We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best honeymoon ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We choose the cherry tree inn for our honeymoon and had the most wonderful time!! Everything was perfect and we can't wait to go back!! Any negative review for this hotel is just people looking for something to complain about because the rooms and bed were great! The living area with the fireplace and balcony was our favorite room! We never wanted to leave! The breakfast was good and they had coffee brewing at all times! Can't wait for our anniversary next year!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Hello!

Thank you for your very kind review and congratulations on your marriage. That's just wonderful to hear.

I'm so happy that you enjoyed your time at the Cherry Tree. We'll be thrilled to have you visit for your anniversary! Have a wonderful first year. Thank you!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,723 - 2,729 of 3,349 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I was recommended to try the Cherry Tree and we are glad we did. Our had a balcony on the third floor right off the beach. Very clean room and comfortable. I did not want to leave the room except to go to the beach and do some shopping. The hotel offers a lot and the staff is very helpful. We have been trying to get back to this hotel, but every weekend we have tried to make reservations has been booked. I have looked as far ahead as February and cannot get a room. We wanted to spend our anniversary up there again. I even called the hotel directly, thinking maybe there was a glitch with the website, but they said they booked up. Shame. We will keep trying since my husband wants to stay here again. We had received a great deal for our room.

Room Tip: Rooms right off the beach were wonderful. You can watch the sunset from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Hello!

Thank you for your time to write a review and thank you for your patience with trying to stay at our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay in one of our bay view rooms. We'll be happy to have you return in the future. Have a wonderful fall!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a group that stayed 2 nights in late October. We were going wine tasting and the staff helped us organize that too. Cherry Tree is a great place to stay. We had bay-view rooms with 2 queen beds and a small kitchenette. The rooms were wonderful. The staff was extremely helpful and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Good afternoon!

Thank you for your review. I'm so happy you planned a wine tour and my staff was able to help you. Have a wonderful November and please do come visit again.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this Inn. I saw the two and a half stars, and my expectations immediately lowered. This was my first attempt to use trip advisor to book a hotel.
Our suite was a one bedroom with a small kitchen, and a large living room with a pull-out bed. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate and the dining area is clean and neat. The view of the bay from the balcony was perfect.

Room Tip: The website helps with a very clear description of the rooms and suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allen006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Good evening!

Thank you so much for your review and your stay. I'm glad that we exceeded your expectations. The star ratings can be confusing. They aren't based on quality - they are based on amenities offered. We are more along a 3 star property because of our food options (not a full restaurant, but we do have a 24-hour Sweet Shoppe and in the summer, we have a poolside grille), but the ratings can be tough to understand. Just remember they are based on amenities offered (pools, rooms, restaurants, valet parking, etc.).

I'm happy our Tripadvisor listing helped you and that you are helping future guests. Have a nice fall and do come visit again.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Staff were very helpful from reservation thru check out. The room was on the top floor, & overlooking the bay - so quiet and i'm sure with better weather, a beautiful view. The Jacuzzi tub in the room was a bonus...we didn't even use the pool. It is a small indoor pool, with an adjoining hot tub, but it has windows into the breakfast room. So, if you are eating breakfast on that side of the room, you watch the pool action. The outdoor pool was closed for the season, but looked great & nice beach access as well. The breakfast was fantastic. Great value as it was included in the room price. Make your own waffles and another hot choice as well as cold cereals, fruit, yogurt, pastries etc. The cherry coffee was delicious and available all day in the lobby. Nice touch. The amenities in the room were perfect for us, although no idea how play the free playstation that sat there! The drive to downtown was considerable, although there was a shuttle offered to the state Theatre and maybe the casino ... The place was very busy, even midweek, off season. They had maps of Sleeping Bear dunes trails for us and recommended places to eat as well. We were very pleased with our choice to stay here.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the bay view. Otherwise you look over the street. We loved the Jacuzzi tub in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hello and thank you for your time in writing a review of your stay. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and all of our amenities. I'm glad you mentioned our coffee. We're proud to offer Starbucks coffee in our rooms and then a locally roasted and freshly ground coffee in our lobby 24-hours-a-day.

I'm happy you saw our complimentary shuttle service and I hope you did get a chance to visit the Sleeping Bear Dunes. Thank you for your stay. Have a wonderful rest of the year!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had the great pleasure of sharing a very special night with Cherry Tree Inn and staff.
Should we be fortunate to make to our 50th anniversary. I have no doubts, about where we would be staying. The staff and rooms for our parties were perfect. There was nothing that my wife and I would have changed or wanted and that was the same with the other room we also had for our other quest. The breakfast was great. Both rooms had great views of the bay and sunset. The bed was very comfortable and the fireplace just made the night. This is a winner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Good day!

Thank you for your very kind review. I hope you do make it for your 50th anniversary! I'm glad both rooms were nice and you liked the fireplace - it's that time of year where those really make the rooms feel warm and homey.

Thank you!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Checkin was nice, the room was nice, the view of the water was nice as well. The only thing that was kind of a damper was the room was a suite, and the room that had the bed had no temp control, making the cold. Other then that, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the temperature control in the suite you stayed in. We do have 10 suites that we are working on improving the temperature control between the living and bedroom areas. The remaining 66 rooms we have don't have this trouble. We can help direct you to one of those rooms int he future, but we are working to improve these 10 suites in the near future.

Thank you again. Have a great day!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
365 reviews
0.8 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $105 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City hotel, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree’s smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a free breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free shuttle service (based on driver availability), 24-hour indoor pool, hot tub, and dry sauna, year round outdoor hot tub, seasonal outdoor pool, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, numerous comfy pillows, HD TV’s, bedside docking stations, Seattle’s Best in-room coffee, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City’s best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing