We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Times at the Cherry Tree”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Times at the Cherry Tree”
Reviewed May 16, 2008

We have stayed at the cherry tree many times over the past few years. It is one of the nicest, cleanest hotels you will ever come across. It is one of the newest in TC and by far the best. The staff are super friendly and really care about your stay. Sometimes at night, you can just walk through the quiet lobby and just start up a random conversation with a desk clerk. Always nice after a long day in TC. This hotel have a continental breakfast from 7-10 am every morning great way to start your morning. (A negative though is that seating is limited and get pretty crowded at times, but never a major problem). There is an indoor pool and spa, game room, exercise room...typical of any hotel. This hotel also have a library off of the lobby, nice for family gatherings, read a book, play chess, even surf the web on the guest coputer. On the beach there is a playground, fun for kids big and small. There is also a putting green, nice for little kids. Another plus is the rooms..they are right "there is nothing stardard about the stardard room. All rooms come with microwave, fridge, (newly remodeled units have a cook top, i beleive) There is also televisions in the bathroom great for kids when the adults want to watch tv in the room. I highly recommebd the Widsor Suite (they changed the name I forget wht it is called now) but with this room you get a wrap around balconey overlooking the bay and a hot tub.

Also, the hotel have a "at home felling" half the time it will not even feel like a hotel, so quiet and relaxing.

There is really only one negative avout this property. The beach is horrible. but that doesnt turn me away. But beware of that.

To sum up great place

Keep up the great work Cherry Tree. You have a great hotel and staff keep it up.

We plan to return in 2009, (we are going to Disney this year so we wont be back till 09 hopefully. We cant wait to see the remodel. And like to see if that outdoor pool is coming still.

  • Liked — Everything!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — The Beach
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2008
Hello!

Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel and staff (we do like to gab with our guests). I'm glad that you enjoy your stays and I hope you have a safe and fun trip to and at Disney! We'll see you in 2009!

Best,

Cherry Tree staff

P.S. The Windsor Suite is now known as our Leelanau Suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,039
    744
    199
    52
    27
See reviews for
923
1,476
56
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Michigan Center, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2008

We stayed at the Cherry Tree Condo Hotel a few months back and just wanted to say that this was a wonderful getaway! The property is clean and the staff is extremely friendly. We stayed in the Walloon Lake Suite, which had a beautiful view! And the room was quite spacious. The only critique I can possibly think of is that the bedding was a bit dated. The complimentary breakfast was a great extra! We will stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2008
Hello,

Thank you for your kind comments and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I will let our owner know your comments regarding our bedding. Last time he visited, he had mentioned updating all the beds in the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast as well. I think a lot of people are liking the new items -waffles, biscuits and gravy - that we have added to it.

I hope you have a nice spring. Looking forward to taking care of you again.

Best,

Cherry Tree Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids,mi
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2008

A little disappointed in the room and how run down it was. Stains on the couch, tv remote didn't work in suite because couch was too far from tv, Pull out sofa was horrible. A big piece of foam for a trundle bed. Didn't sleep a wink. Loved this property 6 years ago when we stayed but it just wasn't taken care of this time around.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank ttbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2008
Hello Sir or Ma'am,

I am so sorry for the disappointment you found. I would greatly appreciate it if you contacted my either at the hotel (800-439-3093) or at my email address (jpack@cherrytreeinn.com), so I can find out which room you found disappointment in. I want to make sure everything is fixed and cleared up. That is certainly not up to our standards, and I am terribly sorry that your stay was a result of an oversite. Please contact me as soon as you are available.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2008

Thanks for a wonderful stay. My wife and I needed a two day getaway and spent a Sat. and Sun. night at the Cherry Tree. Jonathan, the front desk manager, was over and above, providing an easy check-in, great recommendations for dinning and I liked the fact that he remembers names! (Thanks for the cookies Jonathan).
The rooms were clean and large and we fortunately had an upper corner room with views of both the Bay and the sunsets. We liked that the rooms had microwaves, TV in the room and bath, fridge and safe. The hotel practices energy saving ideas and all areas seemed clean and quiet. My wife, an avid coffee drinker, said her only complaint would be to upgrade to a better coffee in the rooms and breakfast area. Keep up the good work Cherry Tree, we will be back! The McDonalds

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreystokeMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2008
Hello!
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and I'm glad you made it home safely. Have a great spring and we hope to see you soon.
Best,
Cherry Tree Staff
P.S. You two were a joy to talk to, and it was always fun helping you out around T.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2008

We were there in Aug. /01 and enjoyed 4 nights of trouble free relaxation and back again in Aug. /06 . Just booked July /08 for 5 nights and we expect the same. Friendly staff , clean pool / spa, and the room was loaded with extras like a TV and telephone in the bathroom. There is a nice shallow water beach for small children. All you have to do is drive 2-3 min. for food/shopping.

  • Liked — spaceous clean room with terific view of east bay
  • Disliked — drive 2-3 min for food shopping
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasonoNiagaraFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 13, 2008
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stays in '01 and '06. We hope you have an even better stay this July! Have a nice spring and a safe drive to T.C!
Best,
Cherry Tree Condo Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Cherry Tree Inn for a weekend getaway in November and found the staff to be very friendly and the room to be clean and very spacious. We stayed in the Harbor Spring Suite and it was fantastic. We are planning to return next fall and have recommended this hotel to everyone we have spoken to.

  • Liked — Large room, private balcony with wonderful view, privacy
  • Disliked — Traffic while trying to leave the parking lot
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigRigDrivah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2007
Hello!

Thank you for your kind comments. I am almost positive I know who your are and I hope you got home safely. Thank you so much and have a great winter!

Best,

Cherry Tree Condo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City Mi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

My family and I visited this place from May 31-June 3. Had no problem with the room. Probably the best I ever had. Loved the idea of a safe to put valuables in. Beach was starting to look pretty rank.
Management said they can't groom it without a government permit.
Well, go to the Cherry Tree web site now and see how bad it looks.
The water area looks even worse. The day I checked in May 31
didn't start very well either. I walked up to the front desk and stated who I was and the girl said I was supposed to be there on May 30 which wasn't true. I had called the inn directly and had made the reservation with the front desk manager. I mailed payment for our stay and never did receive a confirmation notice. Twice they tried to get me to pay for an extra night and i ikept insisting they were wrong in what they had as an arrival date. What ended up happening was they had to cancel my original reservation and try to find me a room
which they did after about 15 minutes and making myself and my family stew there the whole time. Finally a room was found and we settled in. On Sunday night the night before we left the front desk called our room and asked me to come down to the front desk and talk about trying to collect again for the extra night which really cheesed me off. I e-mailed the inn sometime after we got home about the problem and said how disappointed i was in how they handled the situation. Not even a chance was given to me and my family for a free night's stay. That would have been much better than the letter of apology I got telling me sorry at how the inn really mishandled the situation.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank PETALS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2007
Dear sir or ma'am,
Yes, I did mix up your reservation for the wrong nights, and it was completely my fault. Being that it was my first time making a reservation by mail correspondance only, I mistakenly failed to send you a confirmation letter regarding your stay. If I would have sent it, you probably would've noticed the wrong dates of your reservation and had them fixed in time. Unfortunately, that is not how your stay panned out, but we did get you into a room identical to the one that was reserved. And we did accommodate you the way that we promised - after clarifying that we made a mistake with your dates.
Regarding our beach, although it is hard-packed sand and free of stone and pebbles, it did have grass growing on it this past summer, grass that is there because we are cooperating with the Department of Environmental Quality and the Army Core of Engineers. Hopefully, we will receive a permit next summer, allowing us to maintain our beach and keep it free from most grass, but we'll cooperate with the local, state, and federal government guidelines. Being that we are more affected by the low lake levels than most properties, we have to work with the government more than most properties as well. However, as a T.C. boy from birth and raising, the view and swimming quality of the teal waters of Grand Traverse Bay is always nice.
Again, I am deeply sorry that everything didn't go perfectly for your stay, but I do believe that we accommodated you as we said we would. Our only mistake was the wrong dates, but we were still easily able to correct the error. Also, I do understand that you may not come back to our property, but you can always contact our Front Desk staff for ideas of other properties to visit - we aren't partners with any others in T.C. or Michigan. We always want to care for everyone who is trying to enjoy our lovely area.

Sincerely,

Cherry Tree Condo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
1.0 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Property: Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City resort, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree's smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a complimentary hot breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, a sauna, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, high-definition TV's with high-definition channel programming, including a full HBO line-up, Sony Playstation 2's, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking stations, Starbucks coffees, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing