We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great selection of beer”
Review of 7 Monks Taproom

7 Monks Taproom
Ranked #17 of 304 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: We're a dynamic craft beer bar with an ever-evolving draft list with 46 draft options. We offer local food, local people, & a local experience. Children are welcome before 9pm. Full-service bar.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great selection of beer”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

7 Monks has a huge selection of beer on tap! Great atmosphere with both a bar area (self service) and booths. Our table shared the steak nachos and they were delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank db1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    106
    24
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“decent bar, but midnight close isn't”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stopped in for a beer or two but arrived around 11:30 to find that it closes at 12:00 on weeknights. bummer - only time for one quick one. Good selection, nice decor, staff seemed ok. Wish we could have enjoyed it more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restandrelax84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

All in all, I found the 7 Monks Taproom to be relatively unremarkable. I suppose that I am spoiled by living in Grand Rapids and having options like HopCat, the 3rd best beer bar in the world. However, there was nothing unacceptable about 7 Monks.

It was completely packed on a Saturday night, and we had difficulty finding a seat. There was no hostess, which meant that we had to meander the length of the building searching for a table on our own. Our server was competent and as efficient as I would expect for a completely packed house.

There was a decent select of beer, and it was priced just slightly above what I would expect craft brews to be priced compared to an establishment like HopCat. The food was unremarkable, and the pizza was rather small.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Freemajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Great comfort food, but they need a host(ess).”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I'm a TC local and have been to 7 Monks several times (at least 6 times). They have great comfort food (try the Mac and Cheese) and an impressive beer menu.

The problem that I have with 7 Monks is the seating arrangement. The tables at the back are full service, however they are first come first serve. If all tables are full you have to lurk like a vulture and grab the first one that opens. If you've been waiting a while and lose a table to someone who came later than you but got to the table first, tough luck.

It would seem to my simple mind that this problem could be eliminated with a hostess and a system like every other restaurant has.

I really like the modern-rustic decor and the servers are very nice. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyHHHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great beer selection; decent food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Obviously, you're there for the beer. The food is pretty good too. We had the soft pretzel - I liked the truffle oil, but otherwise it wasn't anything special. We also split a salad; nothing special. The sriracha-maple wings were the highlight of our meal. They had the perfect level of heat!
Next time I might try their bacon-wrapped dates and maybe a pizza.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KBJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7 Monks Taproom also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to 7 Monks Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing