We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
44
26
17
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
26
17
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfortable condoliving roomplace to staypull out bedheated poolprivate beachdowntown tctraverse city areaunitsummerbaymichigan
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 95 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2010

I've been going to the north shore in for as long as I can remember for the cherry festival. what a pleasant hotel, the beaches scenery is so beautiful it almost makes me cry. the pool is fun to take a dip in after a nice ride or walk around Traverse cities downtown area, and I always have a magnificent time with my family. I love to just look out the window at the sunset over lake michigan, its just so spectacular. (please excuse my spelling)

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Michigan_girl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We just got back from the North Shore Inn and found our stay to be mostly pleasant. There aren’t many places on the bay that have a beach, kitchenette and heated outdoor pool so this place certainly does hit all those marks. The two things which could be improved upon are their private beach and the smoking that goes on around the property. Their beach is somewhat lacking, not so much in size but that it’s really succumbed to the marsh grasses growing around the place. Once you get beyond them it’s really not all that big of a deal but other beaches around the bay look a lot better and feel more comfortable. The Inn seems to pride itself on being smoke free, however there is plenty of that going on between the main office and the guest rooms. It's especially annoying since the staff/cleaning staff partake in it. So much so that even when they're gone the area still smells of cigarettes. The rooms are nicely decorated and the kitchen has it all. The condo is cleaned ever day, but it’s a light cleaning. I don’t think the vacuum ever goes underneath the beds and the pull out sofa looked pretty dusty under the cushions. Management needs to remove the returnable bottles that accumulate behind the office more often as it makes the place look a little shabby. When we were there, a large stack of six packs hung out for the whole week.

All in all I would consider going back since we didn’t mind too much putting up with the minor annoyances, however, perhaps only after we try out the other places that offer a beach, kitchen and pool as well.

Otherwise, Grand Traverse Bay and the surrounding area was awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfmChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Great location right on the beach. Stayed in two bedroom two bath unit.. lots of room , clean with a capecod theme and close to town. will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2008

very nice place to stay We stayed in the two bedroom two bath
room .very clean great view of the bay I would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank grandma5978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed at the North Shore Inn in July 2006 (see previous review "A Delightful Place to Stay," at http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g42758-d258360-r5908374-North_Shore_Inn-Traverse_City_Michigan.html).

I gave it the same overall rating for this visit but we're not quite as satisfied as we were last time. We had one additional traveler with us this time, so we booked a third-story two-bedroom unit. All of these units have two levels. The first floor has the kitchen, a small bathroom with shower, living room, bedroom, and private balcony. The second floor is a master suite, with a large bedroom, large bathroom, and its own private balcony.

The other descriptions from the earlier review still fit but there are things that just didn't sit right on this trip (or maybe we overlooked from the 2006 stay):

1. This property, and most others in the East Bay area, is right on US31. That road must have more traffic on it than two years ago because we noticed the noise a lot during this stay.

2. The beach is as we remember but seemed lacking this time when you realize how narrow it is right at the waterline.

3. North Shore claims they have WiFi. They do, just don't expect to use it from your room. We had to go outside and stand near the stairwells to get a usable signal. Sometimes, the best signal was from the hotel next door (Pointes North Inn). Another guest, who saw me near the stairwell, commented that she had spent hours on the phone with Dell's tech support because she assumed something was wrong with her computer.

4. The first-floor bedroom is tiny. At least one dresser drawer in each bedrrom was broken and unusable.

We will try another property the next time we go to Traverse City.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TrafficGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews