We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice Rooms- Very Clean- Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms- Very Clean- Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here during the winter time which of course can always be interesting in Northern Michigan. The room was very clean, it was in a great location and the hotel staff was very friendly. Wished we could have gotten a late check out- however that is life. Overall very satisfied with the stay I am not looking into returning in the summer.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    107
    43
    16
    10
See reviews for
103
130
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I would stay with this hotel agin. The room was clean. We had a jacuzzi tub. It was clean and huge.Breakfast was what you expect for a hotel breakfast. The pool was nice. The best part was the beach. You are right on the beach. The water is clear and shallow. Perfect for families to play or couples to relax. We spent every evening relaxing by the bay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Check in was easy, directions to the room were off as she told me to go through the breezeway when the door to where my room was under the breezeway. They also offered to open breakfast early if our team had an early game which I thought was nice. The room was large with a fridge & microwave. The beds were comfortable. The only issue was a slow draining shower.

The breakfast was disappointing, very little there. My son ate it because he didn't have time to do anything else. I went elsewhere to eat.

We had a gorgeous view of the bay from our room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mihockeymom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our stay at the Grand Beach Resort was made memorable because of the friendly staff, large and exceptionally clean rooms. It also boasts 300 feet of sandy beach. We will definitely stay here again!! We chose to bring our friends from Wales to join us in Traverse City. As a result, the are now calling Michigan their "second home".

Room Tip: A ground floor beach fromt room is exceptional because all have walkout private patios in addition t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

There was no way any of us would have stepped in the bathtub. It was stained and torn up. I can't believe that the room was considered rentable. The free breakfast is nice but having only one toaster makes the line incredibly long.

Room Tip: You do not want room 118. Right next to the entrance door. Bad idea on New Years Eve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were planning on being in Traverse City to see a friend and we decided to give the kids a couple of days to enjoy an indoor pool while we did. I called 24 hours in advance and made the reservation for a "family suite," which in this resort is two king side beds in one room which can be divided using a sliding door from the living room / kitchette / seating area in another, double sink area off the bathroom. Bathroom has two doors that close in either direction. Overall, everything that was promised to us was provided, but it didn't hit the "very good" mark for us. FYI - No attached restaurant but there are many in the area and the continental breakfast was fine. The pancakes were acutally good and each member of the family found something they liked/wanted. The room was clean, but not totally to my standards, and the pool was freezing until it was brought to the attention of the staff. Air conditioners/heaters were a little loud for my taste, but did work. Off-season options are limited. Overall cost vs. what we received was average.

Room Tip: If you want the bayside view, understand their is a significant upcharge and the "courtyard&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 48912glb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Luckily my husband and I stayed here during the off season so the price wasn't bad, but there are a lot of issues with this hotel.

There were used cotton balls sitting on top of the wardrobe and the room didn't feel clean at all.

The beds are horrific and I mean HORRIFIC! I tossed and turned all night and felt like the bed had beat me up. I must have woke up 20 times and at one point debated about sleeping on the floor. The next morning, my husband had the exact same complaint! We're in our early thirties and used to outdoor camping so it's not like we need a perfect bed. Upon checking out my husband overheard another women complaining to the front desk about having a terrible sleep as well.

Breakfast was also not good. No hot items.

I was so upset about this experience I felt compelled to write this review.

Would not pay more then $65/night no matter what season it is.

Room Tip: Do not sleep in room 103.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#18 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.5 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Address: 1683 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Beach Waterfront Resort Hotel is one of the finest accommodations on the beaches of Traverse City, Michigan. Grand Beach Traverse City hotel offers an indoor pool, hot tub, deluxe complimentary continental breakfast & many more amenities. We offer a wide array of guest rooms, from large suites accommodating family vacations to deluxe beach front hotel rooms and condominiums with in-room whirlpool spas for that romantic escape, so book your next vacation at Grand Beach hotel today. We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Traverse City
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing