We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and access to the bay, lovely decor, comfortable surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We had a great suite at the Cherry Tree Inn, which helped accommodate our family of 2 adults and 2 teens. The view outside our window, which we could see from the balcony, was lovely. In the back one can wade out in the bay for quite a distance since the water's shallow. Later in the day it was a temperature we could tolerate!

Breakfast and daily chocolate chip cookies at the desk were provided. We had easy access to a computer for checking e-mail. The indoor pool was a hit with our teens.

I hope others get to stay here and enjoy Traverse City from this vantage point. The biggest drawback was that one has to navigate the main lakeshore road which is congested to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cspringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2010

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Isn't the water great! It's been unusually warmer than normal this time of year. Our boat rental company has recorded consistent 75 degree temperatures, but, being a local all my life, I know it can change in an instant. At least things are looking great for the summer.

US-31 does get quite busy. Thankfully, our hotel is located right at a stop light with a driveway on each side of the light, so our guests have a much easier time getting in and out than other properties without traffic lights. I'm actually meeting with the Michigan Department of Transportation and other local entities this next week to discuss plans in making the US-31 traffic corridor safer for our guests, our employees, and our community. We'll keep everything posted.

Thank you again. Have a wonderful end to your June!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,316 - 3,322 of 3,473 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2010

The staff and managment go out of there way to make sure you have a wonderfull stay.
From check in to check out they are there to assist you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2010

Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm sure the Cherry Tree Family will enjoy reading it and continue helping our guests in whatever way we can.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

This was our second long weekend visit to this hotel, and I would just like to thank the GM for helping to make a very special anniversary and marathon weekend, even more romantic and special.

I sent the Cherry Tree and email asking if I could ship a very special bottle of wine and bottle of champagne there to surprise my husband. The GM answered, and said he would love to do it. When we arrived to our room the bottles where set up with wine glasses, a special corkscrew for us to keep, and a divine box of chocolates (I paid just a few dollars and he added it to the set up). My husband was so suprised, and was in wonderment that I was so crafty to find a way to set that up. Little did he know that the GM orchestrated the set up above and beyond my request. The GM really made me feel like it was his utmost pleasure to help me out with my little surprise. Thank you so much! We will see you again soon.

We stayed in two rooms, one "lower grade" bayside room and our usual bayside suite because of availability. We were so happy with the regular bayside room. It was large and beautiful and had a great balcony. I would have to say its just as nice as the suite, with the exception of the jacuzzi, and fireplace. Also we got to use the hotel pool and hot tub this visit, and really enjoyed them. We really like the addition of the snack and sundry shop as well.

Here is my review below from our previous visit about our bayside suite:

Everything about it was enormous and beautiful from the carved wood furniture (amazing king sized bed) to a great whirlpool spa tub ect... We also loved the kitchenette and cabinets and extra blankets and pillows in the wicker chest to snuggle on the floor in front of the fireplace. There is no room service at this hotel, so all we really expected was an amazing room in a great location and that's exactly what we got. Also, we loved the fresh waffles we could make in the waffle maker in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvrockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We have stayed here many times before however it had been about 5 years since since our last visit. We were very happy to see the hotel hasn't changed. All staff members were friendly, rooms were spacious and clean, and the breakfast was well stocked with a nice selection. We were a little disappointed to see the waters of the Bay have receded so much and the beach areas overgrown (not the hotel's fault), but were happy to see a little space of cleared beach left and spent the mornings and evenings sitting out by the water--which was wonderful. Love the this hotel's location and the value and will definitely be staying here again in the near future!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellover94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2010

Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed the staff, the breakfast, and the water. We do have a shallower area of waterfront, but it makes it nice because guests can walk out quite a ways without going over their knees. Plus it's safe for children. We are adding 5" of beach sand to our top portion next week, though! Just in time for July!

Thank you again. Have a wonderful summer, and we look forward to your return.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

The Good: . Our Family Suite, 2 futons w/ trundle that convert to 3 twin beds was just what we needed. The kids could play in the room and we didn't have to worry about them running into or breaking anything. The mini-kitchen was small, but functional. The pool was also small, but just right for our kids (ages 7, 3, 2). It took us a while to find where the beach was (all we saw at first was their grassy, natural shore area). Loved that they had a pirate ship playground. Wonderful breakfast. Loved the library with kids' books and toy games and the fresh cookies at the front desk. Also, lots of maps and brochures for nearby attractions like the Pirate's Cove Mini-Golf. Walgreens is across the street (Band-Aids or snacks, anyone?) and there is an ice-cream store within walking distance too.

The Average: Kind of far from Downtown Traverse City, but all the hotels were. I don't know if paying for our room during peak season (almost triple the price we payed) would be worth it. In the master bedroom, the A/C kept blowing in my face,so I had to sleep on my side.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yooperkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2010

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel and it was the right fit for your family of kids. We do have many activities for kids to enjoy. From the board games, the pool (which is a good size for our hotel since we only have 76 rooms), the arcade, the putting green, the Sony Playstation 2's in all rooms, and the kids' beach playground, we have a lot of things to keep kids amused. Our beach is large and offers a lot. The top of our 400-foot-wide beach is all the sugar sand and the bottom portion is split into two sections: half is a natural area that guests can view birds, frogs, and grasses that are native to our region and the other half of the lower portion is hard-packed sand down to the water's edge. We have about 70-90 lounge chairs to enjoy as well as a beach fire pit! And your right - It is nice to have Walgreens across the street. Never know when there is something you may have forgotten that we don't carry in our Cherry Tree Sweet Shoppe.
I'm sorry you thought we were a bit far from the downtown area. Being 4.5 miles from downtown, our location does make it easier for guests to not be in the heavy traffic and it makes it easier to access the small towns around the area and the back roads to get around downtown traffic. The area is just so spread out in general because of all the fresh water access along the bays and the 15-20 inland lakes, so that's why all the hotels and restaurants are spread out along the area. Next time, you may want to bring your bicycles and take the TART trail, which you can access right across the street from our hotel, to downtown. It's a nice, paved trail that goes all the way to downtown and even up to Suttons Bay, although it becomes packed gravel west of downtown.
And thank you for telling us about the A/C vent blowing on your face. We'll look in to adjusting that, and I'm sure it would be simple to direct the air away from the head of the bed.
Thank you again for your review and your stay. I hope you have a nice spring. Happy Memorial Day!

Best,

Jonathan P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We were very pleased with the quality and comfort of Cherry Tree Inn. we went there for a midweek getaway and it ended up being the most memorable trip of our lives yet. The service was absolutely outstanding. The hotel staff was probably the friendliest we have encountered to date. They even had dinner suggestions that turned out to be excellent. Looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

Hello!

Thank you for the time you took to write a review of your stay. I'm pleased that the Cherry Tree Family provided such excellent service and hospitality. That's what we're supposed to do, right? I wish you a wonderful spring and summer. Happy Memorial Day!

Best,

Jonathan P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

My wife and I went on our honeymoon May 16-19 in Traverse City and chose Cherry Tree because of the great rates and the photos. However, what we saw when we got there was so much better than the pictures or words described.

Granted, we stayed in the largest suite there, which came complete with a fireplace, kitchen, balcony, hot tub in the room, a lot of comfortable seating and space, a huge bathroom, and a very nice TV. The room was nicely laid out and it was kept clean during our stay.

The best part was the service, from the manager (Jonathan) to the front desk staff (Holly), who worked with us on prices and room service, but also recommended local restaurants, wineries and sights, seeming happy to do so. A room off the lobby offers local menus, a very nice and creative touch, as well as a computer and printer, and the continental breakfast each morning was tasty. We did not use the pool and hot tub, but they looked clean as well. The views of the East Arm of the bay are quite nice, as is the private beach with deck chairs, and the location is far enough away from Traverse (like, two miles) to avoid traffic but close to restaurants, a drugstore, the casino and a large department store.

I don't believe you can find anywhere better than Cherry Tree, and not only will we return next time, we will recommend it to anyone who travels there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkingshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

Hello!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a good, thorough review of your stay. I'm so glad you enjoyed everything and we were able to help you with special requests, making your honeymoon even better. I will be sure to post your review for the staff to see and keep motivated that they're doing a great job. I wish you a wonderful spring and a great year. We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Best,

Jonathan P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Traverse City, MI
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $104 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City hotel, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree’s smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a free breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free shuttle service (based on driver availability), 24-hour indoor pool, hot tub, and dry sauna, year round outdoor hot tub, seasonal outdoor pool, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, numerous comfy pillows, HD TV’s, bedside docking stations, Seattle’s Best in-room coffee, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City’s best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing