We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My wife and I planed a overnight trip in Traverse City and under fall specials we found Cherry Inn and Suites.. We made reservations and everything went very well.. Very large room with small kitchenette .. Nice view of the bay ( I think all rooms are bay front) with private deck.. The front desk staff were very helpful with locating point of interest and personal recommendations..I wouldn't hesitate for a return stay

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mi-clintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Thank you for your recent stay and the time you took to write a review. As always, it pleases me and the Cherry Tree Family so much when we hear or read about happy guests. I hope you had a safe trip home and we'll be happy to have you back soon.

Hospitably,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,129 - 3,135 of 3,417 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

We just returned from our visit to the Cherry Tree Inn and we had a wonderful time. We were very impressed with the care given to insure every guest was welcomed and cared for during the entire visit. Cookies and apples were available at all times at the front desk. Coffee and and tea was served throughout the day and evening. Wonderful fruit flavored water was available in the lobby area. The entire Inn was well kept and the room was VERY clean. The view from the room of the bay was beautiful. There were even 5 swans we were able to watch throughout our visit. Breakfast was yummy, the hot tub was clean and very relaxing. The front desk was helpful and offered directions (even printed) when we inquired about various sights. We found the beds to be comfortable, the room spacious, and the extra care to make us feel welcome was terrific. We would return again (and hope to do so). Thanks to the entire staff for going out of your way to make your Inn special to each and every guest. Hats off to a job well done!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJohnson2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Hello!

Thank you for your kind review. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for noticing everything we do for our guests - the tea, the beds, the breakfast, the apples, the cookies, the water, etc. We will continue to work hard and make guest stays better and better.

Thank you so much. Have a great day!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed at the Cherry Tree Inn in Mid-October with friends and we had 2 adjoining bayside rooms. I must say that I was quite surprised by the condition of rooms after reading the recent reviews praising this hotel. We found our rooms to be mediocore at best, The views of the bay were amazing and the beachside grounds were beautiful. However, our rooms were definitely not up to par with the previous reviews. Our beds were supposedly newly upgraded with pillow top matresses which we found to be uncomfortable. The sheets, pillows and bedding were cheap, thread bare and stained. The room itself was clean but rather spartan and showing wear and tear. The bathroom was very basic with stained tiles, pealing paint and a patched wall in one bathroom that was never repainted. The in-room refrigerator solidly froze any liquid that was put into it and the in-room safes did not work. We reported to the front desk that one of our coffee makers was slow to brew and that one of the televisions was fuzzy on most channels. The desk clerk just said that things were old and would have someone look into it. No one ever got back with us or attmepted to fix the TV or swap the coffee maker.

The breakfast buffet was very basic with limited selection and the usual waffle makers, a few cereals and some fruit. There was 1 hot breakfast item which was re-heated biscuts and gravy each of the 3 mornings we came down for breakfast. The breakfast room was crowded and the coffee dispensers were not kept refilled.

I would rate this hotel well below the general quality level of a Hampton Inn where we wish we had stayed instead. We received a special fall rate but that didn't make up for this properties short falls.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Good Morning!

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and telling us your concerns. I greatly apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We do have new pillow-top mattresses in all our bay view rooms. They are Serta Concierge Plush mattresses, for which we've received great praise from our guests. We do have a thorough laundry process that we follow to pre-treat any and all stains, wash and dry all linen, and then discard any that are unsuitable for rooms. Any torn sheets are automatically discarded. I great apologize that our process failed for your room - this is not normal at all for our property. We continually strive for high quality products and cleaning. We will certainly work to get better in this respect.

We did check the rooms you stayed in for a hole in the ceiling, and we could not find one. We will recheck and make sure everything is right. That is absolutely something we don't ignore and we work fast to repair any damage that may have occurred to a room.

I do apologize as well for the fuzzy TV channels. Recently, Charter Communications' programming has been changing and we have come across a few fuzzy channels. We found one on your TV that was also throughout the hotel. We are working with Charter for them to have better communication with us and for their repairs to stop inconveniencing our guests. I promise to keep at them until they fix their issues.

Thank you again for your review. Our goal is always about guest satisfaction and I'm very sorry that we didn't satisfy you. I assure you I will work with the Cherry Tree Family, and we will get better and better as we always do.

Hospitably yours,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We chose one of the large suites so that we would have a place to gather for our family reunion. It was an excellent choice. The suite was large, with a view of the water, 2 TV's, a fireplace and a jacuzzi. A bar area with a small fridge and a table in the dining area made entertaining easy. The room was clean, staff was pleasant, and a nice breakfast was offered. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeaandChocolateGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Good October Day!

Thank you for your kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I hope your family reunion was a lot of fun. It's always great to see family you haven't seen in awhile.

Thank you so much. Have a wonderful rest of your year!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is a clean and very comfortable hotel. Lots of extras. Indoor pool and spa. Great breakfast. Had a room with an amazing view of the bay. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Thank you for your kind review. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. And I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast. Coming in November is fresh roasted and fresh ground local coffee from Leelanau Coffee Roasting Company. We did a tasting and our guests chose their coffee over our current coffee. We're very excited and think you'll enjoy on your next visit.

Have a wonderful rest of the year and please visit again soon!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We recently spent two nights at the Cherry Tree Inn while we took our color tour. All personnel were extremely friendly. Our accommodations were exceptional. We had a room on the bay with a beautiful view. The room itself was very clean and inviting and the beds were extremely comfortable. We ordered ahead for wine and truffles and they were waiting for us in our room when we arrived. We sat on our balcony and enjoyed them while watching the sunset. The breakfast was very good with many choices and plenty of food. There is something for everyone. When we travel to TC again we will certainly stay at the Cherry Tree Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the bay are worth the little extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOYGIRL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. I'm very pleased you found your stay so enjoyable - from the staff to the breakfast to the view from your room. We'll be happy to welcome you again on another trip to our gorgeous town. Thank you again. Take care and have a great end of fall - stay warm!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The Cherry Tree Inn is in a tranquil setting. Our room faced the bay and beach. Our room was clean with very comfortable beds. We used the exercise room, the lobby and walked the
beautiful surroundings. Customer service was TOPS! Breakfast....hearty!
Our stay was short but we loved it and would recommend Cherry Tree Inn to friends and
family.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alej_fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

Hello!

Thank you for your stay and your review. I'm glad you found our property serene and you enjoyed everything, including our breakfast. We're always working to keep things top notch, and I'm glad from your review that we're doing that.

Have a wonderful October. Please visit again soon!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $103 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City hotel, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree’s smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a free breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free shuttle service (based on driver availability), 24-hour indoor pool, hot tub, and dry sauna, year round outdoor hot tub, seasonal outdoor pool, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, numerous comfy pillows, HD TV’s, bedside docking stations, Seattle’s Best in-room coffee, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City’s best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing