We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

This was the first staying at Sugar Beach Resort. And we can't wait to come back! We will bring our kids and grandchildren next summer and we are already booked our rooms. Rooms were clean and it was nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Also free Internet. We stayed in a room 214 facing the beach and loved it. Beach was very clean and they had plenty of chairs. We were able to rent a pontoon right there on the beach for the afternoon, which was very nice, convenient and not pricey. Great family or couple resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank racenmom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2010
It is always pleasant to hear that our guests are already looking forward to their next vacation at the Beaches. The boat rentals and parasailing are amenities we are very proud to offer and it is exciting to hear that people are enjoying it! We look forward to making your next visit with the whole family just as memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    100
    46
    23
    9
See reviews for
123
106
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

Great location. Nice sized deck looking over beach and water. Great room decor, fridge and microwave. I would definitely return and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gr8smiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

The Sugar Beach Resort was wonderful! My husband and I took our Honeymoon here in May 2010! We origionally book with the Holiday Inn in West Bay, but once we got there we left! Sugar Beach was AMAZING!! The staff was excellent, they went above and beyond for us! We will be going back! The rooms were very clean, the beds were so comfortable we had a hard time getting out of them in the morning! The view of the East Bay from our room was GREAT! We could open our door and we were right on the beach! There is a game room for the kids or even the bigger kids like my husband, there is a pool table, and a clean pool, and hot tub. Everything was so convienent! There are a few resturants within walking distance and everthing you need is within a few miles. There is a free Shuttle to Turtle Creek Casino every few hours in the evenings! Turtle Creek Casino was Beautiful! Please if your going to Traverse City choose this hotel you will be happy I promise!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blissalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

We were greeted by Zach upon check-in, who was friendly, helpful, and even went out to my vehicle to get the plate # since I never memorize it. Our room was immaculate and spacious. Breakfast was a typical hotel continental, but it was well-stocked and had a full-time attendant to keep it clean. No complaints at all about this hotel. Would come back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanderbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan 48316
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

Staff unfriendly and not helpful. Our room was not touched during our 2-day stay. We asked for more towels and never got them. Pillows were cheap and matted. You can hear people walking above you and the hallways were terribly noisy. If you're looking for a place to relax, this is not the place. And at $235 a night, it's a real rip. "Check out our great rates" on their marquee has to be a joke!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillikens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

Don't be suprised when you get your final check-out Bill. A Local Assessment of 2% is added in addition to the State Sales Tax. One would think they would tell you this at the time of booking a reservation but they do not.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singlemom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

We were driving up to Mackinac Island from Chicago, and since there isn't really any beach access on the Island, I wanted to try to find something beachy as well as to break up the driving time. We arrived at Sugar Beach and were very pleasantly surprised. I originally reserved a courtview room, but when we arrived, I asked for a beach view/access and we got room 120. It was perfect, as the kids could go back and forth from the room and beach, my parents, who also traveled with us, could sit on the shaded patio area and enjoy the view. Me and my husband sat on the beach with our feet in the water! it was a nice way to relax after being in the car for 6 hours! The room we stayed in was beautiful and clean. It had a nice living area, with a pull out couch and tv. The bedroom had 2 true king sized beds with a TV and the bathroom was clean and there were plenty of towels. The room had a small fridge and microwave. The bathroom setup was nice as the toilet and tub were separted from the sinks, so more than one person could be in the bathroom area. The staff did a wonderful job keeping the beach area neat and clean. We were fortunate enough to be there midweek, so it felt like we had the place to ourselves.
There is also an indoor pool, but I'm not sure what kind of temperature they kept it at, but it felt like a giant sauna, which for me is not comfortable. The kids enjoyed swimming there, so as long as they were happy, so was I.
There was also a continental breakfast with ready made belgium sized waffles, plus cereals, fruit, milk, etc. Perfect for families.
Since we only stayed the one night, we didn't venture far into town. The hotel's location is perfect as there is a Ruby Tuesday and a Chinese restaurent across the street, as well as a Pirates' Cove mini golf. Just beware crossing the busy street!
Other that the busy crossing, my family loved this hotel and a happy family makes for a happy mom!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScrappingMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
3.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Property: Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing