We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
“Loved our stay”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We planned on staying at the Inn1 night but stayed 2 because we loved the room. Our spa room was on the 5th floor with a lake view. It had a large Jacuzzi in the room, along with a comfortable king size bed, sitting area and a fireplace. There was a balcony overlooking the water but it was too cool for us to enjoy it. Breakfast was excellent. My favorite were the hot cherries to put on the waffles! Everything in the Inn was light, clean and inviting.

Room Tip: We requested a water view room, a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Good day!

Thank you for taking the time out of your, I'm sure, busy schedule. We really, really appreciate it, and the staff always enjoys reading the comments.

I'm so happy you enjoyed one of our many rooms with Jacuzzis. The big tub with great jets just entice you to stay that extra day, huh? It's a huge marketing ploy we have (I'm kidding of course). I'm glad you enjoyed the warm cherries for our ready-to-make Belgian waffles. In July, we offer fresh locally-picked cherries at our Front Desk throughout the days- those are wonderful, too!

Thank you again. I hope you have a wonderful summer, enjoying the sun and activities it will offer this year!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,104
    779
    214
    54
    28
See reviews for
993
1,509
56
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Howell, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2011

clean rooms -helpful staff-great view of bay--catered to runners of bayshore with early breakfast at 4:30 am and shuttle service to the start of run all this on memorial weekend--experienced the same last year during cherry festival week

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank central1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Hello and Happy June!

Thank you for your kind review. I'm so glad we're consistent for your stays, Thank you for noticing our new shuttle service we offer only to our guests. It's a unique service that we just started the week before Memorial Day, and we're excited to offer complimentary shuttling to downtown, the casino, and the airport. We'll also offer it for special events like the Bayshore Marathon and 4th of July Fireworks.

The breakfast is another thing we wanted to do to ensure our athletes competing in the marathon have the right fuel at the right time for a good race.

Thank you again for your review. I hope you have a nice June and that we'll see you again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2011

The service we received was excellent. Our room had comfortable beds & a beautiful view. The furniture on the balcony was clean & dry, that is unusual & much appreciated. Another feature that was very important was that your stairwell was clean & brightly lit. I felt safe going to the 4th floor! The last, but not least, were the make-up remover cloths in the room.They are a great idea for everyone, thanks for having them. We would stay again & have already reccommed you to others =-)

Room Tip: Try to get a Bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbhaas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Hi! Thank you for you for your kind review and noticing some of the less noticable things we do like the clean and well lit stairwells and the make-up remover towelettes. It's important to us to keep all parts of our property clean and presentable. Whether it's the corner of the parking lot or the stairwells, we want everything to be clean and pleasing to our guest's eyes. And the make-up removers just make good sense. Instead of using a clean wash cloth we provide in our rooms, we offer the moist towelettes. The towelettes are better at removing the make-up and they reduce the staining of our wash clothes.

As always, I'm very appreciative that you took the time to write a review of our hotel and your stay. I wish you a wonderful sping and I look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Hospitably yours,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Awesome! Recommend anyday. Pool is the perfect temp. Hot tub is large, has a sauna which I didn't use, but looked nice and clean. Game room was fun, even for adults! The room, if you get one with a balcony overlooking the bay, is phenomenol! Last but not least if the weather is poor there is a family video across the street to rent movies and games for the PS2!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelCaputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Wow! Thank you for your review. I'm happy to see that our hotel was good enough for you. I know that campers can be very partial to their personal amenities and feeling of home (who wouldn't be partial to that?) they get in their campers, so thank you for trying out our hotel. We get a lot of chuckles from guests when they hear and see we have Sony Playstation 2's in all the rooms. They play DVD's and games, which is nice for our guests of any age.

Thank you so much, and I wish you a very great rest of the year.

Hospitably yours,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2011

A great stay at a reasonable price! My wife and I were led to this hotel by other favorable reviews. Our room was roomy and beautiful. The view was gorgeous as we looked out into the bay, The day started with a good continental breakfast. The pool, hot-tub and sauna were what any Dr. would order after a day of browsing. The staff was friendly and accommodating as they worked with us for an extra night stay in the same room on a Friday night,
Would I come back again? You bet!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuquack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Good day! Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you like the pool area with the pool, hot tub, and sauna. That sauna is so neat. We're very excited to offer a unique amenity like that for our guests - I know the Bayshore Marathon runners enjoyed that after their long trek this weekend!

I'll be sure to share your review with our staff as always - they love seeing and knowing that our guests are happy with the service we provide. Have a wonderful end of spring and rest of the year.

Hospitably yours,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights at the Cherry Tree Inn and Suites and found everything completely satisfying. The warm cookies upon arrival set the tone for my entire stay. My room was clean, beds comfortable, and everything was well stocked. I particularly liked the focus on recycling and being "green". The warm breakfast had a good choices for the morning meal and the breakfast room staff kept the area clean and the food fresh. All the staff was friendly and went out of their way to greet their customers.

Room Tip: Speak directly with the desk for their deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogbon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Cherry Tree. And thank you for noticing our focus on green practices. We have certainly taken huge strides in becoming a leader in Northern Michigan in knowledge of green practices and application of those practices. Hotels are notorious for lots of waste (it's just the nature of our business), so we reduce the waste by focusing on what we can do to reuse, reduce, and recycle instead of replace, replace, replace. Our green practices also coincide with our increased quality of cleaning products, food products, and shampoo/soap products.

Thank you again. Have a wonderful summer and please come visit again.

Hospitably yours,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We loved our stay here. Very friendly, helpful staff. Very clean comfortable rooms and a very nice continental breakfast. Reasonable rates and half off the second night. Beautiful balconly view of the beach and lake. Pool, exercise room, game room and snack shop. They even had umbrellas to use for the rainy weather! Only downfall is we could hear a lot of traffic noise when our windows were open. We will definetly be back to stay in the near future. Thumbs up !!!

Room Tip: Suite on 3rd floor, east end, traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarns414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Hello!

Thank you for your time in writing a review of our hotel. I'm very happy that you had a nice time and especially enjoyed our amenities and friendly staff. I'm glad you noticed the umbrella's - it's a new thing we thought of because most of the time, guests don't bring their umbrella's on a vacation trip or they leave them in the car. That doesn't help when they are in the hotel and it's pouring outside. We're always trying to think of better things to help guests enjoy their stay at the Cherry Tree and time in Traverse City.

I hope you have a wonderful May and rest of the year and come visit us again soon. All of our annual flowers are finally in the ground after what we deemed was the last frost warning last week. Take care.

Hospitably yours,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
344 reviews
0.8 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Property: Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City resort, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree's smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a complimentary hot breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, a sauna, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, high-definition TV's with high-definition channel programming, including a full HBO line-up, Sony Playstation 2's, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking stations, Starbucks coffees, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing