We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in room 106”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We booked this room from Thursday to Sunday but got in very early Thursday morning. The hotel was kind enough to let us into our room early (12 pm) so that we could catch up on some much needed rest. Our room 106 was very large and opened right out into the grass. It was cold and snowy so we didn't go down to the beach. Jacuzzi and workout room were nice. Overall a great stay.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Tenacres17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Good morning!

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm glad that we were able to help you get some much needed rest, and I'm glad you enjoyed one of our Elk Rapids Studios on the first floor - they are even better when you can walk out to the beach from them in the warmer months!

Have a wonderful rest of your April and thank you again!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,681 - 2,687 of 3,349 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had wanted to stay at Cherry Tree Inn last spring but they had no openings. However when we decided to go up north for our honeymoon this rear we remembered Cherry Tree and booked a suite. It was an perfect location. My husband had added some extras like wine and flowers to be in our room when we arrived and both were excellent. I have already recommended Cherry Tree to others in the week we've been home. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestotravelupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Good day!

First, congrats on your new marriage. I wish you many joyous years together. Second, thank you so much for remembering our hotel and staying in one of our suites. I'm really happy that your stay was so enjoyable and you had a great honeymoon! Finally, I hope you have a great rest of the year and come visit our gorgeous area again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Loved our stay! The 2bdrm apt. Was excellent. The beds were so comfortable and large. Each room had its own flat screen tv. The living room was huge with another couch that had a trundle bed. One recliner chair and a table with 4 wicker chairs. The,kitchen was great. Full refrigerator, cooking area,sink, and best of all nice coffe maker with free starbucks coffee. . The hotel had coffee available all hours with the leelanu brand it was extremly good and they had cherry coffee excellent!!! The pool and hot tube were very clean at all times we stayed for 6 days and had seen a group of kids crowd the place and never once was the pool dirty or overly chlorinated... the living room also come with a PS2. You can watch movies in that or play games. They have plenty of rentals at the desk or you can walk across the street and rent from red box or family rentals. The shower and bathing products smelly wonderful and did not dry out our skin or hair. House keeping is really nice. I have to say its weird not seeing other ethnicity cleaning rooms. Being a native from California its just odd seeing only white.. kind of refreshing. The staff was great no matter what the hour was or what staff members. . The shuttle was excellent, very friendly and they have the 411 on everything traverse City. Ive stayed in a few place in traverse city and so far all around this place was worth the money !!! The breakfast is free. They have waffle makers with cherry topping, dry cereal, oat meal, fresh fruit, yogurt, Danish, sausages and some kind of eggs or biscuits and gravy, yummy, they had apple,cranberry, orange, and lemonade juice every day,and of,course the awesome coffee. We really liked this place. Family of 4. With one teenager whombwas pkeased the entire time lol. Location to down town is perfect especially with free shuttles to casnios or dinning. We drove to Boyne to go skiing 2 days much better than spending outrageous boyne lodging prices. It was only 54 miles and a beautiful drive. We ate at the blu tractor bbq, excellent food very family friendly. And you must stop at the lie shop too .. in traverse city . Will always come back to this faboulse place. Had a child with very bad allergies and asthma. Not once did she get sick. And we played a long time in the pools and on the ground all over in the rooms.. they do a great job keeping this place as clean as they can. I was very impressed keep up the good work Cherry Tree staff!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robojp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hello!

Thank you so much for staying with us and reviewing your stay. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay - from our large Cherry Tree Family Suite you stayed in to the kind service you received. It makes me so happy to read about things the Cherry Tree Family is doing right consistently. We certainly are always working on a variety of things to improve, but I'm glad glad when things are running well!

I hope you had a safe trip back to California and come visit again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

As soon as we walked through the lobby doors, the front desk staff greeted us with a welcoming smile. Check-in was fast and efficient. Both the interior and exterior of the hotel appear to be well maintained. Our top floor, balcony room (#514) has a nice view of the Bay, two queen size beds, a flat-screen TV, and a round table and four chairs (including a wooden rocking chair). The room is well lit and the number of available electrical outlets (for charging electronic devices) is good. I like that comforters are not used on the beds - blanket is sandwiched between two flat sheets and they used a proper-sized fitted bottom sheet. Another nice extra are the wedge-shaped pillows for watching TV or using a tablet/laptop while sitting comfortably in bed. A small fridge, microwave, and single cup coffee maker are also in the room. There is an exhaust fan, phone, and a small TV in the bathroom. The shower’s water temperature is consistent and the water pressure is good. There is a hot/cold breakfast buffet available in the morning consisting of eggs, sausage, hot/cold cereal, waffles, breads, hot/cold beverages, etc. We have stayed here before and will return again.

Room Tip: First floor lake side rooms have access to the beach directly from your room.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Denice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Good evening!

Thank you so much for the very kind and detailed review of your stay. I think others who view it will find it really helpful with new details that they may not have known after reading other reviews or our website. Thank you for the great pictures, too. You are like the P.I. of our hotel. But in a good way! Thank you again and have a great day and come visit again.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

this is the third year my husband and i stayed at the cherry tree and its the best experience yet! we went for our honeymoon and every anniversary after. this time we made it a point to try the complentary breakfast (it was worth it) and the outdoor spa (also worth it, but it was lit inside last year). stayed in rm 126 & it was perfect. as always very clean. my ONLY complaint is the couch in there! its very uncomfortable and i hope you will condsider replacing it in your upcoming remodel. i would also add a dvd player to the living room, instead of only one in the bedroom. housekeeping staff was informative and friendly. loved the infused water in the lobby. liz and ashley at the front desk were also wonderful. the cherry tree keeps improving every year!!! see you next year!

Thank MrsA32611
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Good morning!

Thank you so much for your return stays. I'm so happy that you enjoy your stays and you see the improvements we make each year. I apologize for the outdoor hot tub light - we actually had a wiring issue with the light that came up and we have it scheduled to be fixed this spring.

You'll be happy to know that all of the furniture in the Leelanau Suites will be getting replaced (except for the wonderful sleight beds). I'm excited to get better couches for our guests. Also, there is a DVD player in the living area - it's the Sony Playstation 2 that hides behind the 55" TV in the living room. Sorry that wasn't more clear.

Thank you again and we'll see you again soon!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have stayed at Cherry Tree quite a few times over the last few years. Our most recent stay was wonderful and confirms why recently we do not even look around when it comes to booking a room in Traverse City. The location is great, right on the bay, beautiful views all year round.
The rooms are always nice; we've stayed in the basic rooms and suites and have been impressed with all. Indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs are great! In the summer you can't beat the clean, beautiful beach. The hotel is always tidy and well taken care of.
The onsite, hot breakfast with many options is a great perk to staying as well as the 24 hour coffee (try the Cherry) and tea bar! We've traveled with our young son and always feel very comfortable as this hotel is very family friendly.
Previous to finding Cherry Tree we had stayed at other hotels in town, but Cherry Tree is now our first choice all year round.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the bay, I think there are only a few on upper levels that do not. You want a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mgarvey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Good evening!

Thank you so much for your very kind review and for trusting the Cherry Tree Family so much that you don't even search for other hotels when you visit the area. We love to hear that and we love making our hotel better for our guests. I hope you have a wonderful weekend. Thank you so much and please come visit again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This place is great!!! The rooms are very clean, updated and roomy. Our room (woods suite) was very affordable and our kids had their own trundle bed. It has a coffee pot (Starbucks), refrigerator and sink. The pool is very clean and so is the hot tub. They have flavored water (lemon or cucumber), board games (I beat my husband at battleship), cookies, a sweet shop, a library, movies and video games you can rent and play in your room. Continental breakfast is perfect to start your day! We will stay here the next time we visit TC!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Brydig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Good evening!

Thank you very much for your stay and your review. I'm so happy you had a great time and feel like you want to return in the future. Good job on the Battleship win! You'll have to try some of our other games we offer for our guests like Hungry, Hungry Hippos!

Have a wonderful end of March/start of April.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
365 reviews
0.8 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $105 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City hotel, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree’s smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a free breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free shuttle service (based on driver availability), 24-hour indoor pool, hot tub, and dry sauna, year round outdoor hot tub, seasonal outdoor pool, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, numerous comfy pillows, HD TV’s, bedside docking stations, Seattle’s Best in-room coffee, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City’s best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing