We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mediocrity at it's finest.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City, MI

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City, MI
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocrity at it's finest.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel last night. We were planning to stay in Traverse City for only the day, but decided to stay overnight at the last minute. This hotel had an open room for $169.00. The lobby was nothing too impressive, and the elevator was, well...disgusting. The room was clean (mostly.) There was a stain on the decorative linen that was on top of our comforter, and we had a mystery wet spot on our carpet for the duration of our stay, but our bed was comfortable and our bathroom was clean. The T.V. was small but good quality, and we slept great on the mattress.
The staff was very helpful. After leaving the downtown area at close to 1 a.m. they directed us to the best place where we could get a pizza delivered at 1 in the morning, and looked up the phone number for us.
In the morning, we went down for the breakfast and were very happy with the selection. There was an area where you could make your own waffles, cereal, muffins, toast, hard boiled eggs, chocolate and white milk, apple and orange juice, as well as several other breakfast staples.
The location was great, minus the fact that it is very difficult to turn left out of this hotel. However, it's not for from anything and it's within walking distance of a Wendy's, Hooters, and the best mini golf course we have ever visited (They also have a ropes course, go karts, bumper boats, and other attractions). It is across the street from the lakeside hotels, and we could see the lake from our 3rd floor room.
All in all, it was a good hotel for a one night trip that we booked on the fly. When we go back though, I think that we will be selecting a different place to stay. It was not worth the $170.00 per night price tag.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandgeek239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    29
    26
    15
    18
See reviews for
23
47
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

It used to be super 8 motel. Did not seem to change anything but the name and doubled the price (obviously!) It would be acceptable to stay overnight but not much longer. Pretty much everything is old, outdated, and dire need of renovation and cleaning. The carpet in the elevator is encrusted with dirt! The room keys do not work properly. The bathroom small and needs update badly. The plastic bathtub making cracking sounds when you move is a major shame! The towels are smelly. Housekeeping is pathetic. One of the days they forgot to clean our room... The bottle screw cup that I dropped on the first day was sitting under the desk, next to trash basket for 4 days. At the same time, the envelop for tips with the housekeeper handwritten name (classy move!) was updated regularly... Need to put their act together. Not coming back and do not recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxapmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

There are not a lot of options in Traverse City, on a Saturday night, in August, at a reasonable rate. I discovered this when I needed to be in the area for work and needed to find a room just a few weeks in advance. However, reviews from my trusted TripAdvisor community helped me feel comfortable about making a one-night reservation at the Boarders Inn (for $169).

As mentioned, this used to be the Super 8. I never stayed there when it was the Super 8; but the Boarders Inn website says "Newly Renovated!".

Here's what I liked: The bed was comfortable, clean, with updated linens. The room/bath was clean. The staff were all friendly. Hot waffles were part of the continental breakfast. AC unit worked great.

Here's what I didn't like: The common area carpets were not clean, and the elevator was particularly banged-up and messy. The staff (though friendly!) were not particularly professional; one wore a ripped and stained "uniform" while manning the front desk. There were industrial garbage cans in the hallways without lids, apparently for guest use. Really expensive for what you got (but probably market rate for TC on a summer weekend).

Here's what I didn't mind, but you should know about: The room furniture (desk, chair, tables) were very worn/banged up and definitely not part of the "renovation". No mini-fridge or microwave in the room. The AC unit is noisy. Traffic noise too, at least if you are on the front of the hotel. There is now seating for more than 8 (mentioned in a prior review) for the breakfast; maybe 8 tables?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StreamGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We traveled a little further than planned and had to hunt for a room. Many hotels in the area were full. We took the last room available here. The hotel staff was helpful and accommodating. The room only had one light and the bathroom light had a bad ballast and flickered. The room furnishings were very sparse. We had to settle, but if other options were available, I would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was previously a Super8 so I was a bit concerned. But the room was clean and the staff was friendly. The rooms are smaller and simple, but they have seen some updating. It was a very hot day and the AC worked very well. They also have free breakfast and wifi (although it seemed a bit on the slow side). It's on the main drag so traffic is high and it can be a challenge to turn left when leaving. You also have several restaurants that you can walk to both to the left and right, along with a small amusement park (putt-putt golf, water slides, go-karts, zip line, etc.) There's also a walking trail right behind the motel. The only negative was the room phone didn't work and didn't get repaired during our stay ... but I consider that a minor issue.

Room Tip: We selected a top floor toward the back to minimize the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe49424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our trip to Traverse city was a last minute decision, and there wasn't much available in affordable hotels. The price for 5 nights here was very reasonable, so we were worried that it might be a dump. Turned out to be clean, friendly, newly renovated, with a very comfortable king sized bed and flat screen TV. No pool, only 3 pieces of equipment in the exercise room, and not much selection at the free breakfast, but we didn't expect much more for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed there because we needed last minute lodging for a wedding. It was during the first weekend of the Traverse City Cherry festival and of course everything was booked up or extremely pricey. We found this hotel available and was able to book it for about $150/night with tax. The staff was extremely friendly and the male coworker helped in our suggestions on the "local" places to go for the best local wine/wineries. We checked in at noon and figured we would have to come back later but our room ended up being available. I can say that it's not top of the line but it's not crappy or gross either. It was very clean, the continental breakfast was good and fresh, and the rooms were extremely comfortable. I think once they finish with the renovations, it will be a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenferosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
2.4 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#29 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme – Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City, MI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City, MI

Property: Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City, MI
Address: 1870 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3746 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City, MI 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City MI hotel is conveniently located near Cherry Capital Airport on Highway 31 N. Located in northern Michigan; Traverse City is right across from Grand Traverse Bay and many outdoor activities like swimming, fishing, hiking and more. When you book a room at our pet-friendly Traverse City hotel, you can look forward to free amenities including continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking for any sized vehicle you arrive in. We also offer 24-hour front desk service, handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms, as well as whirlpool or fireplace suites. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Whether you want to spend the day outside on the bay, enjoy breathtaking views, or browsing charming small-town shops, our Traverse City hotel location delivers. Fish or cruise the waters of Grand Traverse Bay, or relax with a stack of magazines on beaches like Traverse City State Park. With the waterfront in view, check out the exhibits at Grand Traverse Lighthouse, or hike or bike Traverse Area Recreational Trail. During the winter, go snowmobiling on Boardman Valley Trail. If you love to shop, explore unique shops on Front Street in downtown Traverse City or the 100-plus stores in Grand Traverse Mall. If you would rather tee off, get in a game of golf at Mitchell Creek Golf Course. You will find plenty of restaurants near our Traverse City, MI, hotel. Find casual dining at Fire Fly, or try pub food and pints at Mackinaw Brewing Company, both in downtown Traverse City. Get a quick bite of Chinese food at Golden Chopsticks or, if you have a taste for Italian, go to Trattoria Stella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City, MI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 - Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Super Eight Traverse City
Traverse City Super Eight
Traverse City Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing