We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!!!”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2007

We took our 11-yr-old son to Great Wolf this week and it was wonderful!!! The staff and service are very "Disney-like" - very nice and helpful - we did not run into one staff member who wasn't happy to be there! Wonderful buffet breakfast at the lodge restaurant, very nice to be able to have access to the waterpark until 10 p.m. The new putt-putt golf course was a nice treat where we enjoyed ourselves. Check-in went perfectly and the room was ready at 1 p.m. when we arrived. It was a little noisy to try to get to sleep with the people above us but that's normal in any hotel setting. I would strongly recommend this to any family looking for a nice night away with the convenience of being able to enjoy water without the weather!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,097 - 2,103 of 2,206 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2007

New to MI and tagged along with relatives to the Lodge. What a great place to bring children of all ages. A bit pricey but worth every dollar! The place offers so many different activities. The rooms were in excellent shape and very clean!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank metrocritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2007

We'd stayed at GWL in the Wisconsin Dells 2x and absolutely loved it. We didn't love the location in Traverse City. It was a 30- minute wait to check in. The entire place looked like they should close down for a few days just to deep clean. The bed spreads and pillows needed to be replaced. The water park is smaller than the Dells. The pool/basketball part was closed when we were there due to an "incident' We probably won't go back-price is crazy!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank avvharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2007

We took our three children to Great Wolf Lodge in Traverse City during Christmas break. I read all of the reviews on this site before we went and honestly, I was a bit nervous about what might be in store for us! I can honestly say that we LOVED everything about our trip and I was so pleasantly surprised at the level of service and great accomodations!

My family and I are "experienced" travelers, and have stayed in hotels all over the country (some great, others far from it) and we all agreed that this one ranked as one of our favorites. The rooms are very large (perfect for a family of five or more!) and the fridge and microwave right in the room was PERFECT! We planned ahead and bought some groceries at the Meijer next door so we wouldn't have to spend a lot of money for food on the premesis (which really, we didn't think prices were that out of line anyway).

Our room was very clean, the beds were comfortable (we were exhausted each night, so we had NO trouble sleeping!) and there are notices everywhere about "hibernation hours" where quiet must be observed. We didn't experience any problems with loud neighbors, but I got the impression that the management was prepared to deal with it.

The water park was wonderful! Short lines, friendly staff and enough to keep everyone busy for two days. The water was a tad on the chilly side, but we expected that it would be since it was January. A dip in the hot tub every half hour or so solved that problem.

This was a great family destination for us. We made an entire week out of our trip to Northern Michigan and saw some of the surrounding sights as well. We all enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this destination to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thelazyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2007

My husband, daughter and I just returned from a weekend getaway at The Great Wolf Lodge. We were so excited to play at the water park. The lodge was not what we expected at all. The water park was very chilly. My daughter's lips were blue from only a half hour in the park. She was shiverring the entire time because of temperature. My husband who works outside in cold temperature also was cold. We only spent maybe 2 hours total in the water park because we were too cold to stay any longer. It was very disappointing because we were excited to play with our daughter in the pool and on the water slides. We couldnt wait to get back to our room to warm up.
The beds were hard, sheets felt like they were starched and the pillows were very uncomfortable as well. We should have brought our own pillows. The noise from children running and stomping above us was irritating. We could not relax because all we heard was people jumping and running from the room above us all hours of the day and night.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank ERRIN74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2007

I am reading some of these reviews and am shocked. It is now our third lodge trip....Niagara, Sandusky and now TC. We are addicted and find it a completely relaxing vacation with 2 boys 5 and 7. I am already working out plans for 2 more trips.
We have had a few problems here and there, but to be honest, no big deal.
Niagara was crazy expensive and we aren't penny pinchers. Their waterpark was the best of the 3 we went to....but we felt nickled and dimed to death. 5.50 for one dippin' dots, ouch. We won't be back there but we will continue to go to GWL's when we can.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank libbyonthelabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2006

We took our 3 year old son, here after a week long road trip. This is where we ended up staying 3 nights at the end of our 2 week holiday. It was like paradise for families. Even from the moment we checked in, the staff were all very friendly. There is lots of great outlet and big box shopping in the area. Also lots of restaraunts and grocery stores in the area, if you don't want to eat at the hotel. We ate at the hotel for most meals, for convienience, but it was a little pricy. We ordered room service the night we arrived and it was very quick and hot. We really enjoyed the HUGE waterpark and my 3 year old son, was able to go on all the slides as long as one of us went with him... (He was able to go on all the children's slides alone.) There is a great adults only hot tub to enjoy also. The snack bar in the waterpark is convenient when you are spending the day at the waterpark. My son also loved the story hour in the evening and the arcade as well. Overall, this was a great trip and we plan on returning every year before the start of school. Plan a stay during the week to stay at a lower rate, but considering the price of the Great Wolf in Niagara Falls (an hour closer to our home) it's definitely worth the extra drive to go to Traverse City. The town is beautiful and clean, and there are lots of activities to do in town that we took advantage of too!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ajoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
5.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
367 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 3575 N US Highway 31 S, Traverse City, MI 49684-4500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#10 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $191 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Lodge
The Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Hotel
Great Wolf Lodge Rates
Great Wolf Lodge Traverse City Mi
Great Lodge Resort Wolf
Great Wolf Traverse City
Graet Lodge Wolf
Gerat Lodge Wolf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing