We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome family trip!”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 5 from Florida and met my parents at the Great Wolf Lodge.. We were all able to stay in the same room with a loft for my parents to have a little privacy. The room was very clean along with the rest of the hotel. We stayed for 3 nights which any less wouldn't have been enough time to enjoy all the lodge offered. The kids got the Paw Passes, which were well worth it! The Magic Quest was very awesome for the kids, waterpark fun, bowling, putt putt, awesome arcade, ice cream, and so much more! The waterpark was very awesome, this was our favorite indoor waterpark that we have stayed. The only part that was a bummer was there only being two elevators in the center of the hotel! Very high traffic and slow elevators. Overall, the lodge was awesome!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbieSue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,977 - 1,983 of 2,404 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our first time in Traverse City and our first at a Great Wolf Lodge. We invited our son, his wife and their 7 and 4 year old children to spend time here with us. It was a wonderful environment for the children, very safe. Staff were very friendly. The indoor water park was great, especially since one cannot always assume the sun will be shining. And the outdoor pool and water fountain area was also great for the children. The best thing about this place is that there are a variety of activities for children but it is not so large that it is overwhelming.

We found the rooms to be comfortable, because they had a separate area with a couch and desk. The rooms were clean, although we had to request light bulbs some of which were missing when we arrived. Beds were comfortable -- again, I would not have expected such good bedding at a hotel like this.

The food in the sit-down restaurant was really quite good and not over-priced. They had a good selection of children's food and the adult selections were varied and tasty. I recommend the pizza -- what a shock! I never thought pizza in a kids' resort would be good, but it was excellent.

Best of all, Traverse City is just a beautiful town and from this hotel many areas are easy to explore within a short drive by car.

If your children are 10 or under, this is the place for you. If they are older "tweens" or teenagers, I don't think they would enjoy this as the resort targets much younger children.

Room Tip: If you have children, you might want to get a room with a "kids' cabin" in it. This i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ortlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Lots of fun and the kids loved it. The rooms are clean and the building is beautiful!!!! Beds are comfy and bed bug free!!!! Quiet night and great city!! The MQ game was worth the $20. Take advantage of all the place has tp offer!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Visited here with our children and grandchildren. A perfect place for a family outing especially if small children are present. The place is compact yet very comfortable. Extremely well supervised by staff for the safety of children...easy to appreciate. The attractions are varied and interesting. The entertainment package for the kids was well worth the price. Food is good, varied, and reasonably priced. Highly recommended. A good value.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank MojaveMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family stayed at the Great Wolf Lodge in Traverse City as the destination to a round-trip road trip. If you've never been to one of the Great Wolf Lodge locations around the country and if you have children 3-14 years old...this is a perfect place for your family. The waterpark was very large, had lots of different options - indoor and outdoor - and was extremely clean. There were lifeguards everywhere that seemed to be genuinely looking out for trouble and not just making a paycheck on their summer off school. I saw them cleaning after hours and it was nothing short of sanitizing EVERY SURFACE from top to bottom; pretty impressive considering the size of the facility. Other than the water park there are other game areas, a good restaurant (we ate there two times and had good food and great service each time; not crazy overpriced...about what you'd expect at a resort like this), kids story time, etc. Overall, I was totally impressed with the staff, the facility itself and the location in northern Michigan. Not far from the resort is the downtown Traverse City area with tons of cute shops, restuarants and parks with wonderful views of Lake Michigan's Grand Traverse Bay...don't come to Great Wolf and forget to go downtown; it was worth a day of its own just to walk the shops, the lake, etc. The price of the lodging is steep, but not when you consider all that the lodge has to offer. The only downside I could really find is that four our very little kids (2 1/2 year old twins) the water park portion isn't as accessible as it is for older kids. There were really only two areas (one inside and one outside) that our kids were big enough to play in....but, still, our toddlers didn't know any different and had a great time! I would recommend this lodge for families of young-to-tween aged kids.

Room Tip: The room that we stayed in (and I presume most or all of them) have the sink outside the shower/toil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewfiePupLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We took our 4 year old and 1 year old for the weekend to the Great Wolf Lodge and they had a blast. It's a wonderful establishment. The waterpark is a kid's wonderland and they also have kid bowling, an arcade, miniature golf, and other awesome activities for the family. Critter Camp restaurant was OKAY. The breakfast buffet was kinda gross- dry eggs, not many options... I wish they had another restaurant to choose from in the hotel. We had the Wolf Den room and our 4 year old loved her bunk beds. Cleanliness was OKAY...there was some urine on the toilet seat when I first used it so the maids had not cleaned the toilet from the previous guests. I should have called and complained but didn't. But that was it. Everything else was great and I recommend this hotel to any family that is looking for a fun weekend. Don't forget that Traverse City has a lot to offer too! Stay at least 2 nights to take advantage of all that the lodge has to offer! And they offer a late check out at 2pm for an extra $35 and it was worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs.Tort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Went for 4 days and 3 nights with our daughter and son-in-law and grandson. The standard suite was plenty of room for our group. Everything is geared to a family fun experience. Very clean and well staffed. Can't say enough about how good the lifeguards and pool staff were. We had a great vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
5.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
3.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
3.5 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#30 of 40 in Traverse City
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
5.2 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
373 reviews
3.6 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#17 of 40 in Traverse City
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 3575 N US Highway 31 S, Traverse City, MI 49684-4500
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#10 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $190 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Lodge
The Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Hotel
Great Wolf Lodge Rates
Great Wolf Lodge Traverse City Mi
Great Lodge Resort Wolf
Great Wolf Traverse City
Graet Lodge Wolf
Gerat Lodge Wolf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing