We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel for price and location to downtown Traverse City. The hotel even offers a complimentary shuttle to downtown as well as the airport and casino. This hotel is kept really well, has a nice little beach behind it off the lake, indoor and outdoor heated pools, and complimentary breakfast! Expedia messed up our reservation because we has to change the date and the hotel was accommodating to get this error fixed at the last minute. They put us in another room and even gave us complimentary movie and snacks for the inconvenience- how nice!! I'd surely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Good morning!

Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that Expedia goofed on your reservation, but I'm glad we were able to resolve it and help you have a wonderful time in Traverse City.

I saw that you also got a chance to visit Bry's Estate winery. We love recommending them. They have wonderful wines, and I personally love their Naked Chardonnay and their Pinot Noir best. Those two wines are probably my favorite in the entire region, and it's hard to have a favorite when we live in wine country with so many exquisite wines.

Thank you again. I hope you have a wonderful spring and come visit again!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,076
    756
    203
    52
    28
See reviews for
951
1,494
56
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mill Creek, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We got our room from the friendly staff and settled in. About 10 PM something went wrong with the toilet where the water wouldn't shut off so we had to move to a different room. Without us asking, the staff volunteered an adjustment to our room costs for the inconvenience. Turns out they gave us the room for free that night, beyond our expectations.
Rooms were clean and comfortable with good beds. AM breakfast was as expected in this price range. Try the cherry coffee! We would definitely return if we ever came back this way

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Good evening!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm terribly sorry for the toilet issue that you experience. While we have fixed it, it's frustrating to us - and I know it was to you as well - when an issue arises where we have to move you in the evening. Further, we couldn't get you into a room type similar to yours since we were so full. For those inconveniences to you, we felt it was necessary to do the proper adjustment.

We'll be happy to have you return and I'm sure you won't have another issue in the future. Have a nice spring and I hope you made it home safely.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a beautiful suite. With a hot tub and fireplace. The view overlooking the bay was beautiful and the room was spacious and very well decorated. The only thing I might change is the location of the bed in relation to the fireplace but otherwise amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the bay, it's beautiful.
See more room tips
Green Features: I love the fact that they are environmentally conscious. That is an added bonus.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charity N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, and I'm glad you enjoyed one of our suites with a fireplace and Jacuzzi. Thank you for your suggestion of the placement of the fireplace and bed. We are looking at another round of great improvements, so I will keep your thoughts in mind as we approach those processes.

Have a wonderful day and a wonderful spring!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpointe, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have chosen the Cherry Tree Inn as our family vacation destination since 2004. Each and every year we arrive in Traverse City the weekend immediately following the last day of school for our children and stay the entire week. It’s a great way to kick off our summer and we avoid the annual vacation rush. Several years back the property owners of the Cherry Tree Inn were denied clearing of vital costal marsh on their hotel frontage in an attempt to create “sandy” beaches.

The limited area of sandy beach for the Cherry Tree Inn guests was a turn off for our family with young children and thus we decided to try other area hotels on the bay for our annual vacation. After four years of staying at other locations (all very nice, with excellent amenities) we were drawn back to the Cherry Tree Inn. The sandy beach that the Cherry Tree Inn is allowed to maintain is fabulous; we are able to search for shells clean, soft, dry sand. Many of the other hotels’ frontages on the bay have a lot of “wet” sand that tends to get everything dirty and clings, being carried back into the hotel.

The complimentary breakfast is priceless. To wake each morning knowing a fabulous variety of breakfast items are available to enjoy was a great way to start the day without having to pack the entire family up and go out to breakfast. As a mother of three young children, I have to say the wooden play structure (a pirate ship) is a fantastic highlight that kept the kids busy for hours. Cherry Tree Inn is and always has been very clean inside and the grounds kept immaculate. They never fell below our standards and the staff is always warm and friendly. Having the onsite watercraft rental and an outdoor heated hot tub (year round) are two of our favorite amenities!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Good evening!

Thank you so for your ever kind review. It's a pleasure to read how much you enjoy our beach. It's come a long way. As much as we wish we could have the picturesque (at least in some minds) beach frontage with all 400 feet of our frontage in pure sugary sand, we have to abide by state and federal laws. With that said, though, we fortunate that the partial natural area is actually gorgeous and that we have really fine-tuned our grooming of the 200 plus feet of beach below the high water mark to create a wonderfully fluffy sand service to the waters edge. We're excited to get our cabanas out this week, too! Of course, the top portion of our beach which is above the high-water mark is 400 feet wide of pure sugary sand, so that's an added plus - especially for our fire pit areas and our beach weddings through the summer!

I'm so glad that you have visited many of the hotels in the area and found your way back to us. We love our guests and we love making improvements to continue impressing - just this week we put in our order for iPad, iPod, and iPhone docking stations for the bedside tables.

Thank you again for your kind review. Have a wonderful spring and we hope you can return soon so your kids can play more "pirate" games!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I, stayed in a nice studio, management very friendly and helpful, good breakfast, will recommend to anyone who wants to go to Traverse city.The views of the Lake Michigan are amazing, and the breakfast is soooooo good.

Room Tip: Studios and suites, are very well located, and clean, excellent price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, and I'm especially glad you enjoyed the breakfast sooooooo much! :) Have a wonderful day and do come visit us and our wonderful area again.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed last weekend for an anniversary get away...super impressed. Had read some reviews but in no way realized what a nice room it would be. Super clean, amazing amenities, gorgeous view. Staff was friendly, no issues at all. Breakfast wasn't anything to write home about, but got us off to a good start anyway! read some previous reviews that said the carpet wasnt in good shape, etc...didnt see any sign of that, in fact looked like it had recently been replaced. All and all, great trip and would not hesitate to recommend anyone to head there for a great retreat.

Room Tip: We were in a suite with jacuzzi and fireplace! beautiful room with tons of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayZ2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Good May evening!

Thank you for your time and writing a review of your stay. It's so nice to see that we impressed you and you were able to enjoy your anniversary at the Cherry Tree. I wish you many more great ones to come - we love helping anniversary guests celebrate in our hotel and in the Traverse City region.

Have a wonderful day!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was a decent place to finish our honeymoon. The room was large and spacious and we especially loved the jacuzzi. We enjoyed the location and the beach behind is very nice. The only negative comment is the free-for-all breakfast. We never got there early, so it was already packed and picked over. They keep it stocked, but we had even a hard time even finding a place to sit. It wasn't uncommon for us to just take it back to our room. I felt bad for the staff that had to maintain the breakfast room as it was messy and managing the families with kids had to be stressful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPodes512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Good day!

Thank you for your review and congratulations on your recent marriage. I hope you had a wonderful honeymoon and were able to enjoy our great town and region.

I'm sorry that the breakfast didn't work out for you as well as you expected. At times, the area can get quite busy. We offer overflow seating in our lobby are Sweet Shoppe areas, and we are currently looking at more ways to expand and improve the area. Our breakfast team does a great job by keeping things stocked and cleaned - all while carrying big smiles!

Thank you again. I hope you have a wonderful start to your marriage with many more blissful years to come!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
1.0 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Property: Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City resort, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree's smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a complimentary hot breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, a sauna, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, high-definition TV's with high-definition channel programming, including a full HBO line-up, Sony Playstation 2's, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking stations, Starbucks coffees, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing