We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Milford, MI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed one snowy night in April, so we didn't do anything outside. We
liked the decor - beachy/cottagey.
The free breakfast was pretty standard. The room was generally in good
shape, but there were a couple of things missing. There was no soap dish
in the bathroom, so the only place to put wet soap was on the counter.
Also, there were no wash cloths. (Bath and hand towels, yes.)
I can see that this would be a nice place to be in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardHMilford_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    100
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
98
123
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Grand Beach in Traverse City (April 5/6, 2013). Wonderful view of Grand Traverse Bay and sandy beach. Heated pool and hot tub. The breakfast bar was included and it was exceptional! Though it was a very busy weekend with many children staying there (Easter vacation), it was very quiet in the evenings. It was a "great" weekend stay and would love to go back again someday.

Room Tip: Stayed on third floor, beach side....what a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Situated right on the lake. The lake is so big you might as well be on the ocean. Hotel is clean and the staff was great. Plenty of places to eat. So much to do, especially in the warmer weather. Weh had the room facing the lake with balcony and hot tub in the bedroom area. The only thing the room was missing was a wine screw. I had to rough it but, it was all worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greeneyes0859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the waterfront views of this hotel. Our room was right on the water and were just gorgeous. Rooms were very clean. Inland rooms feature the jacuzzis. The hotel service really was the biggest downfall. this was our first time in Traverse City and when we inquired about things to do and favorite restaurants, we were told to get a map. Not exactly the most pleasant response. The other downfall are the matresses. Bring your own pillows! The pillows in the room don't provide a good sleep. :( overall, we'd come back. You can't beat the location!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccdayohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here during the school break between Christmas and New Years to take are kids sking in the area. This was the third time we have stayed at this property, but first since 2000. Well we were not dispointed.

Stayed in a family suite that was very clean and had two king beds in bedroom and queen sleeper sofa in a separate living area. In the living room there was an additional chair to sit in by the sofa along with a small kitchen table and two additional chairs. Good size fridge, sink, microwave and additional counterspace. TV in living room was a 50 inch flat screen mounted on wall and TV in bedroom was a old tube 27" TV integrated into a cabinet. Plenty of room for our family of six with all of our ski gear. Only bummer was the heated pool was a little cool. Breakfast was fine, nothing special, but the price, customer service, and location is all top notch.

Will stay here again and would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dgprouty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here during the winter time which of course can always be interesting in Northern Michigan. The room was very clean, it was in a great location and the hotel staff was very friendly. Wished we could have gotten a late check out- however that is life. Overall very satisfied with the stay I am not looking into returning in the summer.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I would stay with this hotel agin. The room was clean. We had a jacuzzi tub. It was clean and huge.Breakfast was what you expect for a hotel breakfast. The pool was nice. The best part was the beach. You are right on the beach. The water is clear and shallow. Perfect for families to play or couples to relax. We spent every evening relaxing by the bay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Address: 1683 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Traverse City
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing