We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Cambria Hotel Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Beach Resort Hotel(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$149
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayshore Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$159
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$149
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkshore Resort(Traverse City)
$130
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,602)
Filter reviews
3,602 results
Traveler rating
2,420
851
238
62
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,420
851
238
62
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflavored waterthe outdoor hot tubbathroom mirrorcookiesview of the bayshuttle servicebeach areaenjoyed our staygreat place to staywafflesexcellent stayfront desk staffbreakfast roomfire pitthe east bayliving roomstaff was very friendly
Filter
Updating list...
2,973 - 2,978 of 3,602 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013


We have been coming to the Cherry Tree Inn for over 8 years.  We have stayed at other places in the past.  Some nice and some not so nice.  But I wouldn't go any where else.  The staff, especially the manager, Jonathan is very friendly, accomodating, sincere, and truly care about his staff, your guests and the hotel.
I know the struggle the hotel has to keep the beach cleared because of enviromental issues.  I love the beach, the gorgeous view, the wrap around balcony, (for our room) your welcoming lobby with the playing piano and of course the warm chocolate chop cookies as you welcome your guests ...which are comforting greeters.
For continental breakfasts, you have done a great job.  You switch some of the hot foods out for a little variety, and that is nice as well.  No one should leave hungry.
I love the homey "Cherry" theme.
Enjoy sitting in the cherry room off the lobby with your cherry tree chairs.
Also enjoy the bon fire area.  We have brought guests here who have enjoyed and loved the room and accommodation, as well.
Unfortunately, reading some of the less favorable reviews, you can't please everyone.  Sometimes people forget that things can break down or need maintenance from time to time.  Just like in your own home.  And sometimes those repairs can come at the worst time like when you have a housefull of people at the holidays.  I give Jonathan and his staff a tremendous amount of credit for how they handle their jobs, issues that arise and how they handle unhappy customers from time to time. We have been very happy with our stays. Have things come up from time to time?.  Rarely, but have been acknowledged and/or resolved.
Thank you for making our fall trips very enjoyable. We love coming here. Once again, THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Gosh! Good evening and thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so happy you have had so many comfortable stays in our homey "Cherry" hotel. We definitely appreciate your kind comments and we'll keep plugging away at our focus of 5-star service. Have a wonderful November and we'll be happy to welcome you back soon!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

What a great experience! We were so amazed with the wonderful service and friendly staff. Our room had the most spectacular view of the bay. It was "post-card" perfect. Clean, comfortable and soothing to the weary travelers. We look forward to coming back and highly recommend it to friends and family members.

Room Tip: The view of the lake is awesome.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imanrse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Good November Day!

Thank you for your stay and taking the time to review your stay. The Cherry Tree Family will be happy you enjoyed their service. I'm fortunate to have a great team around me who love to help our guests have perfect stays. I'm glad you enjoyed the great views of the bay, too!

Thank you so much and have a nice end of fall.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A very clean and nice hotel, with comfortable beds and a view of the lake. Good service, a comfortable lounge area and a very good breakfast included. Good location in town and good value.
We would definitely return.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you for your stay at our hotel. I'm glad you found the Cherry Tree Inn to be clean and nice. Glad you liked the breakfast, our location, and the value for your stay.

Have a wonderful November and come visit again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We choose the cherry tree inn for our honeymoon and had the most wonderful time!! Everything was perfect and we can't wait to go back!! Any negative review for this hotel is just people looking for something to complain about because the rooms and bed were great! The living area with the fireplace and balcony was our favorite room! We never wanted to leave! The breakfast was good and they had coffee brewing at all times! Can't wait for our anniversary next year!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Hello!

Thank you for your very kind review and congratulations on your marriage. That's just wonderful to hear.

I'm so happy that you enjoyed your time at the Cherry Tree. We'll be thrilled to have you visit for your anniversary! Have a wonderful first year. Thank you!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I was recommended to try the Cherry Tree and we are glad we did. Our had a balcony on the third floor right off the beach. Very clean room and comfortable. I did not want to leave the room except to go to the beach and do some shopping. The hotel offers a lot and the staff is very helpful. We have been trying to get back to this hotel, but every weekend we have tried to make reservations has been booked. I have looked as far ahead as February and cannot get a room. We wanted to spend our anniversary up there again. I even called the hotel directly, thinking maybe there was a glitch with the website, but they said they booked up. Shame. We will keep trying since my husband wants to stay here again. We had received a great deal for our room.

Room Tip: Rooms right off the beach were wonderful. You can watch the sunset from your room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Hello!

Thank you for your time to write a review and thank you for your patience with trying to stay at our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay in one of our bay view rooms. We'll be happy to have you return in the future. Have a wonderful fall!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews