We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience on first time trip”
Review of Grey Hare Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grey Hare Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Went to Traverse City for an anniversary weekend and after much scouting, the Grey Hare Inn was chosen as our place to stay. This was a great decision. The proprietors of the inn were exceptionally kind and informative. Breakfast was a two/three course meal and all of the courses were delicious and made to the dietary requirements given upon reservation. The grounds of the inn were beautiful, as were the rooms. The location is very nice, as there is a winery down the same road as the inn, and all the other wineries, save one, are located north on the peninsula. This is also only a short drive from downtown Traverse City, making shopping and dining very easy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecogirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 74 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

There's not much I can add that hasn't already been said here, except that we have stayed in a fair number of B&B's both in and out of Michigan, and this is one of our faves... great location, beautiful vineyard & orchard surroundings, gorgeous & comfy rooms, delicious fare, and delightful hosts in Cindy & Jay. Perfect for a weekend couples' getaway, or longer - very serene and restful, but with tons of fun sightseeing, shopping, eateries and winery visits conveniently nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchip57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a delightful way to begin the new year! In the morning the fireplace was lit as we walked to our bistro table for a delicious gourmet breakfast and a wonderful morning greeting by our hosts, Cindy and Jay. Although we are very familiar with Old Mission and the Traverse City area this was our first stay at Grey Hare Inn. Our room was on the first floor. It was large and well appointed. It includes a separate sitting room, large jacuzzi tub and beautiful canopy bed covered in luxurious linens.The food was not only delicious, the presentation was perfect. Cindy and Jay have created a relaxing and inviting atmosphere in their beautiful chateau. My husband and I can't wait to return and experience other seasons - especially sailing season! This will be the first of many visits to Grey Hare Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

What a peaceful, quiet place to be during the holidays! The fog moved in during the night swirling around the grape vineyard surrounding the french chateau house making it a very surreal atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed spending time in the vineyard suite with the jacuzzi tub, separate sitting area, & large space. The queen bed was very comfortable & heated bathroom floor was a pleasure. Several restaurants are within 5-10 minutes drive for dinner. We chose the Mission Table Tavern. Breakfast in the morning was amazingly creative & tasty with Christmas music softly playing in the background. Cindy graciously made our breakfast to accommodate dietary requests. Cindy & Jay were such a treat. It was a bit pricey for our budget, but definitely a memorable place & worth the stay! We highly recommend the Grey Hare Inn!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anni f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruzak, Owner at Grey Hare Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

This review is one of those to which I find it most difficult to respond, and thus why it has been so delayed, because it is apparent that the persons enjoyed their stay yet included a somewhat inferred negative comment regarding value under circumstances that truly relate more to actions initiated by the guest rather than something under the inn’s influence. While I may not be completely sure about the specifics of their fairly last minute reservation, but they did indeed choose the most expensive room option. So perhaps a better choice to fit their budget would have been one of the lesser expensive rooms; and while I believe that indeed was a choice that weekend, if I am incorrect then it still would be valid that if the reservation had been made more than a few hours in advance of arrival there would have been a better chance a room more fitting their budget expectations could have be secured. Also, again if I am presuming about the guest’s identity correctly this was a last minute one night stay for which the rate is higher than our standard two night stay rate, and as state the one night they were here was very foggy so the expansive views of vineyards, orchards and the bay were not optimal. Yet another reason why we encourage potential guests to stay 2 or 3 nights to maximize their enjoyment of all the wonderful amenities offered at the Grey Hare Inn and Old Mission Peninsula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This B&B has added a touch of Tuscany/Provence to Northern Michigan. We spent 2 nights in the Vineyard suite in mid-September.

The Vineyard suite on the main level was absolutely lovely and perfectly laid out. The bedroom has French doors to a patio area at the back of the house and windows with wonderful vistas of the vineyards. There is a large walk through closet connecting the bedroom to the sitting area which also has lots of windows and more of those beautiful vistas. The bathroom is large and very spacious with all the amenities. We enjoyed that there was a door from our sitting room to the common living and dining area of the B&B. It felt like all of that area was ours too! The owners were on holiday and Cathy did a wonderful job hosting us. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented in a little bistro section of the common area.

We toured several wineries within close proximity to the Inn. We also spent an enjoyable day visiting Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park which was about an hour drive from the Inn. There is so much to see & do on Mission Peninsula and in the entire Traverse City area and we will definitely be back.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank HappyTrails2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent four nights at the Grey Hare Inn. It is a unique, location, it is designed as a French Chateaus. The location is great, central to many places to visit. We toured the Sleeping Bear Dunes and visited wineries. The room was comfortable, and the breakfasts were great. We used the common area to relax. I recommend the Grey Hare Inn and we plan to return some time in the future with more of our family and take advantage of the sailing they offer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garbermb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Grey Hare Inn last summer and we loved it so much that we went back for our honeymoon in June, 2012. The Inn is quaint and absolutely lovely, and we would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic and quiet retreat.

Highlights are the proprietors, Jay and Cindy, who are so accommodating and full of interesting stories, the gourmet breakfast, the expansive views, and the impeccable service (and cleanliness). Thank you Jay and Cindy for repeatdly providing a wonderful experience--we cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
7.1 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
6.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
6.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
408 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#19 of 40 in Traverse City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Hare Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Hare Inn

Address: 1994 Carroll Rd, Traverse City, MI 49686-8183
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range: $125 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant vineyard estate styled in the manner of a Provence/Tuscan farmhouse located in the heart of Northern Michigan Wine Country.A full gourmet breakfast and complimentary hors d'oeuvres are provided with panoramic vineyard, orchard and bay views. Just 10 minutes from all the amenities and activities of Traverse City, on Old Mission Peninsula ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing