We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Traverse City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Charles County, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Traverse City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was in town for a convention held at the Grand Traverse resort. Always wanting to be able to "escape" the convention and relax on the off hours, I rarely stay on site. So, I searched and located this hotel online. Prices seem a bit high, but it is in line with the service and standards of the hotel. It's not that physically different than, for example, a Comfort Inn or Holiday Inn. But the level of effort of the staff and attention to detail on cleaning, etc makes the difference. The beach is lovely, with watersports rental on site, plenty of places to sit and relax, waterfront balconies to enjoy at night, and great views of the setting sun. Just the right vibe to relax and enjoy time with the family.

I found it to be a bit quiet for my taste...I'm one to sit out on the patio at night with a small music speaker and have drinks - - it was actually too quiet to do this, I felt I'd be disturbing others. I guess being on a lake is VERY quiet compared to an ocean front beach - - where you have the noisy surf as background noise.

All in all a great stay. Nice pool area inside with hot tub. Well maintained property, and staff very friendly and helpful at all points.

Room Tip: go for the lakefront balcony. Makes the trip. Call them directly for help booking as opposed to on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    111
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
106
143
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jellico, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our night here but the price was over the top. We were lake front and had a nice view but the price was almost double the other lake front hotel we stayed at in another Michigan city. not many other rooms available the night we were here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank aoj1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have stayed at the Grand Beach several times and haven't been disappointed. It is very convenient to dining, Pirate's Cove amusements for the kids, Turtle Creek casino for the adults and, most importantly, the BEACH. From our grandkids perspective, staying at the Grand Beach is the perfect vacation. They like the game room, the pool, the waffles for breakfast and making castles in the fine beach sand with their parents. They're happy, we're happy.

As for the physical condition of the properties rooms, the bathrooms have been updated with tile showers and granite counter tops since our last stay. The other room furnishings and decor are somewhat dated, but acceptable. The televisions are not flat screen and the wi-fi is slow but these items aren't critical to our enjoyment.

The staff at the resort are always friendly and helpful. We booked our stay for next year before we left and look forward to another nice vacation with the family.

Room Tip: Our room was 108, a king room with sofa with direct beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is an average hotel, but the beach right outside your door more than makes up for anything that is average. Nice staff. Bedding was just so-so. The rooms were clean. Showers were newly updated. No restaurant on site, but there are some great restaurants nearby. Free breakfast was typical of most hotels now. The best I can say is that it's free.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunscreenSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
209 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Pros:

Like I said, great beach, great location
Indoor pool and whirlpool
Suites available
Non beach views if you want to save some money
Really nice staff
Close to dining, recreation and more
Free breakfast every morning
Nice, beachfront rooms available
Wonderful water pressure in the shower

Cons:

Uncomfortable beds
Cheap, worn linens and pillows
Dated decor
Less than stellar in-room housekeeping

All in all, still a good place and we would stay again. (Mostly for the beach and the great staff).

Room Tip: Beach side was $50 more per night. You need to decide if it's worth it or not. For us, it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My friend and I booked this hotel off the internet. We were amazed when we got there at the truly amazing deal we got from Kayak. Walk out the door to the beach. Even if you do not stay in a beach view room, the beach is so close it is amazing. The rooms are super and include a patio. The beach chairs available to all guests made it amazing to just hang out on the beach. We at the complimentary breakfast each day. The pool and the hot tub were great also. We enjoyed the location as we were able to wine taste nearby. Close to the state park, dinning, shopping, and the beach. Everything a girl could want!! Also you can rent kayak's, jet ski, paddle boards and all that stuff right out the back door!! I want to go back with the kids sometime soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meher49431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at hotel for a girls night- perfect location- can walk to the Red Mesa restaurant from here (which I would totally recommend)! Rooms were clean and pool area was quiet! The beach area is pretty shallow- and a bit chilly for June- but this Canadian girl took a run in anyways!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SooCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#17 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.3 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Address: 1683 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Beach Waterfront Resort Hotel is one of the finest accommodations on the beaches of Traverse City, Michigan. Grand Beach Traverse City hotel offers an indoor pool, hot tub, deluxe complimentary continental breakfast & many more amenities. We offer a wide array of guest rooms, from large suites accommodating family vacations to deluxe beach front hotel rooms and condominiums with in-room whirlpool spas for that romantic escape, so book your next vacation at Grand Beach hotel today. We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Grand Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Traverse City
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing