We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to visit even if you aren't a wine drinker!”

Chateau Grand Traverse Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the first family wineries in Michigan, the O'Keefe family has been producing world-class quality wines on Old Mission Peninsula since 1974. As the pioneers in growing vinifera grapes in northern Michigan, their mission is to create expressive, classic-style wines while incorporating sustainable growing practices in their 125 acres of estate vineyards plus 60 acres under contract. Chateau Grand Traverse continues to define the Michigan wine industry with their award-winning Riesling wines as well as many other styles. The winery is open daily, year-round, offering wine tasting and free wine tours.
Findlay, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to visit even if you aren't a wine drinker!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stopped at this winery on our last trip to Michigan. The Fall Foilage views were breathtaking.
The winery has a wonderful gift shop which includes wines, jams and other great gifts.. Sampled the ice wine here...and yum yum...!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    62
    12
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The employees were wonderful & knowledgable. Excellent selections. We enjoyed ourselves. Other patrons were very friendly and made the experience memorble. Bought two bottles!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 324hourtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Heaven in a bottle!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great winery!! Samples of wine are free (6 free tasting samples) after that they are charged. Samples of different mustards and jams they sell. Great gift ideas and awesome selections of wine. There is this one they call the flavor Christmas in a bottle and let me tell you they are right. Perfect for the holidays!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Not big wine drinkers but the views were incredible. Enjoyed taking pictures and viewing all the grape orchards.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gziggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fall Wine Tasting”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very crowded on this fall weekend, however the staff had it very organized and I felt we had the time we needed to taste the wine. So many good selections. I will be back to this winery. This was our first one of the day and the one I enjoyed the most.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeymom95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Grand Traverse Winery also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Chateau Grand Traverse Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing