We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We had fun.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
East Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“We had fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Spring break prices are almost offensively high. At almost $400/night we could have stayed almost anywhere.

Then again, the slides are fun for the kids, the facility is expertly managed (service was great!) and the lifeguards are paying strict attention (something to which I pay keen attention).

It was clean, in good shape and everything was great. The price is what brings down the rating for me.

Also, quiet hours aren't until 11pm. Our suite was near the front lobby, so we had incredibly loud kids running by in the hallways until 10:59:59. If we go again, we will request a room as far from the main lobby as possible.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the main lobby. Our kids (6 & 8 years old) were kept awake by incredibly lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suydam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    464
    218
    109
    66
See reviews for
1,204
15
1
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shepherd, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed here overnight for a quick getaway. Long line at check-in, but they moved us through pretty quick. We had chosen to upgrade if available when I reserved online, so we were given a 'wolf den': queen bed with separate bunk bed area for the kids. There was also a pull-out couch, which my 12-year old took advantage of part-way through the night, because the bunk beds were so uncomfortable. The room was nice -- clean with a small fridge. The bathroom was tiny, though. Sink was in a separate area from the shower and toilet. The bedding on the bunk beds consisted of one thin blanket and sheets that would not stay on the bed. My six-year-old ended up sleeping on the bare mattress most of the night. There is also a balcony with chairs -- a nice idea if it didn't look directly out onto the parking lot.

The water park is fun, if fairly typical. It is not Kalahari, with it's many water slides and huge wave pool. But it has the usual activity area with smaller slides and bucket which periodically dumps water; a cute area for little ones with zero entry; hot tub; basketball area; lily pad area; and 3 big tube slides for 1,2,or 3 people. My kids enjoyed it. Older kids might get bored more quickly. In addition there is a Cubs Club with games and crafts, something called MagiQuest, which costs extra and we did not do. In summer, there's a mini golf course, and there's both a spa and a kid spa.
We had breakfast at the restaurant on site. The buffet is good with lots of options including an omelet station. Also a shout-out to the chef, who came out to discuss possibilities with my husband, who had a dairy allergy. They were very accommodating and we appreciated it. Our waitress was great, too.

We enjoyed our stay here. I just think that for what you get, it is on the expensive side. We have been to the Soaring Eagle Water Park in Mt Pleasant, which is almost identical, but quite a bit less expensive. And we stayed at Kalahari for less as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cox2mjShepherd_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have stayed at this resort several times a year for the past 4-5 years. It is consistently excellent. They leave no detail unaccounted for when thinking about kids. Our kids are now 8 and 10 and have absolutely wonderful memories of the GWL. The water park has something for every age group. The restaurants serve quality food at a fair price, and our kids love the breakfast buffet. The arcade, craft area and mini-golf provide lots of things to do if you get tired of the waterpark. The MagiQuest game is fun for everyone, and get the kids physically active running around the resort too! Our kids love story time every evening, getting fresh baked cookies and milk delivered to our room right before bed,

Room Tip: Go at Christmas time - Snowland is amazing and Santa's visit is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoreenB340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

rooms are nice, water park is cool and spa is wonderful! the aveda services are awesome. ask for michelle. also, there is starbucks in the sweet and treat shop. the magic quest/harry potter activity is a little out of place for a lodge though.

Room Tip: wolf den is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We decided to take the kids to another waterpark this year since the last park fell way short of our expectations. Having been to this one already, we knew it would be a great time and we were not at all let down. We went after the spring break rush and saved a fortune so we could enjoy other aspects. We stayed in the Kids Kamp Suite as we wanted to try something different than what we have stayed in previously. The water park was great as always and love how well the lifegaurds are so attentive to make sure that everyone is having a fun/safe time. I would suggest that you take the offer with doing the Jr. Lifegaurd Program as well as it is very informative and shows how much the lifegaurds know and do to keep everyone safe. They are also in the process of renovating so I am looking forward to another trip next year. I would suggest to anyone staying here, that you try to go during the week as it is less expensive and the waterpark is almost completely vacant. We did the week after spring break and there were virtually no one in the water park and it was relatively inexpensive. They also usually have a coupon that helps with cost as well. For the best overall experience and if you saved some money like we did, I would suggest doing the Paw Pass as it gives even more things to do with the kids and is worth the money spent.

Room Tip: Most rooms are good but may suggest an upper floor as then you don't have to listen to kids runn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ttwpff45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very expensive for what you get. They do not tell you whether it is on line, when booking or if you call the lodge for information before showing up, that the outdoor facility may close be closed "for financial" reasons depending on the day. 82 degrees outside and the outdoor pool is closed. Really? Unless you ask that specific question.. you are not told. Indoor water is green and the cholorine is so heavy your eyes burn without even getting in the water. Bathrooms are small. We had to make two service calls one for the TV in the Kid Cabin (not a cheap room at all) and the toilet that kept over flowing. Finally just left the hotel (with the toilet over flowing).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 634CS634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Took my 5 year old and 3 year old here for spring break. Very expensive during spring break! Its 150.00 less now than it was a week ago when we stayed. We stayed in a Wolf Den. Cute set up with bunk beds for the kids nice little balcony. Bring your own pillows though. Sat down on our bed and found a MagiQuest wand under the sheets. Not impressed with that at all. Hotel was completely booked but at night was surprisingly quiet. The waterpark was a blast. My kids loved it. Ate at the restaurant, very nice breakfast and friendly staff. Went to the Scoops salon with my daughter, outrageous prices. Played in the arcade, also spent a lot of money there. Overall it was fun and we will be returning but defiantly not during a holdiay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyb203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
3.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,394 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 3575 N US Highway 31 S, Traverse City, MI 49684-4500
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#10 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Lodge
The Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Hotel
Great Wolf Lodge Rates
Great Wolf Lodge Traverse City Mi
Great Lodge Resort Wolf
Great Wolf Traverse City
Graet Lodge Wolf
Gerat Lodge Wolf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing