We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise 37th Anniversary Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vassar, Michigan
1 review
“Surprise 37th Anniversary Getaway”
Reviewed April 25, 2009

Last week, April 15th-17th we stayed at the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites in Traverse City, Michigan. My husband found the hotel on the internet and did not tell me where we were going to surprise me for our 37th wedding anniversary and what a beautiful surprise it was. The water was beautiful off the balcony of our room and the hotel was very neat and clean and everyone was friendly.
When we first got there we were asked to put down our license plate number, so my husband went out to check what it was and your sweet young lady behind the counter started talking to me about our stay. I told her that he surprised me and it was our 37th anniversary. Maybe 10 minutes after we got to our room there was a knock on the door. The lady said this if for you. It was a box of really good chocolates sent to us by the hotel! We were pleasantly surprised.
The next day we stopped back down to the check out desk to get directions to some of the attractions in Traverse City. It wasn't the same young lady, but very pleasant just the same. I asked her how the hotel gets such pleasant people with great & kind personalities to work for them. She replied that the hotel requires it, which is great, but they also must have a gift of picking people who are very conscientious and truly kind.
Thanks so much for the great time!
Jerry & Nancy Ellis

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherryTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,990
    730
    198
    52
    27
See reviews for
904
1,454
54
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2009

This hotel was great......staff extremely friendly from check in to check out. I would definitely go back and recomment to others.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoyoJackson_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 27, 2009
Hello!
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our staff. I hope you had a safe trip home and have a wonderful spring - those nice showers recently really greened everything up!
Best,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

We stayed at the Cherry Tree Inn from 4/17-4/19 in room 414 and there are some things about the room that were great. We loved the private balcony overlooking the bay! Also loved the little kitchenette. The front desk was very friendly when we checked-in. We were also very impressed with how quiet the room was. BUT the beds & pillows are absolutely HORRIBLE! We both tossed & turned all night because they were so uncomfortable. I would not stay here again unless I KNEW I was getting an updated room with a newer bed & pillows! We found the wicker chairs very uncomfortable to sit in and there are only two. We were hoping for a better experience based on all the great reviews that we read here, so you can say we were definitely disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2009
Hello!
Thank you so much for your review. I really appreciate the time you took to help us. I'm glad you enjoyed the service and quietness of our hotel. I am sorry for the beds, though. I'm a really bad judge of our beds because I can sleep on any horizontal service (a gift of being a young guy - I know this won't last long). I do think our beds are comfy, but I understand that most people are switching to pillow-tops today. We are working to do all of our rooms as pillow-tops, and I will certainly let everyone know when that happens.
Again, thank you so much for your stay and your kind comments regarding our service and rest of our hotel. Have a wonderful spring.
Best,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Rooms were standard but nice had tv in bathroom with a balcony overlooking the lake. Pool/hot tub area was nice. B-fast was good and had plenty of variety. Sitting room on the 2nd floor overlooking the lake was beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michigander49329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2009
Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful lake. Now that it's spring, we can finally see the beautiful teal waters without ice being in the way! I hope you have a great rest of spring. Thank you again.
Best,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

My husband and I had a very nice stay here last Fall and told our children we would take them here, we had enjoyed it so much. This trip was the absolutely worst we have ever experienced. The young man who originally booked us was great, very helpful. As soon as we checked in the young man behind the desk was not pleasant. No smile, no late checkout since it was Easter and we wanted to go to church in the morning. He stated I would have to call at 7AM and only one room per floor was allowed. Was told we would have a map for Church waiting when we arrived and I told him this - was not given it. Had originally requested same room we had stayed in - he gave us one 2 floors down and after reminding him of this he changed our room. Our room was the same but after checking for bedbugs (always do) I found some stains going down the wall and on mattress like vomit. Sheets were both to short to cover mattress. By the time my husband woke up the sheets were all off the bed. I slept with my daughter (if you can call it sleeping) Mattresses were so hard, it was painful. We had originally planned on coming the weekend before but had to change it because I had hurt my shoulder and have been going to physical therapy - It finally HAD felt better. I called and requested a feather pillow (pillows are horrible) which the first time we stayed they did send one up. This time the girl at the front desk said she would not know where to find one. The pool was ice cold, the hot tub barely much warmer. Fact in the morning they put up a sign saying it was broken. Breakfast was Ok, but I found that there was not a staff member there that was pleasant and that would make us come back. I find that can make or break any experience. I do not know if they changed management , or why such a change. The price was right but - you get what you pay for. Pay a little more and get a welcoming, warm - please come back - stay, somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geomifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2009
Hello!
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry there were so many things that you disliked with your most recent stay. First, regarding the young gentleman, Caleb, at the desk, he did warn management right away that he thought you were unhappy with him and he wasn't sure what he could do better. Caleb told us that he had your map ready for you at the desk, but you had walked away and he was unable to contact you. He is sorry that he wasn't able to get the map to you.
In regards to late check-outs, we only were able to accept a few because of our extreme busyness. If there is a day where we can accommodate late check outs and those late check outs won't harm another guests arrival for that day, we will certainly do more than normal. But we were, as weird as it sounds, uncharacteristically busy this past week, including Sunday night. We saw summer occupancies with a winter staff. This was absolutely unexpected, so I'm sorry we couldn't accommodate more late check-outs to help you. We don't give late check-outs ahead of time because we never know when a housekeeping staff member may become sick or is in an accident on their way to the hotel. Also, by giving late check-outs in the morning on the day of departure we can better estimate our availability for all of our guests – departing and arriving guests.
Regarding the stains in the room, we did investigate and couldn't find any stains, especially resembling vomit. We also couldn't smell anything resembling that sort of stain. If you could please contact me at the hotel, I would appreciate it so we can double check the spot that you saw.
I'm sorry if you thought you stayed 2 floors down than the room you stayed in before. I looked it up when you made the reservation because we had a note you would like the same room as before, and we were able to get you in the same room you had stayed before on the fourth of our five floors. I'm sorry if there was any confusion regarding that.
It was may fault regarding the feather pillows. I didn't properly train my staff regarding the location of our feather pillows. I did train them this past Tuesday regarding where to find our feather pillows. I'm sorry for that inconvenience to you. That was absolutely my fault and responsibility.
I am sorry that you found none of our staff friendly to you, but I assure you that we have a very friendly, helpful staff. I know there isn't anything I can do to take back your stay, but I do hope you try us again in the future to see that we do have something special at our hotel. Please contact me with any questions or concerns you still may have.
Best,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, MI
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2009

I have stayed overseas in swanky hotels and stayed in pest infested dives here in the states.

For the price and time of year, Cherry Tree is by far the best value I've ever experiences. For $60 a night, we had an unobstructed view of Grand Traverse Bay (we saw a bald eagle...how cool is that?), a hotel room that was five times the size of an average room, a jacuzzi, swimming pool, great food, fridge and microwave....and two tvs, fireplace, and three phones.

The hotel is located on US 31, a busy road, and even with our porch door open (oh yeah, there is a balcony) you could only hear the gulls and ducks on the water.

In peak season, I would easily pay $200 a night for this room. I'm a frugal traveler, so, I recommend calling ahead and looking for deals.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellobiafra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 8, 2009
Thank you for review and your very kind comments. I'm glad that you enjoyed the room and the view. The bald eagles are very cool - we usually have two that sweep our beach front in the summer. Beautiful birds! Have a nice spring!

Best,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saginaw, mi
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2009

My wife and I went for an overnight stay but wound up staying for two nights instead,we did not want to leave. If it were not for my work schedule we would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarhead69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Jonathan at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 8, 2009
Hello! Thank you for your review. I'm glad you at least got 2 days in before you had to go back to work. Hope your drive home was safe. Have a nice spring.
Best,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Property: Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City resort, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree's smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a complimentary hot breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, a sauna, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, high-definition TV's with high-definition channel programming, including a full HBO line-up, Sony Playstation 2's, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking stations, Starbucks coffees, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing