We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had trouble getting a reservation at hotels we have used in the past, so based on TripAdvisor's reviews and availability we settled here. Very nice stay. Good basic breakfast and very attentive service. Lovely indoor pool. Magnificent beach and crystal clear water. Good location. Room (non-view) was fine. The temperatures were unusually warm 95+ and the hotel corridors were pretty tasty as a result. But our room was very comfortable and cool.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qualitylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 365 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

We came from spending two days in Mackinac City and planned to road trip to Traverse City without booking a hotel in advance. I called the Grand Hotel for prices and the first qoute was $139 a night, as I was getting ready to hang up the guy says "what price are you looking to pay," I said around $90 a night. So he lowered his price down to $99 a night and was so helpfull at check in. let me tell you the first price is worth the stay. Beach is perfect, rooms are clean, near alot of cool things.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramirez517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel stay was great and would stay here again...but..the breakfast was HORRIBLE!!! and the pillows were hard and very flat. The bed was great and the room was clean. The hotel was not very accommodating though!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmscotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Nothing wrong with the stay. Just couldn't believe what I paid for the weekend. With all the places to stay in Traverse City choose wisely.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEG586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Great stay..Great Beach with rooms with a view and Great Manager/Host Tony who is hospitable and extremely helpful to the guests. The rooms are great and clean with balconies and some with beach access. Nice breakfast would rate it contental plus since they have made to order waffles. Definitely a great trip fr couples or family. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsHopeandBrianKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The staff was friendly, room (and bathroom!!!) was large and clean . Beautiful beach! Pool was clean and comfortable water temperature. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Just stayed a couple of weeks ago and it was the perfect time...right before tourist season. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are cleaner than most hotels I've been in. I requested extra towels and the desk clerk said they would send them up. A cleaning woman arrived minutes later and brought extra soap, shampoo etc "just in case you need it." That is what I mean about wonderific! The view of the Bay from our balcony was awesome!
It seemed we were the only people on the third floor the first night, but the second night they put someone in the room next to us [which was odd because there were only a handful of other rooms occupied besides ours]. This was good and bad, at least we had a chance to hear the sound proofing of the walls...and it is not good. So no "in season" visits for us..but definitely worth the money and comfort for off season.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
367 reviews
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
3,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1683 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $87 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Grand Beach Resort Hotel is one of the finest waterfront lodging facilities located on the beautiful beaches of East Grand Traverse Bay in Traverse City, Michigan. Greet the stunning sunrise or relax to a gorgeous sunset from the privacy of your own balcony or patio overlooking more than 300’ of sugar sand beach being caressed by the waves of East Bay. This Resort is perfect for enjoying water sports, local shopping, and the best of eateries, wineries and breweries. You can also enjoy the plentiful amenities such as an indoor pool, hot tub, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, fitness center and more to make your stay not only enjoyable but memorable for years to come. The newly renovated rooms offer our guests pillow-top mattresses, a mini refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and in-room safe. From larger suites that can accommodate up to 6 people comfortably, that includes a lovely leisure living area, to more intimate rooms with a king bed and a sofa; there is sure to be a room to fit your vacation or business trip needs. Welcome to Grand Beach Resort Hotel where your search can end and your adventure can begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Traverse City
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing