We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit to TC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Visit to TC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was my first visit to TC. My family & I (1 another adult & 1 male teenager) spent 4 nights. It is a very family-oriented location. There were lots of families with smaller children. Many of those families seemed to be occupying the beach view rooms. My room faced the courtyard (parking lot) & was quiet. I didn't mind walking down to the beach. There was a booth set up to so guests could pay to use jet skis, the water trampoline and other water equipment

The room was decorated with a cottage/nautical theme. The bed/linen were fine (I have back problems). The fixtures and bathroom were newer & clean. The breakfast bar is very basic, more of a continental breakfast with two waffle makers, but satisfying. The lay out of the breakfast buffet area isn't the best, so there tends to be a line. During my stay, the staff didn't start removing the items @ the designated time, instead allowed the last guest to serve themselves.

Even with the "hidden resort fee", I thought not having to try and cross M-31 (from another hotel) with a (comfortable) beach chair and other items was worth it. The public access/parking area down the street was crowded & I think was metered parking and/or a fee. There were ample chairs and chaise lounge chairs outside of the hotel. I was able to take advantage of a travel special/coupon, so I found the cost of my stay to be reasonable.

I appreciate the convenience of a refrigerator & microwave. We were able to store left overs & keep beverages cool. Many of the staff members were very friendly. There were chain and local restaurants in the area as well as fast food choices.

We also drove to the Dunes during our stay...well worth the trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SerenaC313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    111
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
106
143
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have stayed at at a half dozen hotels in Traverse City and, believe me, despite what the people at the Grand Beach will tell you, none of them charge a hidden resort fee. This 4% fee is added to the price quoted for your room and is nonnegotiable. It covers breakfast and internet; in other words, it covers things that are included in the price at other hotels and added without your knowledge or consent. The desk clerk says it is "just the same as a tax." Ha! Taxes are levied by the government. This fee is added at the discretion of the management, not required by law.

I have never paid such a fee in travels to four countries and all fifty states. I'd actually be ashamed of myself if I was hoodwinked by such a scheme.

Also had difficulty canceling a reservation, though I was clearly well ahead of the cancellation deadline.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Clean room with comfortable beds, bathroom updated and very clean, microwave and refridgerator, wonderful lakeview , great sauna and pool area, nice light breakfast, and very helpful , friendly and welcoming front desk employees is what we experienced at our stay at the Grand Beach Resort Hotel in September. Restaurants and shopping very close to the hotel with a added bonus of a airport very close that we flew into. Unfortunately the weather was cool that week and we didn't get to enjoy the beach, but it was sunny ...perfect for hiking and visiting Sleeping Bear Dunes and surrounding sites. We had a wonderful stay and would like to visit again ......in warmer weather !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Grand Beach Hotel, leaving the Hampton down the street for what we thought would be "greener pastures." We were drawn to the possiblility of staying at a nice place on the beach, but choosing the Grand Beach Hotel was a big mistake! While this property does have a lovely beach area and a nice view of Lake Michigan, the inside of this hotel is ghastly. The carpeting in the halls and rooms is dirty and old, and our room, on a non-smoking floor, had a stale cigarette odor. The beds could not compare to the Hampton Inn. They were lumpy and uncomfortable. All the furnishings have seen better days. As for the free breakfast, what a joke! There was a pittance of food, which included cereal, bread for toast, juice and coffee. There was no fruit, bagels, or sweet rolls. Upon checking in, the clerk had informed us that the $7.50 resort fee was to cover breakfast, and other resort conveniences. Not sure what those conveniences might be. However, if you need a room in Traverse City, stay at the Hampton Inn, and walk across the street to enjoy your lake activities. Don't bother with this place!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LCVer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffin Oh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We took and mini vacation to Traverse City and stayed at the Grand Beach Resort hotel. It was a wonderful place to stay. We had the lake front view and it was breath taking. Lots ot actives close to the hotel to. Rooms are very clean and big. Free breakfast in the lobby and a game room for kids and indoor pool for the whole family. Mid- September prices are great to.

Room Tip: Tip is good clean place to stay..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had trouble finding a hotel for ONE night in Traverse City in mid-September. Most required a two night stay. Disappointed in the invoice. They charged a RESORT FEE which I have never heard of. Breakfast was adequate. Room was adequate. For what we paid, I expected more.

Rooms were clean, but slow draining sink and tub. Liked the microwave and small frig in room. Great beach, unfortunately too cool to enjoy. May or may not come back. Make early reservations if staying in peak summer months.

Room Tip: You will pay more for a room looking over Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel was very nice. Great location on beach. The beach was excellent. The hotel room was clean and very nice. The breakfast bar was not laid out to accommodate the amount of guests they had. The price was a little high for the room but with all the amenities I thought it was OK. But when I received my billing statement I was charged a Resort fee! When I asked about it the manager stated it was for the internet, beach chairs, breakfast , etc they had to pay for. I did not argue with him. I just will not stay hear again. Scam me once shame on you. Won't happen again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biplane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#17 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.3 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Address: 1683 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Beach Waterfront Resort Hotel is one of the finest accommodations on the beaches of Traverse City, Michigan. Grand Beach Traverse City hotel offers an indoor pool, hot tub, deluxe complimentary continental breakfast & many more amenities. We offer a wide array of guest rooms, from large suites accommodating family vacations to deluxe beach front hotel rooms and condominiums with in-room whirlpool spas for that romantic escape, so book your next vacation at Grand Beach hotel today. We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Traverse City
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing