We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

On two different trips to Traverse City we have stayed at the Grand Beach Resort. It is located right on the beach and along a section of US 31 with lots of restaurants and things to do. The TART trail is right across the street and a great place to run or walk. The hotel rooms are very large and reasonably priced. Our only complaint is about the complimentary breakfast. It was very sparse and unappetizing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aputti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    107
    43
    16
    10
See reviews for
103
130
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Hello everyone,
I stayed at the Grand Beach with another adult and a toddler child (June 6-8). This hotel is not horrible but is not great and there is definitely better out there. As for the good things, the beach was great and the housekeeping team is very good - nice clean rooms which is very important. For the not so good things, 1) The walls here are VERY thin - you can hear everything - car doors, hotel doors, people talking down the hallway - if you have small children that go to bed early or nap don't stay here, 2) The continental breakfast (if that's what they call it) very small - they have 100 rooms and 2 waffle makers and some toast and cereal. It was really bad. There was a huge lineup for the waffle makers and took forever to get any food. My major issue with this hotel is the unfriendliness of the hotel staff and the atmosphere. I thought this was a family hotel but it actually is a party hotel. If you have a family / kids, go to the Cherry Tree for the same price. There was a huge party on our floor and when I complained that we were up half the night the staff seemed annoyed that I called - they didn't stop the noise and when I called back they said it was quiet. It took another call for them to do anything about it. They just didn't care. A hotel has no control over who books but you should care if there is a party bothering an entire floor. Also, we stayed in a Family Suite which was nice for a toddler but it was a very odd layout. The bedroom with no windows was great for my toddler napping but it was open to the sinks and then the bathroom was between two pocket doors and virtually in the living area so no privacy, very odd. So all in all some goods things and bad things. I won't be staying here again, I will be trying the other family friendly resorts on the waterfront. Hope this review was helpful and send me a message if you have more questions. Good luck.

Room Tip: The family suite has a very odd layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 350FrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed one night and found the staff warmand friendly.
this is right on the beach and there are nice amenities at the resort.
The rooms are large and comfortable. there is ample parking. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skifree57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinaw City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Loved staying at this hotel. Had a great view/porch overlooking the East Traverse Bay Beach. Being on an upper floor allowed us to leave our patio door open all night to listen to the waves washing up on the beach. They had a nicely warmed swimming pool and a nice hot whirlpool.
Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The staff including desk, breakfast bar, and maids were all very friendly and out to help in any way. A continental breakfast is included with each night stay. That included make-your-own waffles, hard boiled eggs, hot/cold cereal, English muffins, bagels, toast, coffee, hot chocolate and a variety of juices, etc. While we've stayed on the beach many times in Traverse City, this was our first time at the Grand Beach hotel. If their rates remain low for off season like they were this year, we will definitely return again and again.

Room Tip: Beach front, but on second or third floor so you can leave your patio door open at night, and still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

our room was a king bed on the 2nd floor facing the bay. we were very pleased with the accommodations and the nightly rate was perfect for our last minute trip. i will consider the grand beach resort again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aheidesnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had 2 bedroom suite w/full kitchen. Great room. Comfy beds. Kids slept on pull out sofas; also comfy. Front desk staff very welcoming & pleasant during stay. Great pool & nice variety of continental breakfast. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tlwintc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have been coming to the Grand Beach for a "boaters reunion" every year for at least 10 years. We have never been disappointed. In my opinion, the rooms are perfect. The beds are extremely comfortable. We always get a bay side room so we have a view of the water. I don't care what time of the year it is, I enjoy the view. There is a couch in the room, a small table, a refrigerator, and coffee pot. The breakfast is also very nice.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The TV in our room should be replaced, but other than that I have never had a complaint in all of the years we have been going there. How nice it is to go to a hotel and know you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#18 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.5 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Address: 1683 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Beach Waterfront Resort Hotel is one of the finest accommodations on the beaches of Traverse City, Michigan. Grand Beach Traverse City hotel offers an indoor pool, hot tub, deluxe complimentary continental breakfast & many more amenities. We offer a wide array of guest rooms, from large suites accommodating family vacations to deluxe beach front hotel rooms and condominiums with in-room whirlpool spas for that romantic escape, so book your next vacation at Grand Beach hotel today. We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Traverse City
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing