We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Traverse Bay Inn
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
North Hollywood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I booked this inn through Expedia, and was pleasantly surprised with this place. It was cozy and had a down-home, neighborly feel that I rarely find anywhere. The room was great, but the hospitality was exceptional. Jeff was friendly and helpful, and I'd definitely stay here again. I highly recommend this location!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Punchy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    73
    16
    10
    11
See reviews for
74
111
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamar, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. Very friendly staff. Clean rooms, and always sufficient towels. You can make your own meals in the kitchenette,and also use the grill by the pool area. Really nice to save some money. The pool is great, sunbeds are comfortable, and the jacuzzi is HOT. We really enjoyed our stay, and will be back here our next stay in traverse. We stayed 2 week, and had to Switch suites a couple of times. All suites were really Nice. We will make sure to book early next time.
Hamar, Norway.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Joern B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We tried to check in about 3:10 pm. No one at the front desk for 10 min., and then only after 3 phone calls (2 getting answering machine). After checking in we had to wait almost 20 min. in tiny lobby for room to be cleaned. We were exhausted from travel, and this was a bad start.

Our room was clean but very small. One bedside table only, no chair in which one could sit and read. Tiny bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Istemewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, West Austr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

After a very looong trip from Perth, Australia I was looking for a quiet, clean, comfortable location for a few days to catch up on sleep and change time zones before I send an extended vacation with my family and young grandchildern. Traverse Bay Inn was perfect, the owners very thoughtful and the accomodation all I could have asked for. I would not hesitatie visiting again and recommending to others,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed at the Traverse Bay Inn on a recent trip to Traverse City, and was very happy and very pleased with my stay. I was in the 2-bedroom jacuzzi unit, and everything was quiet, clean, and neat as a pin. Easy to get to everything from there, and close to TART and the beaches. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We are staying in a 2 BR unit with our 3 kids - 2 teenage boys & a 9 year-old daughter. We couldn't be more pleased for the value, location, amenities & cleanliness. The staff are helpful, there is laundry on-site. The small kitchen allows us to cook meals in the unit. We have used the gas grill multiple times. The pool is clean & much bigger than I expected. We love being able to use the hotel's bikes for rides on the TART trail, which is right behind the hotel. Grand Traverse Bay is across the street - the beach is very small, but we had a great time swimming. The water is clear, clean & warm. We will definitely stay here again!! The only negatives would be...bathroom is very small, and it's on a busy street that is pretty noisy.

Room Tip: 2 BR gives us plenty of space for family of 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eadraper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

For the price, this place is excellent value. We were in a two b/r unit and it was very, very clean. There were ample towels and they provided pool towels also. The only negative was that the upstairs room was very hot and the air-con was quite noise (as noisy as any hotel air-con!)The hotel is within walking distance to some restaurants and fun parks (mini golf etc), though there is NO sidewalk. There is a beach opposite the hotel but it is not really accessible due to reeds and swamp but 2 miles up the road is a great, safe beach for kids. Highly recommended hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KelTreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
209 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
374 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
351 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#25 of 40 in Traverse City
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traverse Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traverse Bay Inn

Property: Traverse Bay Inn
Address: 2300 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3756
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Traverse Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Traverse Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traverse Bay Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing