We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mini vacation”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great mini vacation”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Took the 4 kids here this summer, with a big age range we added on the Paw Passes and a Pup Pass for the 3year old. Staff was very nice, our room was not ready when we arrived early but they called me as soon as we could get in. We had booked the Majestic Bear Suite, and really enjoyed having space. As someone said it is smaller but great for a shorter vacation.

Room Tip: Majestic Bear is nice and spacious, but on a previous stay the kids loved the kid cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    566
    281
    127
    80
See reviews for
1,654
22
1
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

GWL is a great short stay for my family. My elementary school aged son and his friend were able to entertain themselves for hours with the MagiQuest wands and adventures. The wands and the games aren't inexpensive, but considering that this allows the kids to rome about the common areas, read, be active and engaged for hours is worth every cent. The truth is that while a few details changed, you're going to be looking at the same few water slides every single day every single time you visit. I really appreciated the alternative of the MaqiQuest adventures when the kids had had enough of the waterpark for the day.

GWL restaurant food is pricey and low quality. This was our third trip and we didn't bother eating in any of the restaurants. We stopped at the local grocery store, when we got to town, for milk and breakfast cereal, microwave popcorn, fruit and drinks. We hit the town for lunch and dinner as needed.

This year, GWL - Traverse City added a Dunkin Donuts in the area off the main lobby. That was awesome! Good coffee. Laughably inept wait staff. You need to see it for yourself to fully understand how pouring a cup of coffee into a styrofoam container is turned into the most demanding job on earth.

GWL Staff, in general, is helpful and responsive. The facility was clean and in good shape.

The kids had a blast and I was able to relax. Good job, Great Wolf Lodge.

Room Tip: Um, this place is for kids....so, not the place for you if you want QUIET. That said, quiet hours a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferndale, mi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a great stay at Great Wolf with our 1-1/2 and 5 year old. They certainly get you for a lot of extras that the kids just have to have, and it's not cheap staying there over the weekend in the Summer, but it was all well worth it. I was surprised at how good all of the food was - including the pizza. We hit it up after a few days of camping about 1/2 hour away, so it was a welcome retreat. We stayed two nights, and could have easily done three. Most likely will do the same thing next year. We had a small issue that ended up being nothing, but when bringing to the attention of the manager, we were immediately upgraded to a loft suite. It definitely earned them another visit from us next year. If you have kids under 15, I definitely recommend. If not, it may not be for you.

Room Tip: Top floor always helps in family resorts as there are a lot of little feet running around and jumpin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phialpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
1,266 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have been to multiple other GWLs and indoor water parks and enjoyed our stay here. This GWL is on the smaller side with only 3 "big rides" but they do have a small outside pool too. I think this location is best for kids 10 and under. The staff was always nice and helpful. Great option for bad/cooler weather or just when you need a day off the beach and out of the sun in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My family had never stayed at an indoor waterpark/hotel before so we didn't really know what to expect. Great Wolf Lodge impressed me. Everyone from the front desk people to the cleaning staff and lifeguards were friendly and helpful. (At one point, my 5yo ran into the hallway from our room, unaccompanied, and the cleaning lady stopped him until his grandfather caught up.) We stayed in the Loft Fireplace room with our family of 7 and there was plenty of room. The sleeper sofa was even comfortable. My one complaint about the room was that the loft bedroom did not get the benefits of the a/c and the ceiling fan's speed couldn't be adjusted.
The waterpark itself was very fun. Everything looked clean and the floors were surprisingly not slippery. The lifeguards were numerous and they were VIGILANT. Their eyes were constantly scanning the water and they did not chit chat while on duty. My 7yo and 5yo and so much fun and my parents (in their 50s) did too. My 2yo was not tall enough to do a whole lot, but she liked the mini slides and lazy river. There's an outdoor pool that is worth checking out if you need a little sun.
I did online check-in the morning of our stay. We arrived at 2pm, two hours before check-in time and our room was already ready. GWL says that you can get into the waterpark as early as 1pm of the day you check in so the access is definitely generous. I paid $35 for a late check-out at 2pm and was glad I did so. The kids played for another 3 hours on the second day, then we ate and packed up. The late time was enough not to rush. You can also swim until 9pm of the day you check out, which we didn't, but I like that you're not being pushed out the door.
We didn't do MagiQuest (although my 7yo was interested), the Spa or the Cub Club. Storytime at 8pm is fun for little kids at least once.

Room Tip: The 4th floor is quiet and mostly removed from MagiQuest players.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, CA
Level Contributor
223 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in one of the Wolf Den rooms and my kids loved the bunk beds, and the semi-private "room" they had. It was such a luxury because they could go to bed and our lights weren't bugging them.
We spent the entire next day on the waterslides. My kids couldn't get enough. My husband and I enjoyed going on the larger slides with them for a few hours. Then we let them play on the structure for a few hours while we sat in the cafe area. We were able to chill out, have a beer, play card games, while the kids went up and down the slides. Such a great idea!
We also ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. They were very good with our gluten free daddy, as well as our kosher grandparents. The food was well prepare, the drinks were mixed properly, and everything tasted great. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msjj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

One of my children has a life threatening food allergy (all forms of dairy) and besides Disney, we have never found a place who caters to kids like my son. We could not have been more pleased with the attention the chef (Greg) or his assistants (Rick and Thom) in preparing my son's food. Each and every meal we received an allergy book (ingredients in all their food items), the wait staff would be advised and Greg, Rick or Thom would come to the table to talk with my son about what he would like to eat. If he wanted something not on the menu, they would make what ever he wanted. In the kitchen they have a separate area to prepare and cook, plus separate pans and utensils, for people with food allergies. After serving my son his food, they would always come back out to see how he was doing and if he liked the food. We felt very comfortable, which never happens since we are unable to eat out with him since there have been mistakes made in the past at other places.
Besides the great detail to our food and my son's safety, we found the place very clean, the room was great (we had a kids cabin) and the water park a ton of fun. The magic quest game was a great addition to the water fun! We are already planning a trip back.

Room Tip: the kids cabin was a hit. There are a set of bunk beds and a single bed inside a small "log ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
5.9 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 3575 N US Highway 31 S, Traverse City, MI 49684-4500
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#10 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Lodge
The Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Hotel
Great Wolf Lodge Rates
Great Wolf Lodge Traverse City Mi
Great Lodge Resort Wolf
Great Wolf Traverse City
Graet Lodge Wolf
Gerat Lodge Wolf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing