We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish every city had biking trails like this”

Traverse Area Recreation and Transportation Trails
Ranked #11 of 113 things to do in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Traverse Area Recreation & Transportation (TART) Trails is system of paved and dirt trails for walkers, hikers, bikers, skaters and skiers in Northern Michigan. Trails are open year-round and available for many users and uses. Many of the paved trails offer access to local breweries, wineries, coffeehouses, restaurants and other area attractions such as lakes, river and beaches. Many of the dirt trails offer world class mountain biking and hiking opportunities for users of various skill levels. Numerous area bike shops offer rentals for any type of technical or recreational riders. Dogs are also welcomed on the trails and must be leashed and cleaned up after.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wish every city had biking trails like this”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We rode about half the trail, starting mid-point and riding north into Sutton's Bay. The trail is smooth, in great shape, and runs through peaceful countryside. This is a wonderful amenity for the area. We also rode the new 5 miles from Glen Arbor to the Dune Climb. That's a really pretty ride as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CSFMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    20
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a great walk or bike trip with a view of the bay.”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I decided to rent a bike and leave from Cherrybend road to Suttons Bay on Mother's Day. I encountered a detour while the trail is being finished to Sutton's Bay. I discovered for the first time in 30 years just how breathtaking Leelanau County truly is with it's farms, vineyards and horse ranches. I now have rediscovered Northern Michigan with a deeper appreciation for my home. I love the little market just outside Sutton's Bay where I was able to rest. My goal is to bike the entire trail by next year with an ergonomically correct bike to reduce sore muscles. We are blessed with the best outdoor nature trails for pure exercise. Only in Pure Northern Michigan. I also walk and bike the trail on 5 mile where a view of the bay for half the pay is physically and mentally rewarding.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank B W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron River, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good city trail”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We rode the trail on a Monday and wasn't quite so busy. It was easy access from the Americinn motel as we had to ride to the rear of parking lot to get on trail. We enjoyed the trail as it went along Grand Traverse Bay. The only problem we experienced was the detour in the downtown area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveO73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“move your legs and enjoy the scenery”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

as first-time city bikers, we enjoyed the diverse trail, which meandered through town, and the waterfront. would have liked the trail to be more clearly marked -- the path is painted over asphalt or concrete, and several areas are in need of fresh paint. perhaps markers similar to park paths (on wooden posts) would help "newbies" ... ???

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SmokieBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Visiting the TART”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

TART or Traverse Area Recreational Trail. Tarmac path, mostly traffic free. Bike Hire Shops beside the track.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Norfolkseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traverse Area Recreation and Transportation Trails also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Traverse Area Recreation and Transportation Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing