We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a few days in TC”
Review of Parkshore Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parkshore Resort
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a few days in TC”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We went up to Traverse City for a few days to get away and Parkshore Resort was the best price compared to the other hotels in the area. Staff was friendly and helpful and for the most part the hotel was clean and well kept. Being on the beach was a big plus with the temperatures well into the 90's on both days we were there. Nice hotel for short getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auzigirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    90
    49
    26
    26
See reviews for
76
113
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The beach was very clean and the sand was nice. Our room had a partial view of the beach but what I didn't like was a kind of noise at night. I guess it was from the fans or I don't know but I could barely sleep. The room did not have e microwave and I didn't like that especially if you have kids and they want to watch a movie and have some popcorns. The couches in the room were dirty and I felt so uncomfortable seating on them. One day we ate at the lounge of this resort but there is a long wait time and I did not like the food that much.The pool was kind of small and it seemed dirty.
I gave an average review just because of the nice beach it has.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mistate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Loved being on the beach. The water was great and so was watching the sunset from the beach. We parasail while we were there and the place was located right on the beach in front of the hotel. The rooms were ok - not great and not bad -just average. The pool was nice. I could have sworn when I booked it that the breakfast was free but that wasn't the case when we got there. If you go there be sure to pay the extra $$ to stay on the water side.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port huron, mi
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our room had been redecorated and was very nice. Location at end of hall was not a partial view room as Advertised. Canopy blocked any view there was. Balcony was way to noisy to Sit on with party on patio and traffic noise. Good air conditioner. Beach was well kept. Another stay would find us in bay front room. We missed the continental breakfast that was offered previously. Nice to have coffee and tea in lobby. The price was right!

Room Tip: Our room was suppose to be partial view of bay but due to large canopy by our room we could see noth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonelle3917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Beach - We found the beach to be very nice on our arrival, but we noticed an issue as we went through each day. Numerous Boats & PWCs were anchoring right in the swimming area.

To be clear, these were NOT the rental boats available on site, these were private vehicles that had simply moored in the swimming area. At one point during our stay 6 boats were all anchored within 25 yards of the beach. Imagine trying to swim on a small private beach and having to navigate around 6 boats along with their anchors, lines, & buoys!

Laying out a couple of swimming buoys would go a long way to helping out the situation.

Rooms - The amenities listed are all provided and the mini-fridges are excellent for drinks and food. The view from our beachfront room was spectacular.

The room was clean and surprisingly quiet when the balcony door was shut. The carpet was a bit dirty, but that seems to be the case with nearly all beach hotels.

The WiFi was a bit spotty but they also provide a wired connection via ethernet for your PC.

Food - The onsite lounge had some very nice drink specials and the food was very good. The problem in the lounge was the wait for food on both occasions we visited was VERY long. Over 45 minutes each time.

On the other hand the entire menu was available for Room Service and the night we ordered to the room the wait was only 10 minutes??? Pleasant surprise.

Rating Good - Overall I would rate the hotel 'Good' but tripadvisor says 'Average' or 'Very Good', so I went with Average.

I will probably return and see if the beach situation was an anomaly. Otherwise a very nice property that has one of the best locations in TC.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 1st floor across from the elevators and lounge area, seemed rather noisy and lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freqman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times , right on the water , has a great little bar . The rooms and the hallways need to be updated !!!! carpet in room and hall was old and dirty . Room and bathroom /tub , chairs in room , phone all looked somewhat dirty . Might just be a housekeeping issue ... With such a beautiful view , it has so much potential ......

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boogieshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Parkshore Resort a few weeks ago and it was a wonderful trip. The Parkshore Resort was very accomidating to all of our needs and we will definitely be back! The rooms very in fair condition and the breakfast was very resonable. Traverse City has always been a favorite of mine and I am so glad that I finally got to take my girlfriend. She really enjoyed our stay as well. Hoping to make a trip back to the Parkshore this summer and rent some jet skis while soaking in the sun!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
351 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Beach Haus Resort
Beach Haus Resort
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkshore Resort

Property: Parkshore Resort
Address: 1401 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3636
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkshore Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkshore Hotel Traverse City
Parkshore Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing