We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful trip away!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse
Ranked #4 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Howard City, Michigan, United States
1 review
“The most wonderful trip away!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I looked for two days to find a place to stay in the Traverse City area that was not either ungodly expensive or some dirty, generic chain hotel. I was THRILLED to find The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse! Our room was SO incredibly beautiful, my fav colors and everything. And even my husband noticed how spotlessly clean it was! I have never been a fan of Bed and Breakfasts because I like to have a lot of privacy, that was what I loved about this stay! It was so quiet and peaceful with only the 6 rooms/guests like a b&b, but yet, you had lots of amenities and privacy.

The rooms have snacks (cereal bars, popcorn), some of the best coffee ever!! And each room receives a free bottle of wine every night from the winery. Spectacular. This is the ONLY place I will ever stay in TC again! Every night we sat on our private balcony overlooking Bowers Harbor and watched the sunset! It was the best trip we have ever had!

Room Tip: We stayed in "Wine in the Garden" room, and it was so beautiful! Our balcony had a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    19
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
114
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sturgis, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at the Inn in late March and took advantage of their "weekday 2 nights for the price of one during Jan, Feb, and March." As it turned out, we were the only guests while we were there, so we had use of the whole Inn! Our room was lovely, the breakfasts were great, and we really enjoyed the complementary bottle of wine each day. We watched the snowfall across the vineyard from our balcony. The Inn is great any time of the year! We will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: Each room is different with a slightly different view - all are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BoilerFan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Park
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Generally agree with the other reviewers. Couple of items didn't see mentioned in recent reviews, they a very strong wifi connection (free) even out on the decks which was really nice for handling e mail, reading the paper online etc all while relaxing on the deck.

The Inn is very quiet, although it's near the visitor's center and administrative building, it's nestled down a short downhill drive, surrounded by trees, once at the Inn it is not even evident there are other buildings on-site. Very nice service from staff, etc.

They also have a washer and dryer on site which is handy. A small frig is in the common area w/ yogurt, snacks and juice, nice if you need a little something and the breakfast room is closed. Really appreciated there are many extras here but you don't get charged $5.00 for every use like at most standard hotels (this is not a standard hotel).

They also have a self serve wine bar which is a neat feature and fits right in w/ the winery (serving the Chateau's own wines). This is not free but a nice touch.

If you don't mind sharing common areas w/ other guests (all we stayed w/ were very friendly) this is a great place to stay as the common areas are very large and well appointed w/ the private guest rooms being more than adequate.

Rooms 1 - 3 face the bay and 4 - 6 face woods / vineyards. Would not hesitate to stay again; one of the best non-condo / house lodgings I have ever had the pleasure of staying at.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grossepointebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon and had a great time! The balcony was wonderful to sit and drink our wine. We started and ended our day in the free tasting room, and with several wineries within a short drive, there was plenty to do if you are looking for a laid back, relaxing break from reality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efrench9685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was the second time we visited and can't wait to return a third time. We brought friends with us this time and they were very impressed. The rooms are well decorated, spacious and very comfortable. The area in the inn to relax is amazing. Each day you receive a bottle of wine. The breakfast in the morning is wonderful. You can't beat the views of the vineyard and Traverse Bay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The price is reasonable based on all the amenities.
Tom and Linda S.

Room Tip: Look at their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth S, Public Relations Manager at The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you SO much! We're currently renovating the lower level and workout room. Please visit again soon to see our new changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and found our stay very affordable. We loved the inn itself - very homey and comforting. We even got to meet The owner and he showed us around our first night. The place is very relaxed and only has six rooms. Each room has a fridge, microwave, coffee pot, granola bars, popcorn and you get a bottle of wine each night you stay. The view out of each room is beautiful. The is a really nice breakfast room with a great selection of breakfast items: fresh fruit, rolls, bagels, boiled eggs, yogurt, juice, milk,sausage, bacon and waffle mix for making waffles!

One if the few negative things was the bed in room 5 - it is broken down and seriously needs to be replaced. We are back sleepers and we both slept on a slant and keep rolling into the middle of the bed. What we odd love is that they provided several pillows all different types so you are sure to find one you love! We also didn't have some of our toiletries restocked and ended up with no toilet paper, which was not a good thing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestulips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth S, Public Relations Manager at The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hi! Thank you for taking time to review the Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse. We value your feedback in making decisions and constantly improving our products and services. I apologize that your bed was uncomfortable and we are looking into addressing that problem, but are happy that you at least had comfortable pillows! I've also asked our staff to make sure that all toiletries are VERY WELL stocked! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Owner of the Grand Traverse Chateau Inn should be extremely proud of their offerings. In fact they could take "Traverse" out of the name and just call it Grand Chateau Inn, because that's what it truly is, grand. My wife and I, along with a bunch of our friends, rented the entire inn, six rooms. Having the place to ourselves was really nice, but the inn is plenty spacious to be able to comfortably share it with others.

The individual sleeping rooms were very spacious with great views of the vineyards; some with views of the bay between the peninsulas. Rooms were modern, clean and well equipped with flat screen TV's, microwave oven, mini refrigerator (stocked with juices) hair dryer, makeup mirror & etc. There was a very nice and spacious seating area with couch and chair. Popcorn and granola bars were also provided for a late-night snack as well as a complimentary bottle of wine of your choosing each morning. Yes, the bed was very comfortable too.

As for the common areas of the inn, extremely spacious and comfortable. Two very large great rooms, each with a working fireplace, made it possible to spread out if desired but large enough to each accommodate our entire group room. Two additional enclosed rooms with full length windows and door walls leading to a large deck were great for smaller groups and a great place to sip morning coffee or tea or a glass of wine later in the day. We didn't use the well equipped exercise room (with sauna), but it was there if you cared to use it. The dining room was again very large with a single table that would comfortably seat twenty or so.

The do-iit-yourself breakfast (in another well-equipped and spacious room) had plenty of choices including fresh cut fruit, waffles, bacon, sausage, quiche, bagels and cream cheese, breakfast burritos, hash brown potato patties ... ok I know I'm missing some things here. What a great start for the day.

The entire staff was very friendly and accommodating. We hardly ever saw the housekeeping staff but the rooms got cleaned and fresh coffee kept appearing with us never knowing exactly how or when it was done.

I can't say enough about how wonderful our weekend stay was. Yes, I would do it again and again and again. I felt the value was more than worth the cost and find it hard to believe one could find a better stay anywhere.

Room Tip: All six rooms were great. Want a view of water? I believe rooms 1-3; ask when you make reservations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
7.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
8.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,075 reviews
8.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
7.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
317 reviews
8.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse

Property: The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse
Address: 12301 Center Rd, Traverse City, MI 49686-8558
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse is located next to Chateau Grand Traverse Winery just 8 miles north of Traverse City on beautiful Old Mission Peninsula. We offer secluded and relaxed countryside lodging that caters exclusively to an adult-only clientele. Our six well-appointed guest rooms provide the perfect getaway for romantic couples, small groups, or even mini corporate retreats. Nestled in a tranquil wooded setting, guests can unwind at the end of the day with a complimentary bottle of Chateau Grand Traverse wine while enjoying the panoramic views from their own private balcony. Each guest room is contemporary in style and offers an array of comfort amenities to make your stay pleasant. We also provide free wireless Internet to ensure that you can keep in touch while enjoying your winery lodging experience. To maintain a healthy environment for everyone, our entire facility is smoke-free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Chateau Grand Traverse Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing