We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Cambria Hotel Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$170
CambriaHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayshore Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkshore Resort(Traverse City)
$130
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Beach Resort Hotel(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$149
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$149
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$140
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$100
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Wolf Lodge(Traverse City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,588)
Filter reviews
3,588 results
Traveler rating
2,406
851
238
62
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,406
851
238
62
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflavored waterthe outdoor hot tubbathroom mirrorcookiesview of the bayshuttle servicebeach areaenjoyed our staygreat place to staywafflesexcellent stayfront desk staffbreakfast roomfire pitthe east bayliving roomstaff was very friendly
Filter
Updating list...
3,053 - 3,058 of 3,588 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed here for my Honeymoon with my new wife. Great hotel,loved the location next to the bay, excellent service, the staff was really friendly, excellent room, the breakfast was also very good. Overall our stay was great, we will come back to stay the next time we are in Traverse City.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Good evening!

Congratulations on your marriage and thank you for coming to Traverse City and the Cherry Tree to celebrate it. I'm glad you had a lovely time and enjoyed your stay. I wish you a very happy first year and many years to come.

Thank you again and have a wonderful spring!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel for price and location to downtown Traverse City. The hotel even offers a complimentary shuttle to downtown as well as the airport and casino. This hotel is kept really well, has a nice little beach behind it off the lake, indoor and outdoor heated pools, and complimentary breakfast! Expedia messed up our reservation because we has to change the date and the hotel was accommodating to get this error fixed at the last minute. They put us in another room and even gave us complimentary movie and snacks for the inconvenience- how nice!! I'd surely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Good morning!

Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that Expedia goofed on your reservation, but I'm glad we were able to resolve it and help you have a wonderful time in Traverse City.

I saw that you also got a chance to visit Bry's Estate winery. We love recommending them. They have wonderful wines, and I personally love their Naked Chardonnay and their Pinot Noir best. Those two wines are probably my favorite in the entire region, and it's hard to have a favorite when we live in wine country with so many exquisite wines.

Thank you again. I hope you have a wonderful spring and come visit again!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We got our room from the friendly staff and settled in. About 10 PM something went wrong with the toilet where the water wouldn't shut off so we had to move to a different room. Without us asking, the staff volunteered an adjustment to our room costs for the inconvenience. Turns out they gave us the room for free that night, beyond our expectations.
Rooms were clean and comfortable with good beds. AM breakfast was as expected in this price range. Try the cherry coffee! We would definitely return if we ever came back this way

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Good evening!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm terribly sorry for the toilet issue that you experience. While we have fixed it, it's frustrating to us - and I know it was to you as well - when an issue arises where we have to move you in the evening. Further, we couldn't get you into a room type similar to yours since we were so full. For those inconveniences to you, we felt it was necessary to do the proper adjustment.

We'll be happy to have you return and I'm sure you won't have another issue in the future. Have a nice spring and I hope you made it home safely.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a beautiful suite. With a hot tub and fireplace. The view overlooking the bay was beautiful and the room was spacious and very well decorated. The only thing I might change is the location of the bed in relation to the fireplace but otherwise amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the bay, it's beautiful.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charity N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, and I'm glad you enjoyed one of our suites with a fireplace and Jacuzzi. Thank you for your suggestion of the placement of the fireplace and bed. We are looking at another round of great improvements, so I will keep your thoughts in mind as we approach those processes.

Have a wonderful day and a wonderful spring!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have chosen the Cherry Tree Inn as our family vacation destination since 2004. Each and every year we arrive in Traverse City the weekend immediately following the last day of school for our children and stay the entire week. It’s a great way to kick off our summer and we avoid the annual vacation rush. Several years back the property owners of the Cherry Tree Inn were denied clearing of vital costal marsh on their hotel frontage in an attempt to create “sandy” beaches.

The limited area of sandy beach for the Cherry Tree Inn guests was a turn off for our family with young children and thus we decided to try other area hotels on the bay for our annual vacation. After four years of staying at other locations (all very nice, with excellent amenities) we were drawn back to the Cherry Tree Inn. The sandy beach that the Cherry Tree Inn is allowed to maintain is fabulous; we are able to search for shells clean, soft, dry sand. Many of the other hotels’ frontages on the bay have a lot of “wet” sand that tends to get everything dirty and clings, being carried back into the hotel.

The complimentary breakfast is priceless. To wake each morning knowing a fabulous variety of breakfast items are available to enjoy was a great way to start the day without having to pack the entire family up and go out to breakfast. As a mother of three young children, I have to say the wooden play structure (a pirate ship) is a fantastic highlight that kept the kids busy for hours. Cherry Tree Inn is and always has been very clean inside and the grounds kept immaculate. They never fell below our standards and the staff is always warm and friendly. Having the onsite watercraft rental and an outdoor heated hot tub (year round) are two of our favorite amenities!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Good evening!

Thank you so for your ever kind review. It's a pleasure to read how much you enjoy our beach. It's come a long way. As much as we wish we could have the picturesque (at least in some minds) beach frontage with all 400 feet of our frontage in pure sugary sand, we have to abide by state and federal laws. With that said, though, we fortunate that the partial natural area is actually gorgeous and that we have really fine-tuned our grooming of the 200 plus feet of beach below the high water mark to create a wonderfully fluffy sand service to the waters edge. We're excited to get our cabanas out this week, too! Of course, the top portion of our beach which is above the high-water mark is 400 feet wide of pure sugary sand, so that's an added plus - especially for our fire pit areas and our beach weddings through the summer!

I'm so glad that you have visited many of the hotels in the area and found your way back to us. We love our guests and we love making improvements to continue impressing - just this week we put in our order for iPad, iPod, and iPhone docking stations for the bedside tables.

Thank you again for your kind review. Have a wonderful spring and we hope you can return soon so your kids can play more "pirate" games!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews