We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Australia to Traverse City”
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Traverse Bay Inn
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Perth, West Austr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Australia to Traverse City”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

After a very looong trip from Perth, Australia I was looking for a quiet, clean, comfortable location for a few days to catch up on sleep and change time zones before I send an extended vacation with my family and young grandchildern. Traverse Bay Inn was perfect, the owners very thoughtful and the accomodation all I could have asked for. I would not hesitatie visiting again and recommending to others,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    73
    17
    10
    11
See reviews for
74
113
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed at the Traverse Bay Inn on a recent trip to Traverse City, and was very happy and very pleased with my stay. I was in the 2-bedroom jacuzzi unit, and everything was quiet, clean, and neat as a pin. Easy to get to everything from there, and close to TART and the beaches. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We are staying in a 2 BR unit with our 3 kids - 2 teenage boys & a 9 year-old daughter. We couldn't be more pleased for the value, location, amenities & cleanliness. The staff are helpful, there is laundry on-site. The small kitchen allows us to cook meals in the unit. We have used the gas grill multiple times. The pool is clean & much bigger than I expected. We love being able to use the hotel's bikes for rides on the TART trail, which is right behind the hotel. Grand Traverse Bay is across the street - the beach is very small, but we had a great time swimming. The water is clear, clean & warm. We will definitely stay here again!! The only negatives would be...bathroom is very small, and it's on a busy street that is pretty noisy.

Room Tip: 2 BR gives us plenty of space for family of 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eadraper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

For the price, this place is excellent value. We were in a two b/r unit and it was very, very clean. There were ample towels and they provided pool towels also. The only negative was that the upstairs room was very hot and the air-con was quite noise (as noisy as any hotel air-con!)The hotel is within walking distance to some restaurants and fun parks (mini golf etc), though there is NO sidewalk. There is a beach opposite the hotel but it is not really accessible due to reeds and swamp but 2 miles up the road is a great, safe beach for kids. Highly recommended hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KelTreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brimley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I was in Traverse City for a week long conference. I decided to stay at the Traverse Bay Inn based on the excellent reviews on trip advisor. Everyone was quite right, this place is wonderful. Very, very clean and well kept up...staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant. My stay there was very comfortable and convenient (the kitchenette with a full size fridge, range, microwave and sink allowed me to eat more cheaply and much more healthy). Any time I am heading down to Traverse City, I will be staying here! Thank you for such a great experience; I felt safe and comfortable and the price was very reasonable...what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollyw520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

We arrived early and they made the extra effort to get the room ready immediately. Staff and owner are great. I agree with other reviews that a room away from the road is best. My only complaint is that the bathroom is small and has no place to hang more than one towel. I still plan on coming back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed there 11 and 12 June 2012 in two different rooms. It's not like a hotel, it's like being at home--assuming your home is quiet, clean, and comfortable. One room style had two double beds upstairs, and the master bedroom downstairs. The second style had the master bedroom and the guest room separated by closet space providing a nice sound barrier between the rooms. The staff is great, and very personable, much like really good neighbors. It's close to most everything, right across the street from the waterfront, and next to the trail which leads down town.

Thanks,
Rex

Room Tip: Rooms 111 and up have the second bedroom upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank REX C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
210 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
376 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#25 of 40 in Traverse City
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traverse Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traverse Bay Inn

Property: Traverse Bay Inn
Address: 2300 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3756
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Traverse Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Traverse Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traverse Bay Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing