We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for 6 Marathon runners!”
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Traverse Bay Inn
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
ferndale, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for 6 Marathon runners!”
Reviewed May 29, 2008

All these bad reviews scared the crap out of me, but considering the good ones, the slim pickens on rooms because of the marathon and high season in TC, and our needs (to sleep 6 economically and close to the race, I choose to take the chance.

Im glad I did! We split the $400 for three nights fee between the six of us. What a bargan! The room was not sexy our luxury, it was comfortable and had great utility. It had a full kitchentte stocked with dishes, toaster ect. We made half our meals in the room and went out for half. The staff was friendly.

If your looking for housing for a group for bayshore next year, or any other local sporting, or outdoors event, check this place out.

  • Liked — Price, location, had everything we needed
  • Disliked — futon was terrible, if you need to use it, bring a blow up mattress to top it. It worked great as a couch though
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tvrockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    73
    13
    9
    11
See reviews for
72
109
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

We stayed in one of the 2-bedroom jacuzzi suites (#107) for 3 nights in July 2007, and had a very good experience. Centrally located along a main street in Traverse City, it was roomy, very clean (housekeeping staff gets 5 stars), and insect-free. It had a living room w/sleeper sofa, kitchenette, bathroom, and 1 King bedroom on the first floor, and a really nice jacuzzi tub in the Queen bedroom upstairs. Free bicycles & beach chairs were available for guests. For $149/night, it was a very good value. Having said that, there are a few things that need to be addressed - the stairs were very steep and narrow (about 8" deep, barely enough to get your foot on), making the ascent a little tough, especially during the night. The bathroom (there was just the one, downstairs) had to be the smallest on record, barely enough room to squeeze into, small tub, & no place to put toiletries. Surprisingly missing were staples taken for granted at other places- hairdryer, iron, pen, paper - just small things, but noticeable, and items you'd expect for this price. The air conditioning units were high up on the wall - I had to stand on a chair to reach the knobs. One thing, too, that should be mentioned - the website shows a young woman wading through the water, kind of giving you the feeling that this motel is lakefront. It's not - you must cross the road to get to the beach. All in all, though, Traverse Bay Inn was very nice, and the staff courteous and friendly.

  • Liked — cleanliness - the place was spotless!
  • Disliked — crowded, small bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank prosperous&abundant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

Booked directly on their web site. The confusion came from the fact that there are actually two motels -- Traverse Bay Inn, and Traverse Bay Lodge -- with the same owners. Their web site needs to make this crystal clear, which it does not. When we made our booking, I assumed we would be staying at the "Lodge" with the indoor pool. We got there, and no, we had to go two miles up the road to stay at the Inn. We had a 6-year old boy with us who was very disappointed. The Inn has an outdoor pool, but we were there in October. They offered for us to use the pool at the Lodge, which would have required us to bring a change of clothes, drive two miles, etc. When we got into our room at the Inn, it was very small and cramped, and we had to call the desk to get a blanket for the fold -out futon. (The night manager at the Inn had already left.) Also, on the second night, there was a group of women up all night very loud next door. Thin walls. The Lodge (where we didn't stay) appeared nice from the outside. The front desk manager at the Lodge, although sympathetic to our dilemma, was not very helpful in helping us find another place to stay with an indoor pool. She merely handed us a phone book for us to call around ourselves. Their web site (I have been back since) does show two different places, but by virtue of the type of room you may request, beware! You could end up at the Traverse Bay Inn. It is nothing more than a motor lodge with thin walls and a tiny kitchenette, and without an indoor pool, definitely not worth the price we paid in October -- $100/night. Should have stayed at the Days Inn!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank designerevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCMichigan, owner at Traverse Bay Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2007
We were sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience. We have no intention of misleading anyone with our web site and in fact have made some changes to the site since October because of these comments. We can understand your disappointment and remain committed to always do our best to make each and every stay special for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 10, 2006

I was meandering through the subtle terrain of the west michigan coast in my ex-husbands caddilac just exploring and having a wicked fun time by myself. I made it to traverse city and i needed a place to stay and relax and hang loose for a couple days. I saw the hip looking FUN sign and I knew I found my place. I had THE BEST TIME. The room was cozy and spacious and the interesting young man at the desk gave me a lot of neat "underground" info about the area. thanks handsome ;)

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.8 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#29 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traverse Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traverse Bay Inn

Property: Traverse Bay Inn
Address: 2300 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3756
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Traverse Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Traverse Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traverse Bay Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing