We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large spotless room, great view, free breakfast, kids loved the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 9, 2008

We were there in Aug. /01 and enjoyed 4 nights of trouble free relaxation and back again in Aug. /06 . Just booked July /08 for 5 nights and we expect the same. Friendly staff , clean pool / spa, and the room was loaded with extras like a TV and telephone in the bathroom. There is a nice shallow water beach for small children. All you have to do is drive 2-3 min. for food/shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasonoNiagaraFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2008

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stays in '01 and '06. We hope you have an even better stay this July! Have a nice spring and a safe drive to T.C!
Best,
Cherry Tree Condo Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,400 - 3,406 of 3,440 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Cherry Tree Inn for a weekend getaway in November and found the staff to be very friendly and the room to be clean and very spacious. We stayed in the Harbor Spring Suite and it was fantastic. We are planning to return next fall and have recommended this hotel to everyone we have spoken to.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigRigDrivah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2007

Hello!

Thank you for your kind comments. I am almost positive I know who your are and I hope you got home safely. Thank you so much and have a great winter!

Best,

Cherry Tree Condo Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

My family and I visited this place from May 31-June 3. Had no problem with the room. Probably the best I ever had. Loved the idea of a safe to put valuables in. Beach was starting to look pretty rank.
Management said they can't groom it without a government permit.
Well, go to the Cherry Tree web site now and see how bad it looks.
The water area looks even worse. The day I checked in May 31
didn't start very well either. I walked up to the front desk and stated who I was and the girl said I was supposed to be there on May 30 which wasn't true. I had called the inn directly and had made the reservation with the front desk manager. I mailed payment for our stay and never did receive a confirmation notice. Twice they tried to get me to pay for an extra night and i ikept insisting they were wrong in what they had as an arrival date. What ended up happening was they had to cancel my original reservation and try to find me a room
which they did after about 15 minutes and making myself and my family stew there the whole time. Finally a room was found and we settled in. On Sunday night the night before we left the front desk called our room and asked me to come down to the front desk and talk about trying to collect again for the extra night which really cheesed me off. I e-mailed the inn sometime after we got home about the problem and said how disappointed i was in how they handled the situation. Not even a chance was given to me and my family for a free night's stay. That would have been much better than the letter of apology I got telling me sorry at how the inn really mishandled the situation.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank PETALS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, Front Desk manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2007

Dear sir or ma'am,
Yes, I did mix up your reservation for the wrong nights, and it was completely my fault. Being that it was my first time making a reservation by mail correspondance only, I mistakenly failed to send you a confirmation letter regarding your stay. If I would have sent it, you probably would've noticed the wrong dates of your reservation and had them fixed in time. Unfortunately, that is not how your stay panned out, but we did get you into a room identical to the one that was reserved. And we did accommodate you the way that we promised - after clarifying that we made a mistake with your dates.
Regarding our beach, although it is hard-packed sand and free of stone and pebbles, it did have grass growing on it this past summer, grass that is there because we are cooperating with the Department of Environmental Quality and the Army Core of Engineers. Hopefully, we will receive a permit next summer, allowing us to maintain our beach and keep it free from most grass, but we'll cooperate with the local, state, and federal government guidelines. Being that we are more affected by the low lake levels than most properties, we have to work with the government more than most properties as well. However, as a T.C. boy from birth and raising, the view and swimming quality of the teal waters of Grand Traverse Bay is always nice.
Again, I am deeply sorry that everything didn't go perfectly for your stay, but I do believe that we accommodated you as we said we would. Our only mistake was the wrong dates, but we were still easily able to correct the error. Also, I do understand that you may not come back to our property, but you can always contact our Front Desk staff for ideas of other properties to visit - we aren't partners with any others in T.C. or Michigan. We always want to care for everyone who is trying to enjoy our lovely area.

Sincerely,

Cherry Tree Condo Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

We just recently stayed at the Cherry Tree and it was an excellent choice. The rooms were clean, neat and nice.

The front desk personel where very helpful. Getting extra pillows, tea in the room instead of coffee. Cookies in the lobby. It was just a refreshing place to stay.

Our room was on the ground floor so we were able to walk right out to the bay, very relaxing. We were also located close to the tart bike trail and other activites as well. I would recommend this to anyone especially families.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gardeningladyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

the beach was disappointing,a shallow marsh.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tigerladySaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We absolutely loved Cherry Tree Inn on the Beach. It's in a great location on the East arm of the bay where the water is warmer. The hotel staff were wonderful. All of the employees are exceptionally nice and friendly. The rooms are perfect. We had a fabulous time and will absolutely return here. I highly recommend this hotel/condo suite. We love Traverse City and will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellg456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mauigirlLansing_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $104 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City hotel, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree’s smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a free breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free shuttle service (based on driver availability), 24-hour indoor pool, hot tub, and dry sauna, year round outdoor hot tub, seasonal outdoor pool, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, numerous comfy pillows, HD TV’s, bedside docking stations, Seattle’s Best in-room coffee, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City’s best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing