We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Stay at the Resort it was Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Stay at the Resort it was Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

Our first stay was 3/18/11-3/20/11 I thought this place was excellent! We hd a bit of a mix up with what room I had thought I reserved. I thought the room had a jacuazzi tub, but did not I was a little upset. In a matter of 20 minutes Tony had us upgraded to the room I wanted with not extra charge! It was awesome! Now thats great customer service! our stay was wonderful definitly will be going back :) :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. We are glad to hear that the staff was quick to accommodate your needs. There is nothing more important then exceeding guest expectations, so happy we made a great impression. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    111
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
106
143
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

Third year in a row of staying at the Grand Beach for our annual Traverse City trip. First year was at the Sugar Beach. There is a reason we keep coming back....the clean rooms, the fantastic staff, the great pool area, the location, the view from the balcony. We never think of checking out a different hotel, it's always the Grand Beach for us!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rollerderby34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
We are so happy that we have continued to meet your standards of excellence. Our entire team works very hard to ensure that we are giving our guests the quality that they deserve, and more! We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

Initially I was looking for a national chain to stay in, to ensure we recieved the type of stay we expected. My wife continued looking at diffrent lodging in the area and discovered the Grand Beach resort. I was a big apprehensive, not wanting to risk having a bad vacation staying in a lousy room. After her insistance, and reviewing the site, i finally gave in.

I was more than pleasantly surprised in arriving at the resort. Check-in was very quick, and within 5 minutes, we were in our room. The room was very clean and had plenty of room for my young boys to run around and run off some steam after a long car ride. My only complaint for the room is they still have older tube televisions, and did not offer HD television or a larger flat screen tv. That was not really an issue for us as we spent most of our day on the beach or the many activities around the town, but something i have grown use to with the national hotel chains.

The beach was very clean and well maintained. Due to the beach being a bay on the lakes, the water was calm which my children loved. They were able to play without fear of waves knocking them over.

Since our trip there about 4 months ago, my kids continue to tell me that we are going there again for vacation next summer. I would, and have recommended to family and friends to stay at the Grand Beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brooksaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback, it truly is a gift! We are very happy that your family enjoyed our wonderful beach and serene water. We are glad that your check in process was quick and painless, and that you appreciated our friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you again this summer…we will have the beach groomed and ready for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

We recently stayed in the Villas at Grand Beach. This was an awesome place to stay with a group of girls for our wine tasting weekend. Enough beds, 4 bathrooms, full kitchen and living room with fireplace. Nice place to relax with friends and family with room to sit and chat and sample the bottles we purchased at the wineries.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nieuwcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
We are happy that our luxurious condos made for an excellent home away from home feeling for your getaway weekend. So glad to hear that you had a chance to enjoy Traverse City's fine wineries and were able to sit back and relax in our spacious accommodations. Looking forward to seeing you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed here on a Sunday and Monday on Sept. 26-27, 2010 and got a great rate ($100) since it was not high season and not a week-end. The room was on first floor and right on the beach.....wonderful. I wish we could get that rate every time but I think it is more like $250 to $300 in season.

Breakfast (included) was OK....typical continental fare. All of the clerks and housekeepers were super friendly. It had a wonderful pool and a spa that was nice and ho t..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annika326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We pride ourselves on having not only great rooms, but also a friendly and helpful staff. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our great fall savings on your “wonderful” room. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Excellent staff, located on beautiful beach, with very clean comfortable rooms!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wfe9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2010
Thank you for your “short & sweet” review of the Grand Beach! We take great pride in our beautifully decorated rooms, pristine sugar sand beach and top notch customer service. So glad your stay was memorable and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Grand Beach Hotel in October and again for a week in August. The location of the hotel is perfect, on the beach, nearby dining and the light breakfast is convenient. We stayed for a week in August and noticed a decline in the hotel housekeeping service. We believe daily room service includes more than making the bed and changing the towels. We expect the bathroom to be cleaned and the room vaccumed -- this was not the case. Each day something was missing such as used towels were taken, but fresh towels were not left in their place, fresh soap/shampoo was not left each day, beds were made very sloppy, and dirty glasses were not replaced. We did complain to the front desk and housekeeping came to the room, but the next day the same story, quick making of the beds and switch the towels, the bathroom was not cleaned at all!

At this time I would recommend the hotel, but will hope the management pays close attention to the cleanliness.

BTW -- the staff is friendly and most seem to work hard.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSTWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
Thank you for your review, we consider all feedback (good or bad) a gift. We greatly appreciate our repeat guests, and are thankful that you recommend us to your family and friends. We are also very happy that you let us know what we could do better during your next stay. The Grand Beach Resort is a beautiful establishment, and we fully intend to keep it as clean as possible. Our staff works very hard to make each stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#17 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.3 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Address: 1683 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Beach Waterfront Resort Hotel is one of the finest accommodations on the beaches of Traverse City, Michigan. Grand Beach Traverse City hotel offers an indoor pool, hot tub, deluxe complimentary continental breakfast & many more amenities. We offer a wide array of guest rooms, from large suites accommodating family vacations to deluxe beach front hotel rooms and condominiums with in-room whirlpool spas for that romantic escape, so book your next vacation at Grand Beach hotel today. We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Traverse City
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing