We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My son and I spent 2 nights here last week. The location is fantastic, right on the water with great views from our room and lovely beach. Our room was also very spacious and beds comfortable.
There were a few downsides however. I think our room had recently been renovated (and the new bathroom was FANTASTIC) however perhaps not everything had been replaced after the refurb. Although there is a kitchen, it lacked any implements to prepare food - no cutting knives or stirring implements, no sponge / dishcloth or scourer to wash up, no bottle opener etc. The other downside was lack of sound-proofing - the guests above us walked continually in their room until after 2am and then both had showers - we could hear every step. The floor boards creaked in the bedroom very loudly and in the bathroom the noise transmitted even more. They then got up at 5am and the noise started all over again.
The location and view were fantastic however.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lisa31jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Good day!

Thank you for your stay and your kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and were able to enjoy the location, the views, our beach, and your comfy suite. We did just finish some updates/remodeling to our suites and studios in our second building, including new tiling and new kitchenettes in some of the suites and studios. We do have some more fine touches to do including furniture, window coverings, and odds and ends (like the kitchen items you mentions). I do apologize for those not being perfect for your stay. They will be improved in the very near future.

I do apologize for the sound that transmitted into your room from the guest who was up much of the night. We will look at ways we can improve the sound dampening through the rooms. Thank you for that note.

Have a nice day and please come visit our lovely area again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,040
    744
    199
    52
    27
See reviews for
923
1,476
56
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I’m writing this review based on my experience in early 2012, but I will say that my stay back then is the reason why we’re returning in late 2014. My husband chose this hotel for what I later found out would be our engagement weekend. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and so comfortable. I could’ve slept for days in that bed! Upon our arrival, there was a bottle of Leelanau Cellars Winter White and two wine glasses waiting for us (I’m assuming husband had arranged for this). It was very welcome after driving over 3 hours to get there! Since we were there in January, we didn’t experience the beach or balcony, but the view I had through the window was lovely! As I mentioned, my husband proposed on this trip, and one day I came back to the room to find a sweet note under the ring box that said, “I believe congratulations are in order?!?!!” I had left the box sitting open and empty on the end table, and I just thought it was a friendly touch for the housekeeping staff to notice that. I’m really looking forward to celebrating our 2nd anniversary at the Cherry Tree Inn in early October and I expect that we’ll be back many times in the future as well!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your awesome story in your review. Your story is why we enjoy our jobs so much. So many people love reading about other people's lives, and when you work in a hotel, we get to help people live out a part of their lives - like a proposal. Perhaps it's part of our society's obsession with drama, but we just really enjoy making someone feel special whether they are with us for a funeral or for a wedding. Every day is a different guest and a different story. Thank you so much for your sharing yours and we'll be very happy to welcome you this fall. Please feel free to knock on my door or window if you see me in my office so you can introduce yourself.

Have a great summer until then.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband and I try to visit TC a couple times per year and we keep finding ourselves returning to the Cherry Tree. The location is great for not being right downtown where the most traffic is, but close enough to many things to do. The rooms are clean and staff is always very friendly and accommodating... and the breakfast served every morning is great! The rooms itself could use some updating but honestly, when you're in TC there's no need to be spending a ton of time in the rooms anyways. Stay on a Sunday night and typically receive a great rate!

Room Tip: We've previously stayed in a suite that had a kitchenette, whirlpool tub, fireplace and balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyK82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Good evening!

Thank you so much for you stay earlier this month. I'm happy you had a nice time and enjoyed our location. It is nice to have a convenient location for our wonderful area, but we're not in an area that is absolutely bombarded by traffic (though, we still get plenty).

We are continuing to make many improvements to the hotel each year. We just finished remodeling our second building with new bathrooms and we have a few more things this year.

Thank you again. Have a great summer and come visit again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Cherry Tree. Staff was helpful and pleasant. All areas were clean. Loved the pool, beach, campfires and updated room. Beautiful view and good location just as you enter the city. There are a few things within their control that could make the stay better. More furniture on balcony, especially a side table, new couch as the pillows collapse into the frame when sitting, and fresher smelling linens. A few flowers in a vase might brighten the heavy colors of the suite. Breakfast was typical. A bit overpriced for early June, but overall enjoyed the visit.

Room Tip: Always road noise at most TC locations. Worth it to be on bay side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jchboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Good afternoon!

Thank you for you for your stay and your kind review. I'm really happy that you enjoyed our clean hotel and the many amenities we offer. Thank you for your insight on the balcony furniture, the couch, and the linens. We actually do have side tables, so I will track and make sure that table is on the balcony. In regards to the couch, the suite you stayed in is one that we are putting in new furniture later this year. The new furniture, including valances, will help brighten the room's rich colors.

In regards to our rates, we always work to be competitive with other hotels in the area. The suite you stayed in was a 1,000 square foot suite with an expanded kitchenette (granite countertops, place settings for 4, ceramic cook top, stainless steel fridge), two person Jacuzzi, sofa, fireplace, king sleigh bed, and huge wraparound balcony overlooking the bay. It was also just renovated to include two sinks in the bathroom, quartz countertops, new tile shower, and glass features. In July, we expect our electric TV mirrors to arrive for our bathrooms (TV shows through mirror and then vanishes when off). That suite coupled with our amenities like Fiber Internet access, HD TV's with HD TV programming including a full HBO line-up, breakfast, shuttle service, Starbucks coffee in the rooms, high-end locally roasted and freshly ground coffee in our lobby, indoor and outdoor pools and spas, 24-hour Sweet Shoppe, Poolside Grille, and more make for a lot of amenities that aren't found at any other hotel in the area. We're proud to bring great value for our guests. Our rates are generally equal or less than many of the hotels in town with similar rooms types (but they don't have amenities we do). I will, however, always continue to make sure our rates are comparable to the area and that we don't simply give a rate without value. We always like providing something (cookies at the desk for check-in, cherries at the desk during July, Pumpkin pies for Thanksgiving, etc.). We love our guest and want to make sure they feel pampered when staying at our hotel.

Thank you again for your stay and have a wonderful rest of summer!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very much enjoyed our stay at the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites. We rented a very spacious and comfortable room that looked over the bay. The views were incredible. Could not get enough of standing on the balcony and watching the sunset.

The hotel is very clean. The pool area is in good condition and very welcoming. The bath products are upscale.

If I have one complaint it is that the furniture in the room is a bit dated. But really, for the price paid to have that large a room with a great view, an excellent rating is earned.

Thank You Cherry Tree, enjoyed the stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAY E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Good afternoon!

Thank you so much for your stay and your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay so much - from the cleanliness to the bath products (we love provided the BeeKind amenities!). I hope you had a safe trip home. Also, we are working through and updating many of our rooms over the next few years. We have about 15 rooms scheduled for new furniture this year. We're excited to keep improving the quality of the hotel for our guests.

Have a great day and please feel free to join us in Traverse City again soon!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Hotel is very nice for a non-chain hotel. Hotel is very clean and well appointed with great amenities. Room with view of Grande Traverse Bay was wonderful. Room was very large and had a balcony with a great view of the bay. Beach was clean and private, breakfast was nice, many stores and restaurants within five miles. Rooms are a bit overpriced, but a great stay overall. Beds were comfortable, bed sheets and pillow cases starting to thin out however. Would give this property an 8 out of 10. Nice, clean, comfortable, and family friendly. Would use this property again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4JohnnyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Good afternoon!

Thank you so much for your stay and for the review of our hotel. I'm glad that you found us to be convenient to area restaurants and that you enjoyed the views and our private beach. We're very fortunate to have this hotel to look after and we love our guests enjoying it with us!

I do apologize for the sheets feeling thin. That shouldn't have occurred, and I will check with my laundry and housekeeping teams on proper rotation of older linen in our rotations. We purchase new linen every month and donate our older linen to local charities.

Have a wonderful day and please come visit again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My fiance and I stay at Cherry Tree Inn at least once a year. Never once have we had anything significant to complain about. The staff is super friendly and the rooms are very nice. My fiance liked the pillows so much she took a picture of the tag to see if she could buy one for home. They always seem to be putting money back into the property so its continuously getting better each year. The rooms are clean and welcoming and were reasonably priced for the time of year. On our last trip this past memorial day, we got engaged on the trip up. I contacted the general manager (his email is right on the website) and asked him if I could arrange to have a special item be waiting for us in the room when we checked it. He got back to me within minutes and was happy to help. He even provided an extra welcome package that made our arrival even more special. The personal touch was really appreciated and was the perfect ending to a perfect day. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfox21381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Good evening!

Thank you so much for the time you took to write a review and for visiting us each year - glad to hear it's a tradition. Most importantly, I'm thrilled she said, "Yes." What a wonderful and blessed moment in life. I truly wish you the very best with the planning and we'll be happy to welcome you back and Mr. and Mrs.

Please always feel free to contact me again when you visit. It always brightens my day when I can do something to make a guest feel more special.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
1.0 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Property: Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City resort, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree's smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a complimentary hot breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, a sauna, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, high-definition TV's with high-definition channel programming, including a full HBO line-up, Sony Playstation 2's, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking stations, Starbucks coffees, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing