We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a relaxing Getaway with a spectacular view and friendly, helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We wanted to plan a weekend to get away from home and found Cherry Tree Inn and Suites to be the perfect getaway! From the moment we walked in the door, we were greeted with very kind and helpful staff. They were helpful with giving directions to shopping, attractions and different places of interest. It was so close to everything needed: convenience stores, grocery stores, shopping, dining, and especially the beautiful wineries! :) It was also very close the the great bike trails, which are great for those of you who like to bicycle! The room was beautiful (and clean!) with a little kitchenette, fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Best of all, was the beautiful view of the Traverse Bay from the beach front balcony! Complementary breakfast was amazing, and left us full until the afternoon! We will definately be choosing to come back for return visits to the area!

PS. It is also great for families with children, there is a nice indoor pool and a play area behind the hotel on the beach!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ems1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2009

Thank you for your review. It's great that you enjoyed everything and thanks for the mention of the bicycle trail known as the TART (Traverse Area Recreational Trail). It's a great trail for biking, running, walking, skipping, roller blading, skating, crawling, hopping,... well, anything! :) I think it goes for a total of 30 miles - 27 to Suttons Bay and 3 up to Bunker Hill Road in Acme. Hope you had a safe drive home. We look forward to having you as a guest again.
Best,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,260 - 3,266 of 3,351 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2009

We came up for some R & R and really found a great place to stay. The Inn is easy to find, especially if you're coming from US 131 via M72 through Acme. Beautiful views of the East Bay from our room, which was clean and comfortable with a small room frige and a microwave. The microwave was a bit noisy, but it was clean inside and ready to use. The bathroom was roomy, with the sink outside the bath. We stayed in one of the rooms they call "Elk Rapids" and it was just right for the two of us. They have rooms/suites that can sleep larger numbers of people.
The staff was more than friendly, our check in on Wednesday was very efficient and courteous. The front desk person, Jennifer, was very helpful, even mapping out the route to a dinner spot for us. The entire staff was very friendly and upbeat to deal with. The complimentary breakfast was generous with options for light or heavy eaters. The sausage gravy wasn't so hot, but the eggs over easy were good, though not on the buffet each day. On Saturday, the breakfast buffet was very busy, so you might want to try eating in the sunroom opposite the front desk.
The hotel is convenient to most things you might want to do, and far enough out of the way to avoid the heavier traffic. They are into recycling, which we liked, and it was not an inconvenience to drop off our papers and stuff for them to care for.
There's a Walgreens across the street and a Tom's market not far if you want to get some things for your room. Tom's is pricey, and there's a Meijer out on US31/37 South near the Mall area.
The indoor Pool and spa area were clean and inviting. It's obvious they take great pride in the facility and their hospitality was great. Mid week stays in Northern Michigan can be very cost effective, and we'd definitely do it that way again, since things are less congested in the summer and fall then. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HM3200GrandRapids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2009

Hello! Thank you so much for your review and all your kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed everything and thanks for helping future guests with places to get groceries and where our hotel is located. Your review was very helpful, so thank you! (Not that other reviews aren't helpful - you just provided another point of view that was good, too!) I hope you had a safe trip home and are enjoying a good June. It's now getting warm up here, so we're swamped and happy to be closer to summer! Thank you again.
Best,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

My girlfriend and I were in Traverse City not to long ago and decided that we were going to stay there based on the reviews and certain people telling us about the staff and accommodations. This trip had been planned for a few months but little did my girlfriend know that I was going to propose that weekend. I contacted the hotel before hand and spoke to Kara to let her know of my plans and as soon as they knew they were totally on board with helping me out. The entire staff knew about it, from the front desk to all other areas of hotel staff were aware of what I had planned. They made recommendations for certain things like where to order flowers and food from, what room would be best suited ( thank you Kara ) for this type of situation and other little touches that made the weekend unforgettable. It was an incredible weekend and the staff and hotel were first class. I want to thank Jonathon, Kara and EVERYONE from the hotel, it would not have been possible without your help. If you stay anywhere in Traverse City make it the Cherry Tree Inn, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Air_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2009

Hi Air_11!
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy we could assist in your proposal. Your fiance was radiant throughout the trip and the ring was beautiful. We're glad we could help with everything that you needed, and we wish you great, stress-free planning for your upcoming marriage! Please let us know when you want to come and join us again. Have a wonderful summer.
Best,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

The rate was excellent. My husband surprised me with this weekend away with my mom and sister. We had a great time. Wonderful food at the reception. We stood in line for a massage for 1 hr. but time ran out. That was disappointing. we wanted a room overlooking the bay but had registered to late for that, so call early! Beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2009

Thank you so much for you review. I'm glad you enjoyed our first-ever March Women's Weekend. We did have a lot of fun classes for our guests and great food as you said. Being it was our first ever, we are definitely making adjustments for next year - like two massage chairs - to make the event even better. Thank you again for your review and your suggestion. Have a wonderful summer. Hope to have you up again.
Best,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

My husband and I (from the UK), were on our annual travels to the USA and we were consentrating on Michigan and Niagara this year. Our Journey took us through Traverse City when we came accross The Cherry Tree Inn. We were greeted by very fiendly staff who gave us a great rate, our room overlooked the lake on the ground floor. It was roomy and clean with all of the emenities we wanted and need with the added benefit of a TV in the bathroom. Breakfast was excellent. The desk manager was particularly helpful and attentive to our needs and wellfare.
All in all a topping venue.
The only complaint we have is that you have WiFi internet. As I suffer from ElectroHypersenSitivity EHS (Like at least 5 - 10% of the population) I would strongly urge you to have all internet access Hard Wired in the rooms and puplic areas. Independant research has now show that there are many adverse health effects from anything WiFi, cell phones and masts.
Yours sincerely
Peter and Ann Mobley (UK)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritsAbroad110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2009

Hi Mr. and Mrs. Mobley!
Thank you so much for your review. You two were great to have around - the entire staff mentioned to me at least once on how pleasant and jolly you were. It's good to hear you enjoyed everything. I appreciate your concern of the WiFi Internet access. Our number one priority is guest safety, and we have not had any other complaints regarding health effects of WiFi Internet access. We will certainly watch out for and study the effects of WiFi for our education and understanding.
Thank you again. Have a great year.

Best,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

My new husband and I traveled around Michigan for our honeymoon in May of 2009. Driving through Traverse City, we came across Cherry Tree Condo Hotel. Neither one of us had stayed at Cherry Tree before so we figured we would check out the rooms. The front desk help could not have been more helpful and curdious to my husband and I. We were able to view two different rooms and were blow away by the cleanliness, size, and view of our room. We now wish we would have stayed at Cherry Tree throughout our entire honeymoon. Breakfast was wonderful, the staff was amazing, and the building is spectacular. :) We will DEFINITELY stay at this hotel again because of the amazing staff. THANK YOU CHERRY TREE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2009

Hello, you newlyweds! Thank you for your review of the our hotel. I'm so glad you had a good time on your honeymoon. We love all of our guests, but it's especially nice to hear from our honeymooners about their stays because it's usually a new experience for them together. I'm so glad you found us, and I wish you a very happy marriage. We look forward to your anniversary stays in the future!
Best,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

My family and I stayed at this wonderful Inn and we really enjoyed it. The staff is fantastic. I have no clue why previous posts would not say the same. The room was very cheap and it was very good size! I would stay here the next time i make it up to Traverse City.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoSteelersGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2009

Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel, the price, and the room size. We'll be happy to have you back, and I hope you have a nice spring - summer is so close!
Best,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
365 reviews
0.8 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $105 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City hotel, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree’s smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a free breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free shuttle service (based on driver availability), 24-hour indoor pool, hot tub, and dry sauna, year round outdoor hot tub, seasonal outdoor pool, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, numerous comfy pillows, HD TV’s, bedside docking stations, Seattle’s Best in-room coffee, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City’s best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing