We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with beautiful views!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Super clean, large rooms with a beautiful view! Nice private beach with lots of chairs! Great pool with view of the bay. Fun wood pirate ship playscape with swings and slide right on the beach. Great free coffee available all day in lobby. Very friendly and accommodating staff! All around great place to stay in Traverse City!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Hello!

Thank you for your kind review and your recent stay. I'm so happy you enjoyed our beach area and the coffee we provide. We're really happy to have Leelanau Coffee Roasting Company coffee. It's locally roasted in Glen Arbor, and we grind and brew it fresh each day throughout the day.

Thank you so much and I hope you have a nice summer and come visit again.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,877 - 2,883 of 3,438 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The check in went very smoothly and the staff was more than helpful getting us information on local activities and sights. We wanted to visit the wineries so they gave us detailed maps of the area. They were always there, willing to help. The room was clean and large, with a beautiful lakefront patio.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Smonkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Good afternoon!

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and took some time to visit some of our amazing area wineries. I'm glad we were able to help you find them and that you enjoyed your time in the hotel, especially your bay view patio!

Have a wonderful day and please come and visit once.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is located on the most beautiful part of the bay. The water is so shallow and clean and there are lots of sand bars to park your lawn chair on.

Pros:
Well kept beach.
View!
Nice indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs.
Rooms are partially redone. Bedroom and bath were great.
Service was good.
Juccuzi tub was huge!
Other guests were very friendly.
Location - this is one of the quieter places to stay in TC.

Cons
Worst hotel breakfast I've had ever.
I was under the impression our suite had a kitchenette. It only had a mini fridge and coffee maker.
Living room was very very out dated. The pull out couch was very old and super uncomfortable.

I would bump this rating to a 4 if the breakfast were edible and a 5 once the remodeling is complete. I do not like to complain about prices because all the lodging in this area are priced at a premium but for $380/night I did expect something more along the lines of the Peninsula Bay or Tamarack Lodge.

Room Tip: Skip breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Good afternoon!

Thank you for your time in writing a review of your recent stay. I'm glad you enjoyed our amenities, but I'm sorry that you didn't like some portions of your stay.

Regarding our complimentary hot breakfast, we do offer a variety of breads (cinnamon swirl bread, bagels, and English Muffins), hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit (whole and cut), apple walnut crumb cake, ready-to-make waffles with cherry topping and whipped cream, a variety of hot and cold cereals, a variety of juices (orange, apple, strawberry-banana-orange), coffees (regular, decaf, and cherry), and teas, and either biscuits and sausage gravy, sausage and egg patties, or sausage patties and hash browns each day. I'm sorry none of this food was appetizing to you. We always appreciate feedback on the foods we offer and we do adjust on a regular basis if we get many guests wanting a different item.

I apologize for any confusion on our kitchenette descriptions. All of our rooms have kitchenettes, which include a small refrigerator, microwave, sink, and counter space. We do have a select few rooms that have expanded kitchenettes, which add cook-tops, larger refrigerators, more cabinets and counter space, and place settings for four.

Thank you for your concerns regarding the living room of the room that you stayed. I will certainly keep that in mind for future updates, which we plan to start again in the fall/winter. We just did a large update to the entire property, and we have more updates planned to continue increasing the quality of the Cherry Tree.

Thank you again for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall. We will work to improve and do better. Thank you and have a wonderful summer.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife, two year old daughter, and myself picked the Cherry Tree Inn for our first visit to Traverse City Mi. We had a great and comfortable stay.

We stayed in the Mackinak Island Suite and we were very happy with the room. The room was large, clean, and had a amazing view of the bay. TV's and appliances were modern. The kitchen had fridge and microwave. It was wonderful to be able to put our 2 year old to bed in the bed room, and have another living room to relax in without disturbing her. The balcony and view were the best part. One of the most impressive sunsets I have seen.

The pool / hot tub (indoor and outdoor) were small but nice. We never felt crowded and the water temp was warm. Pool was clean.

The lobby and morning breakfast were some of the best things about Cherry Inn. The breakfast was large and had a lot of variety for a free breakfast. Hot Eggs, sausage, bacon. Bagels, coffee cake, hard boiled eggs, waffle makers, cereals, oatmeals, etc, etc,. Our daughter loved it. The lobby always has a plate of chocolate chip cookies available anytime for anyone which was a nice touch. Another simple but nice touch was the flavored water dispenser. Each day it was a different item in the water (lemons, limes, mint, etc). Just a simple but appreciated extra. The lobby also has a comfortable TV area with free coffee anytime (cherry coffee is amazing).

The only complaint we have on this stay is the beach. We had planned our Friday to be the main "beach day." However, when we woke up, there were tractors on the beach churning up and cleaning the sand. We figured they would be done in an hour, so went to the pool to wait it out. But it lasted ALL day. The tractors kicked up dust which everyone was complaining about and no one could use the beach. It appears to be a nice beach location, but unfortunately we were unable to enjoy it. Not sure why the hotel would choose a Friday for such a disruptive construction job. Why not Wednesday?

But that aside, the location, room, and service is wonderful here. Its especially geared towards families with kids. If you are single or a couple looking for night life, i recommend staying more towards downtown as there are not a lot of adult actives (no bars, restaurants, or room service at this hotel). But everyone there seemed to have kids, and were all having a great stay.

We will happily return to this great hotel. Thanks!

Room Tip: If you stay in a suite, bring a box fan to help air circulate into sleeping area. The AC unit is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krippelz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Good day!

Thank you so much for your review and staying at our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed all the small things we do.

I am sorry for the beach work we had done on the Friday. We schedule sifting of the beach sand to remove weeds, trash, and large rocks. It was told to us that the company would only take 4 hours max. Unfortunately, they took over 8 hours to my great displeasure. I was very happy with how the beach came out after, but I was unhappy how it affected our guests.

Friday was was actually the best day for us to have it done due to the greatest amount of checkouts and check-ins that day, leaving few guests on property during the day. Our entire rest of the week, besides Sunday, was 100% full with a large amount of stayover guests. I apologize for this great inconvenience, and I will work with the company in better handling this in the future.

I'm glad you'll be returning and I hope you have a wonderful summer. Thank you again for your stay and your kind review.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Have stayed here a few times before and have always been very pleased with this hotel. They have different types of rooms to choose from. Rooms are roomy and the beds are great. They have both firm and soft pillows on their beds. They have both indoor and outdoor pools plus a beach and a small playground for children. Breakfast is good. I will be staying there again.

Room Tip: View rooms on their web page as they offer different sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarlKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Good evening!

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the many amenities and offerings we have for our guests. It is unique that we have 18 different room types to fit everyone's needs.

Have a wonderful day and we'll be happy to welcome you back to the Cherry Tree and the Traverse City area.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Could not have asked for better. Not luxurious, but super clean, super comfortable and super all together. We have a 19 month old, having a bedroom that closed off was great (we stayed in leelanau suite) b/c we could put her to bed and relax in the living room or on patio after she went to bed. Beach was great, not for swimming (on sand bar so super shallow) but great for walking and splashing. We had a waterview suite and it is a wonderful view of the Bay. Both indoor and outdoor pools were great, outdoor has fantastic view on water. First time here and we would definitely stay here again! Bed was comfortable (rare in hotels), room was spacious and well designed and little kitchenette was perfect! Free breakfast was pretty good (especially considering it is free) but eating area is very small and you may not get a table.

Room Tip: If you want a suite, you will be in separate building which has no amenities (ice machine, front des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhioBoxerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm happy you enjoyed our Leelanau Suite and enjoyed our beach area. It is a shallow front, so it makes it perfect for young children or taking a beach chair out and having it half way in the water. It makes for quite an experience with the water you can't find many places.

Thank you again and I hope you have a nice week. Please come visit the Traverse City area once again.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Cherry Tree Inn June 20 to 13rd. and were quite satisfied with our room. The view from our balcony was great. Breakfast in the morning was good too. The shuttle took us downtown to get dinner or to the casino if you want. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view and balcony when making reservations. (and AARP or AAA discount too)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello Diva!

I'm happy that you had such a wonderful stay at the Cherry Tree. I'm glad you enjoyed our complimentary shuttle service, too. We're happy to be one of the few hotels in town that provide a complimentary shuttle to Downtown Traverse City, the airport, and the casino.

We'll be happy to welcome you back again in the future. Take care!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $103 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City hotel, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree’s smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a free breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free shuttle service (based on driver availability), 24-hour indoor pool, hot tub, and dry sauna, year round outdoor hot tub, seasonal outdoor pool, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, numerous comfy pillows, HD TV’s, bedside docking stations, Seattle’s Best in-room coffee, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City’s best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing