We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Not only were the rooms extremely clean but the customer service was excellent. The front desk called to make sure our rooms were satisfactory and when needing help with reservations, the gentleman took a great deal of time to make sure that we had plenty of restaurants to pick from. The entire staff was friendly and seemed to understand the importance of taking care of their guests. The view is outstanding and the outdoor hot tub was a treat as well. Highly recommend this hotel!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Good afternoon!

Thank you so much for your stay. It really makes the Cherry Tree Family happy to read that you enjoyed our customer service, and I'm fortunate to have such a great group of people who love to smile and please guests.

Good for you for using the outdoor hot tub. The outdoor pool and spa are closed right now for end-of-the-season maintenance, but we expect to reopen the outdoor spa next week for use all through the winter. The indoor pool and hot tub are running at full speed, though! :)

Thank you again. Have a wonderful day!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,249)
There are newer reviews for Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,802 - 2,808 of 3,249 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had such a nice time here, though the summer traffic made it hard to reach. We relaxed immediately upon entering our spacious room, which had a balcony overlooking the bay. The room was newly remodeled and had a huge bed, the hotel was spotless, and the staff couldn't be nicer. We also utilized the shuttle service to downtown Traverse for dinner, which worked out wonderfully!

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room and a bay balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ffax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hello!

Thank you so much for your email. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our remodeled rooms. We've actually just completed our updates to all rooms, including new bed linen, new drapes, new chair cushions, and new art (all black and white local photographs of cherry orchards, the State Theatre, the Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes, the Old Mission Peninsula, and more). We're very excited to have it all done for our guests to enjoy.

And I'm happy you were able to use our complimentary shuttle service. It makes it easier on you, doesn't it?

Thank you again for your stay and I hope you have a nice rest of the month!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I wan on a trip of Michigan and booked this Hotel based on the reviews and I was not disappointed. The hotel has a nice location, nice beach, nice rooms, nice staff, nice breakfast.Upon arrival I requested for an upgrade to a good view room and was instantly upgraded without any issues. The location of the hotel is very good. Very close to the Metro park and beaches and the market place.

Room Tip: Get a room on the beach side, these are nice and pleasant.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArunPatyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Good October day!

Thank you so much for your stay and taking the time to write a review. We're happy to read that you found our rooms, our staff, our location, our beach, and our breakfast to be nice. We hope you have a nice rest of the month and please do come visit again - you can see all the additional updates we just completed (new art work in all rooms and new bed linen in all rooms).

Sincerely,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Cherry Tree Inn in Traverse City is in a great location and has a beautiful view of the lake. We stayed in a newly remodeled King room with a view and it was very nice with a fireplace and jacuzzi. The room was not in the main part of the Inn and it was very quiet. There were nice robes, plenty of towels, and a little kitchen area in the room with a coffee maker. The only thing that could have been improved was the breakfast. The food was what you normally find in a convenience hotel and the cooked food (sausage, eggs, potatoes) were not good at all. The next time I stay I will go out somewhere for breakfast instead of eating at the hotel, but other then breakfast the Inn is a very nice place to stay when visiting Traverse City.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Good afternoon!

Thank you for your recent stay and the review you provided. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our rooms. I apologize that you didn't care for our complimentary breakfast. We offer a full variety of items that we have designed based on our guest wants and our budgets. I will certainly continue to look on ways we can improve the selections to appease everyone.

Thank you again. Have a nice fall and please do come visit again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend at Cherry Inn celebrating our wedding anniversary. We booked the Leelanau suite since this was a special getaway. We picked this suite because of the description of the room's "privacy". When we arrived, we found we were on the first floor and our "private" balcony didn't exist -in fact, there was no privacy at all. The "private" patio was several steps from the public access steps to the beach. This is where all the smokers visiting at the hotel congregated and when we arrived, a large group of guests were getting their party started for the evening. We requested a different room. No other suites as what we booked online were available, so we were offered a studio. The Leelanau is a HUGE suite and well worth the price that we were planning to pay. The room was plenty big and had both the fireplace and jacuzzi we had booked the Leelanau for, however in comparison, was probably 1/2 the size of the original room we booked. The disappointment is that our total room rate with taxes ended up only be a mere few dollars less. This doesn't make any sense when you compare the room sizes. The other issue we had was that our air conditioner was really loud. Otherwise the rooms were clean and well suited and the staff friendly. The morning breakfast was more than adequate with the make yourself waffles, assortment of fresh fruit, yogurt and pastries. Plus they offered a hot item both mornings. The first was sausage gravy and biscuits and the second, sausage patties and egg patties. We would return but would negotiate our pricing better. The studio was not worth the price they charged us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wife2Table45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. I apologize that were weren't able to accommodate you on a higher floor in a Leelanau Suite. When we know a guest would like a higher floor, we make every effort possible to accommodate the request. I apologize that our reservation block wasn't open enough to meet your expectations. Our base pricing for our rooms does put there rooms at good moderate levels, but when we have a higher occupancy, our rates for rooms that are left available can fluctuate higher due to higher demand. I apologize that this wasn't better explained to help you. I will work with my staff to offer better information and explanations.

I am glad you our cleanliness and the rooms. We would certainly like to have you return to visit our area and our hotel again. Thank you so much. Have a wonderful day!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It's difficult to find a hotel that offers what this one does. We stayed in a large clean suite on the water which had jacuzzi tub for 2 with a view and a private balcony. I really don't have any complaints other than the slow-ish elevator. I was debating on whether to give the hotel a 3 or 4 star. 3 is average. Considering what you get, it's far from average. Free breakfast was convenient with waffles, toast, juice, coffee, etc. Location is about a 5 minute drive from downtown TC. Parking is tight so don't be the last one in. Overall, the hotel is clean, the staff was helpful and the suites exceeded our expectations. Very nice surprise.

Room Tip: This is the first hotel on the water as you enter TC from the East. Pirates Cove (putt-putt, go-kar...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank table45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm very pleased that we exceeded your expectations and enjoyed all the extra offerings we have for our guests. We'll continue to work on ways we can offer more for our guests. It makes us feel so good when we read comments like yours - we're doing something right and we'll continue on that path.

Thank you again. Have a wonderful and safe rest of the year.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It was very clean. Nice breakfast included. Right on beach with views. Grand kids enjoyed the pirate ship playground. Location was convienet to restaurants, beach and all area attractions. Outdoor pool was new and nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolFt_ThomasKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Good evening!

Thank you for your kind review and your recent stay. We're so happy you enjoyed everything and our extra amenities that we offer. I hope you have a nice fall and do come visit again. Thank you!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
356 reviews
0.8 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $108 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City resort, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree's smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a complimentary hot breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, a sauna, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, high-definition TV's with high-definition channel programming, including a full HBO line-up, Sony Playstation 2's, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking stations, Starbucks coffees, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing