We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2006

We took my niece and nephew to the hotel and waterpark for a weekend. Arrived at 3pm and got checked in right away. No problems at check in. The room was nice. The bathroom door wouldn't close all the way or lock. Called the front desk and they said they would send someone to look at it, but no one ever fixed it during our stay. The sofa bed was broken, I never bothered to tell them as they never came to fix the door, surely they wouldn't do anything about the sofabed. Other than that the room was nice. Had a big fridge and a microwave, coffee pot, nice tv and a balcony. Water pressure in shower seemed low.
The waterpark was awesome. Seemed very clean. All pools and slides had their own lifeguards and they were very safe. The staff in the pool area was very friendly. The guy working the climbing wall let my niece have over a dozen tries for the price of $5 as no one else was waiting in line. We though all the employees of the hotel were friendly and polite.
A piece of advice though. You do NOT need to stay at the hotel to use the waterpark. It is $15 for a day pass. We have family that live in the Traverse City area and they take there kids there in the winter for fun. So if you want to save money you can stay at another hotel and just come us the waterpark for the day.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank MissMyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,167 - 2,173 of 2,265 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Michigan
13
Reviewed July 14, 2006

Our youth hockey team had a tournament in Traverse City. We all enjoyed our stay. Will return for future vacations and tournaments. Super water park. Rooms were clean with a lot of room.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Grand Rapids, MI
15
Reviewed July 9, 2006

The room was clean had a bigger refigerator than I anticipated. We brought breakfast food and pop, etc. so we saved a ton of money. The balcony was covered with bird droppings which was the only bad point! The pull out coach was better than most... Would recommend. I would only do a day at GWL since it does get old after that day. Traverse is fun so you could spend another day having fun there.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
416
Reviewed July 2, 2006

We love the GWL! A perfect spot for a family vacation! It's a little bit expensive but when your childs face lights up with the talking trees...or as they plunge down a water slide...or sit at a hawaiian luau by the pool, it's well worth it! The spa is a heavenly escape from the noise of the waterpark! The pedicure was probably the most relaxing I've ever had! My ONLY complaint is that the beds are not very comfortable and I don't really see why they didn't put King Beds for tired parents in the themed suites where their is plenty of room for it. But we'll certainly be back for more family fun!

Stayed: September 2005
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2006

We just stayed at the Great wolf lodge and it was a great hotel. Even though it is a little pricey, it is worth every penny. It is a wonderful family destination and offers so much. The hotel was very clean and well taken care of. The staff was friendly and also tells the nightly storytime, which is done very well. The restaurant Camp critter has excellent food and staff (you get free popcorn while you wait). The waterpark is clean (the cleanest we have ever seen) and wonderfully maintained. There is an area for smaller children with water slides and watering pipes. Our son loved it. He could of stayed there all day. The arcade is fun and pretty large with tickets to win and prizes to cash in on. The cub club was just so cute and great for little ones to play and make crafts. Everything closes around 10:00pm except for the little food shop/ice cream shop downstairs. Great for a sweet treat or quick bite to eat. There is also a outdoor pool and small slide area. We didn't even discover that till the second day, because we had so much fun inside. This was a great family vacation and our 4 year old son loved it as well. We stayed in the Kid Kamp room and he had so much fun in his bunk bed. The only thing I can think we didn't like was the water pressure in our shower. I guess it all goes to the waterpark!! :) We will definitely go back and can't wait. :)

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank btlbug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2006

Stayed 2 nights at the lodge. Made reservations online, and got a better deal. The water park was wonderful, lots of lifeguards. Have a 4 and 6 yr old, and felt secure that they were safe. The hotel itself is beautiful. The ice cream shop was good, and decent priced, but the restaurant was over priced for the taste of the food. I do not recommend their whitefish spread!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bantfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Our stay over Memorial Day weekend was thoroughly enjoyable. The water park's water quality was fine. No noisy guests were encountered. Staff was pleasant.

The buffalo herd could be seen — far in the distance — from the lowest-numbered end of the fourth floor, or by following a staff member's directions and driving over.

Dinner in a restaurant in the lodge was tasty, and we thought it was worth the money. Because it was Memorial Day weekend, the hotel was offering an outdoor buffet with hamburgers instead of an-in restaurant buffet. Ordering from the menu remained available.

A Meijer's store is a very short drive from the store and there was a refrigerator in our room

During Memorial Day weekend, Great Wolf Lodge offered several free activities for children during part ofthe afternoon. Among them were bingo, flip flop flip, limbo, decorating hats and little toy ducks, and "coconut bowling." This was a nice break from the very entertaining waterpark.

When we got home, we were disappointed with the quality of snapshots we took with disposable waterproof cameras we bought — one at the lodge gift shop, and a different brand we'd bught at home. Until we arrived at the lodge, we didn't realize the lodge offered use of digital cameras, if a significant deposit is made.

After the free musical show with animated animals and trees, which is in the lobby, one of the employees read a story to the assembled children. This musical show/story reading was free and was scheduled at 10 a.m., 8 p.m. and 9 p.m. while we were at the hotel. The story was different each time.The recorded musical show is identical.

It was announced that, for a fee, bedtime milk and cookies could be delivered to some guests' rooms by a costumed character. This was announced while kiddies were present for the music and story. Thus, parents might want to be prepared in case their children request that they sign up for the milk and cookies.

A morning activity in which, regretably, relatively few children participated is a free guided tour of the lobby in which an employee talks about animals displayed there, which are either replicas or examples of taxidermy — I don't know which. Some of them are a caribou, fisher, wolverine, bears and a whitetailed deer.

Because of oncoming traffic, we were concerned about the prospect of trying to make a left turn out of Big Boy's parking lot to get back to the lodge. "No one makes left turns in Traverse City," we were advised at the restaurant. And so we made a right turn out of the restaurant parking lot and a left turn at a stoplight.

Before we left Traverse City, we drove downtown to enjoy the bay, the Clinch Park zoo train and the zoo. The zoo is scheduled to close sometime this summer (2006). The animal population is down, and no admission fee was being charged. The otter was especially fun to watch. There is a small charge to ride the miniature train. Train rides are to continue until (and perhaps on) Labor Day.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Huskersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
3.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
5.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 3575 N US Highway 31 S, Traverse City, MI 49684-4500
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#10 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $196 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Lodge
The Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Hotel
Great Wolf Lodge Rates
Great Wolf Lodge Traverse City Mi
Great Lodge Resort Wolf
Great Wolf Traverse City
Graet Lodge Wolf
Gerat Lodge Wolf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing