, and I’m sorry you didn’t feel that way.

In regards to our breakfast, thank you for your opinion. We do feature three different types of bread, hard-boiled eggs, apples, bananas, apple streusel coffee cake, donut holes, hot and cold cereals, coffee, three types of juices, ready-to-make Belgian waffles with cherry topping and whipped cream, and either biscuits and sausage gravy or sausage and egg patties. For a complimentary breakfast, we do get good comments on it, but I wish you would have been more satisfied with it. I will see what we can do to adjust and make it better, including the space. It does get tight in the room during busy times and we offer additional seating in our lobby and trays for guests to take food to their rooms. We are working to redesign and open more space in our breakfast room area.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Although your stay was poor, I am glad you enjoyed the room and we will certainly take your comments to heart so we can be a better hotel and offer better hospitality. Have a wonderful end of summer.

Best,
Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Rooms were clean with a tv and phone in the bathroom (kinda neat). The breakfast was really good...lots to choose from!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

I recently planned a trip to TC with my mother for quick end of the summer get away. Based on reviews we chose the Cherry Inn to stay at. What a great experience! The staff was all very curteous and helpful. The room was spacious and had a beautiful view of the bay with a balcony. Overall the room was very clean with the exception of one of the bedspreads which had a few stains and the balcony which could have used a sweep. The room was very quiet and included a microwave and mini-fridge. Breakfast was included however, the breakfast room is quite small and very busy in the morning! They did offer extra seating in a seperate room. Aside from a few very minor bumps the Cherry Tree was exactly what we were looking and afforded us a very relaxing and enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jab30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The hotel has definitely improved since my last stay. the room was bright and friendly with a very nice view of the new beach area the hotel has created. We needed help finding things in town and the staff was very helpful and well informed as to local restaurants and shops. They even took out the maps and showed us what we were lookiing for.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank larrycro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We're so glad that you enjoyed it, our beach area, and our friendly staff ( we do like giving out the area maps - they are so nice!). We hope to have you back again soon. Have a great August.

Best,

Jonathan P., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I checked the reviews for the hotel before I booked and was not disappointed! The hotel was beautiful. We had a balcony room with 2 queen beds. The view was spectacular. The room was so bright, up to date and clean. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was good - it was included which made it convenient. The location of the hotel was also good - close to downtown Traverse City. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmbfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Cherry Tree. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and I'm sure the staff will really enjoy it as well. We wish you a happy end to summer!

Best,

Jonathan P., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Traverse City, MI
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $104 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City hotel, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree’s smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a free breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free shuttle service (based on driver availability), 24-hour indoor pool, hot tub, and dry sauna, year round outdoor hot tub, seasonal outdoor pool, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, numerous comfy pillows, HD TV’s, bedside docking stations, Seattle’s Best in-room coffee, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City’s best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing