We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 8, 2010

This was the first time in 3 years that we have stayed at the Cherry Tree Inn. We used to stay every year some years ago in the summer but their beach is not what it used to be; however, this is not the fault of Cherry Tree Inn, it's all in location and the DNR. Since it was a last minute trip for the weekend and the winter, it brought us back to the Cherry Tree Inn because you just can't beat their prices and service.
We stayed in the remodeled Leelanau Suite (Room 322) and it was very nice, clean and comfortable. Housekeeping did a very nice job, as always and the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the expanded breakfast with the waffles, eggs and sausage (was not like that last time we stayed). We enjoyed lounging the in the lobby room with the fireplace and having access to the internet. All the things we always enjoyed about the Cherry Tree were still in place.
Just a couple minor recommendations:
1). The pool was a bit chilly which stopped my husband from going in with my 9 year old. She loved swimming in it but did say it was even a bit cold for her.
2) Cherry Tree really, really needs to add hooks and towel bars in the bathroom. When taking a shower, there was no place to hang your towel within reach or put your clean PJ's. We hung the clean towel on the door handle and you still had to walk out of the shower to reach it. I would highly recommend a hook on the back of the door (for robes, etc.) as well as a towel rack on the wall right outside the shower to hang towels.
3) The toilet plugged up 4 times during out stay. Just a suggestion to have a plumber take a look at it.
Other then those 3 minor things, which in no way ruined out stay, I would, and always have, recommend the Cherry Tree Inn to family and friends. You just can't beat the cleanliness, price, and service.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darbabybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2010

Hello!

Thank you for your review and we're happy to have you back as a guest again! I'm glad you enjoyed our Front Desk staff's helpfulness and housekeeping's cleanliness. Thank you for listing your concerns, too. With the pool, we've gotten a few concerns with the temperature of it lately. Our digital read out is showing 82 degrees for the pool water, 103 degrees for our hot tub, and 75 degrees for the room's air temperature. I've noticed a few guests raise concerns about the pool temperature, so we bought a brand new mercury thermometer and left it in for the day, and it showed 82 degrees as well. Thus, our temperatures are right and accurate, so we're going to turn up the temperature a little as well as look to turn up the air temperature as well. We definitely want guests comfy in the pool!
I absolutely agree with the towel bars in the bathrooms of our second-building suites. In fact, I recently found extra towels bars that I have instructed our maintenance staff to install in those rooms. So we will have those installed soon. Thank you for that advice
And we will certainly look into the plumbing issue you may have had with the toilet.
Thank you again for your review and your visit. We wish you the very best and wonderful end to your winter.

Best,

Jonathan P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,340 - 3,346 of 3,472 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the Cherry Tree Inn 8 times over the past 3 years and every visit has been great. The hotel is quiet, the rooms are the most comfortable of any hotel where we have ever stayed. The staff is also very helpful and courteous and they remember us every time we return.

The free continental breakfast in the morning is excellent, complete with pastries, juices, fruit, waffle maker and fixings for breakfast sandwiches.

The rooms are well furnished and nicely decorated and the entire hotel is very well maintained and clean.

The location is also good -- about 15-20 minutes away from the Old Mission wineries, 20-30 minutes from the Leelenau Peninsula wineries, and 7 minutes to downtown Traverse City. Parking at the hotel is always sufficient and the indoor pool is small, but nice.

We have recommended this hotel to family and friends and all have been very pleased with their stay. We look forward to our next stay at the Cherry Tree Inn in spring 2010.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redwingsfan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2010

Hello!

Thank you for your nice thorough review of our hotel and thank you for your stays as a repeat guest. We greatly appreciate all our guests, but our repeat guests can become like family members, who follow our daily lives and know what's happening with each member of the staff. Thank you for that friendship.
We look forward to having you visit in spring 2010, and we wish you the very best.

Best,

Jonathan Pack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We stayed at the Cherry Tree Inn, with our small children, we loved the large suite! It had lots of room and was super clean. The staff was also amazing! The price was also definitely right! We will definitely be staying here again and also have recommended it to our friends.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
Thank Beckleyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2010

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad our spacious suites worked well for you and your kids. Thank you for recommending us to friends - we promise to take care of them as well. Have a wonderful week!

Best,

Jonathan Pack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We have been coming up to TC for several years now and I have never sent a review, Well let me tell you that you could not be in better hands then The Cherry Tree Inn. The Breakfasts are Delicious, something for everyone, the pool and hot tub very relaxing, the rooms Comfortable and Clean, and Homelike, the view of the Bay is Awesome, the Sunsets and Sunrises are spectacular but in the summer the Stars are in abundance and sometimes you can see the Northern Lights which is an experiance in itself, and the waves brushing up on the shore is a sound that just makes you want to relax and fall asleep, Johnathon and Jessica and the rest of the staff are always there to provide the best of service, whew! I could go on and on. I cannot wait til my next trip May 2010 for Blossom Days with my Girlfriends. Thanks for making us feel apart of TC. The Walkowiak Family

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soccer20011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2010

My goodness! What a surprise to have a review from the Walkowiak family. Thank you for your review - it's fun to read and the staff has enjoyed it. It's like you're painting a dream. Thank you for everything. I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best,

Jonathan Pack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

This hotel was awesome. The rooms were clean and had great features, like a microwave, tv, and fridge. The view of the bay was spectacular. Room was clean and hotel was quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmitze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2010

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed our cleanliness and quietness (with eight-inch concrete walls, floors, and ceilings, the entire property is very quiet). I hope you had a safe trip home and have a great February.

Best,

Jonathan Pack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

I was very pleased with the friendly, helpful yet professional staff. The breakfast served every morning was more than enough and the staff was there to re-plenish and make sure everything was clean and in order.

The description of our room as listed on their web-site was true. (Waterfront is waterfront). Beautiful views!

Thank you for making us feel welcome!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2010

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed the beautiful winter water views. We greatly appreciate your time and consideration to let us know how your stay was. We hope you have a wonderful winter and join us again. Thank you!

Best,

Jonathan Pack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stayed at the Cherry Tree for my birthday and loved every minute. The staff was super friendly and gave great recommendations for eating. The Cherry Tree is located directly on the beach with a beautiful view of the water. We plan to make a yearly trip to Traverse City and WILL BE staying at the Cherry Tree for each of these visits.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daburgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2010

Hello!

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm very happy that you had a good birthday and our staff helped you with restaurant recommendations. We have so many great restaurants to choose from in T.C. that it's easy to get lost trying to find the perfect choice!

I hope you have a good rest of your winter and that it doesn't last too long. Thank you again.

Best,

Jonathan Pack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Traverse City, MI
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $104 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City hotel, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree’s smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a free breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free shuttle service (based on driver availability), 24-hour indoor pool, hot tub, and dry sauna, year round outdoor hot tub, seasonal outdoor pool, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, numerous comfy pillows, HD TV’s, bedside docking stations, Seattle’s Best in-room coffee, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City’s best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing