We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Third year in a row of staying at the Grand Beach for our annual Traverse City trip. First year was at the Sugar Beach. There is a reason we keep coming back....the clean rooms, the fantastic staff, the great pool area, the location, the view from the balcony. We never think of checking out a different hotel, it's always the Grand Beach for us!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rollerderby34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

We are so happy that we have continued to meet your standards of excellence. Our entire team works very hard to ensure that we are giving our guests the quality that they deserve, and more! We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 373 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2010

Initially I was looking for a national chain to stay in, to ensure we recieved the type of stay we expected. My wife continued looking at diffrent lodging in the area and discovered the Grand Beach resort. I was a big apprehensive, not wanting to risk having a bad vacation staying in a lousy room. After her insistance, and reviewing the site, i finally gave in.

I was more than pleasantly surprised in arriving at the resort. Check-in was very quick, and within 5 minutes, we were in our room. The room was very clean and had plenty of room for my young boys to run around and run off some steam after a long car ride. My only complaint for the room is they still have older tube televisions, and did not offer HD television or a larger flat screen tv. That was not really an issue for us as we spent most of our day on the beach or the many activities around the town, but something i have grown use to with the national hotel chains.

The beach was very clean and well maintained. Due to the beach being a bay on the lakes, the water was calm which my children loved. They were able to play without fear of waves knocking them over.

Since our trip there about 4 months ago, my kids continue to tell me that we are going there again for vacation next summer. I would, and have recommended to family and friends to stay at the Grand Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooksaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2011

Thank you so much for your feedback, it truly is a gift! We are very happy that your family enjoyed our wonderful beach and serene water. We are glad that your check in process was quick and painless, and that you appreciated our friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you again this summer…we will have the beach groomed and ready for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We recently stayed in the Villas at Grand Beach. This was an awesome place to stay with a group of girls for our wine tasting weekend. Enough beds, 4 bathrooms, full kitchen and living room with fireplace. Nice place to relax with friends and family with room to sit and chat and sample the bottles we purchased at the wineries.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nieuwcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2011

We are happy that our luxurious condos made for an excellent home away from home feeling for your getaway weekend. So glad to hear that you had a chance to enjoy Traverse City's fine wineries and were able to sit back and relax in our spacious accommodations. Looking forward to seeing you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed here on a Sunday and Monday on Sept. 26-27, 2010 and got a great rate ($100) since it was not high season and not a week-end. The room was on first floor and right on the beach.....wonderful. I wish we could get that rate every time but I think it is more like $250 to $300 in season.

Breakfast (included) was OK....typical continental fare. All of the clerks and housekeepers were super friendly. It had a wonderful pool and a spa that was nice and ho t..

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annika326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We pride ourselves on having not only great rooms, but also a friendly and helpful staff. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our great fall savings on your “wonderful” room. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Excellent staff, located on beautiful beach, with very clean comfortable rooms!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wfe9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2010

Thank you for your “short & sweet” review of the Grand Beach! We take great pride in our beautifully decorated rooms, pristine sugar sand beach and top notch customer service. So glad your stay was memorable and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Grand Beach Hotel in October and again for a week in August. The location of the hotel is perfect, on the beach, nearby dining and the light breakfast is convenient. We stayed for a week in August and noticed a decline in the hotel housekeeping service. We believe daily room service includes more than making the bed and changing the towels. We expect the bathroom to be cleaned and the room vaccumed -- this was not the case. Each day something was missing such as used towels were taken, but fresh towels were not left in their place, fresh soap/shampoo was not left each day, beds were made very sloppy, and dirty glasses were not replaced. We did complain to the front desk and housekeeping came to the room, but the next day the same story, quick making of the beds and switch the towels, the bathroom was not cleaned at all!

At this time I would recommend the hotel, but will hope the management pays close attention to the cleanliness.

BTW -- the staff is friendly and most seem to work hard.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSTWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2010

Thank you for your review, we consider all feedback (good or bad) a gift. We greatly appreciate our repeat guests, and are thankful that you recommend us to your family and friends. We are also very happy that you let us know what we could do better during your next stay. The Grand Beach Resort is a beautiful establishment, and we fully intend to keep it as clean as possible. Our staff works very hard to make each stay memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The Grand Beach hotel rooms are as depicted on their website, decorated nicely and fairly clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. Being right on the beach is the best part of a stay here. You can rent kayaks, rafts and other things right from the hotel. The indoor pool is clean and warm and relaxing. And there's a coin laundry onsite so you can pack lightly. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmethystTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Grand Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed all of the wonder amenities that our property has to offer. A friendly and helpful staff definitely completes the package. We look forward to taking care of you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
374 reviews
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,505 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.6 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1683 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $78 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Grand Beach Resort Hotel is one of the finest waterfront lodging facilities located on the beautiful beaches of East Grand Traverse Bay in Traverse City, Michigan. Greet the stunning sunrise or relax to a gorgeous sunset from the privacy of your own balcony or patio overlooking more than 300’ of sugar sand beach being caressed by the waves of East Bay. This Resort is perfect for enjoying water sports, local shopping, and the best of eateries, wineries and breweries. You can also enjoy the plentiful amenities such as an indoor pool, hot tub, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, fitness center and more to make your stay not only enjoyable but memorable for years to come. The newly renovated rooms offer our guests pillow-top mattresses, a mini refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and in-room safe. From larger suites that can accommodate up to 6 people comfortably, that includes a lovely leisure living area, to more intimate rooms with a king bed and a sofa; there is sure to be a room to fit your vacation or business trip needs. Welcome to Grand Beach Resort Hotel where your search can end and your adventure can begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Traverse City
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing