We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Place!!! VERY CLEAN!”
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Traverse Bay Inn
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Having a kitchenette(stove/oven, fridge, toaster, coffee pot, microwave and dishes.) is great. It was soooo clean. Even a gas grill if you want to cook out. Outdoor pool was wonderful. We are going back real soon. Already made reservations. They are open year round so that is a PLUS. The owner is sooo nice and the cleaning crew was so pleasant to talk to. I've not stayed in a nicer room. And, best of all, the prices are good. There were 2 TV's in our room (1 Queen bedroom) what a plus. All you need to take here is your food and clothes. Only suggestion, is lawn chairs by rooms. We LOVED staying here!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denisejune16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Traverse Bay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 256 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights based on positive reviews for our 19th wedding anniversary.. We were not disappointed. We stayed in a suite that had 2 bedrooms. One bedroom had a jacuzzi tub which was very nice. The suite woudl have been large enough for at least 4 people, complete with a small kitchen. The bed was very comfortable!!! One thing we really enjoyed was using the bikes and riding along the wonderful bike trail. We took several long bike rides. The inn is also in a nice location where you can walk to different restraunts. We can't wait to come back with our boys so they can enjoy the bike trail and all of the nearby attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banjoman32147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Would like to say how pleasantly surprised I was. I booked the room in the morning for that evening. The room was the least expensive and I apologized to my husband for what we might find, justifying that "all we need is a bed and a shower." Had a bit of a problem finding it, even with a GPS (operator error I'm sure) but my husband was tired from driving and just wanted to get there. The owner (I assume) was very kind and helped me feel better about taking my husband on a wild goose chase. Upon entering the room, the first thing that caught my attention was that it smelled of stale smoke but we got past that quickly. It is a bit dated, but was stunned by it's spaciouness I really like the fact that is not one of those
cookie cutter chains with paper thin walls. We could have easily slept 6. Television in both bedrooms and the sitting room. The lay out was great with the downstairs bedroom at.the back away fom the parking lot. We had dinner with family from the area and they were stunned at the deal we got. We will recommend this place and definitely stay here again when we come to town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Junebug087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed here over the July 4th weekend and loved it! We were extremely lucky that there was a cancellation. We had our 9 lb dog with us, but I am always leary of dog friendly hotels because of cleanliness and smell. My dog is totally trained and doesn't shed. This hotel was so clean that you would never know it was dog friendly. The manager (who was at the front desk) was so nice and helpful. The pool area was clean and nice also! Location was great too-about 4-5 miles from downtown area, on the same road.
We will be back to stay there soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We couldn't be happier with our recent 2-night stay. Our anniversary excursion to visit the wineries on Old Mission and Leelanau landed us in Traverse City. This also happened to fall during the annual Cherry Festival, when Traverse City is FULL, and reservations were hard to find as we planned our accommodations in late June. Securing the last available room at the Traverse Bay Inn was PERFECT for the two of us! Our upstairs "studio" room was clean, quiet, and looked out over the peaceful small wood behind the Inn. The staff was friendly, attentive and professional. The included kitchenette allowed us to enjoy breakfast without having to venture out, and being slightly removed from the downtown area made our stay relaxing and stress-free. We DEFINITELY will return, and HIGHLY recommend the Traverse Bay Inn to everyone staying in or around Traverse City.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordon391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

My wife and I decided to take a trip up to Michigan to visit the Sleeping Bear Dunes and we selected the Bay Inn due to it's low price and favorable rating on Trip Advisor.

We were happy to have some time alone without the kids but were elated to find a great hotel that would have been great for the entire family. The pool was very nice and we had a stove, microwave, refrigerator and table and chairs that would serve as a great base of operations for excursions in and around Traverse City. The hotel also offers bicycles for it's guest to borrow for small trips around the hotel and down to the beach.

Jeff the owner/manager was very nice and even helped us find a great local restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swoopdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We recently stayed here on our mini vacation to the Traverse City area. We have two small children, so we really liked the idea of a suite where we could put the kids in a separate room. The price (especially the midweek one) is very reasonable for the space you get. It felt like a small apartment as opposed to a motel room. The staff here is very friendly and you can tell they care about their guests.

There are a few things you should be aware of before booking. The main one is due to the fact that the facility is a little older, the doors/walls are not very sound proof and voices and/or cigarette smoking from outside the door travel in easily. Our bedrooms were in the back so it wasn't a huge issue, but it was noticeable in the living area which was up front. There is also a slight odor of mustiness that is probably due to the fact that the facility (and perhaps the carpet?) has been around for awhile. It is not overpowering but is noticeable. They have made a few updates, especially with the TVs which are flat screen. The one upstairs even had a built in DVD player.

The bedrooms are good sized but the bathroom is quite small. There is no storage in the bathroom but there was a large storage closet across from the bathroom where you can keep your toiletries. The kitchen area was well stocked. The only thing we had to buy besides food was paper towels.

The beds are comfortable and have white duvets as opposed to the dated comforters you see in the pictures on the website, which was a pleasant surprise. Our duvet had a few spots that looked yellowed, which may have been from bleaching as I feel that the cleaning staff works pretty hard. The bathroom and tub were clean.

All in all, if you need space and function over luxury, as we did, this is the place for you. I feel like the mid week price is a bargain and the weekend rate is a little higher than it's worth, but that it averaged out over our stay. It fulfills an important need for groups/families on a budget and I'm glad it is there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MIMom2Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
380 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#26 of 40 in Traverse City
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traverse Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traverse Bay Inn

Address: 2300 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $70 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Traverse Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Traverse Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traverse Bay Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing