We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee, music, atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brew

Brew
Ranked #43 of 295 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Brew is an independent cafe and coffeehouse located at 108 E Front Street in Traverse City, Michigan. Brew offers customers a wide variety of delicious beverages, including coffee, tea, espresso drinks, microbrews, local wines, and seasonal drinks, along with pastries, grilled sandwiches, soups, salads, wraps, vegan, vegetarian, and gluten free menu options.
Traveling
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great coffee, music, atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Having lived 7 years in the pacific northwest, I know a good espresso drink from a bad one. And I've had nothing but good ones at Brew. Most places in the Midwest don't know how to do an espresso drink, but here they do.

I always get the Cobb salad, terrific bargain, a huge salad with avocado, marinated olives, lots of blue chese crumbles, and of course egg, lettuce and all the rest. A good meal for around $8 I think it was.

The music is never irritatingly conventional, always interesting. Lots of people hang out with computers, read, have business meetings, or meet friends in the back where there are living-room type chairs, sofas, and lamps.

Service has always been very good. Lots of young energy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Savannac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    35
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good coffee, great space, decent sandwiches/salads”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Liked the coffee - good gourmet selection; poseidon melt (tuna) tasty; vegetarian wraps and chicken pecan salad just so-so; service friendly enough; great beer menu; terrific space; spotless bathrooms; family friendly; great atmosphere - you will want to hang out here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Acornart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
290 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

While this place serves both beer & coffee, that's really all it's good for. But don't bother stopping here because any of the drinks you can get here you can get elsewhere in Traverse. I got a locally brewed beer & it was decent. But we also ordered chips & salsa thinking it was going to be freshly made or something other than freakn' Pace Picante!!! Not that I hate Pace, but come on, this is a restaurant, not an expired jar of Pace in the back of my fridge that I decide to eat with some stale chips while watching a game. Everyone here is very snooty and thinks they're high & mighty. Don't let the atmosphere fool you. It may look like a cool place, but it's anything but.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for coffee or beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stopped by this place for lunch, late night drinks, and morning coffee during our visit to Traverse city. Brew has pleasant customer service even when busy, which it did get. Their coffee is intoxicatingly rich. In fact their coffee reminds me of Intelligentsia coffee; one of Chicago's best coffee shops. One of the gracious workers even got us hooked on a dirty chai, which is a chai tea with a shot of espresso. They also have a nice selection of local beers on tap such as from Short's Brewing. I had a veggie wrap there, which was bland and just ok. However for amazing coffee and good beer this place is worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great quick breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Excellent Latte and scone. It was blueberry and lime - wasn't sure but it was wonderful! My husband had the cinnamon roll and it was very tasty also.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank StephanieP6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brew also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Brew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing