We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slipping a little”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“slipping a little”
Reviewed March 28, 2009

We have stayed here a couple of times a year. This time the housekeeping and general cleanliness of the room was lacking. Fold out couch had dirty sheets / blankets on it. Garbage laying around the room; also dusty / cobwebby like it hadn't been cleaned in a while. Even while we were there the room didn't get vacuumed the entire stay (2 nights). Disappointing, as we had a little bit of food in the room, so it was obvious. The pool is still nice; lots of families with kids. Room 220 is a suite with king bedroom but right next to the breakfast area; nice view but loud early in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawnla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    105
    46
    23
    9
See reviews for
129
111
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

We found the Sugar Beach to be a nice choice for visiting Traverse City.

The beach is fantastic and the hotel is clean.

Appx 1-2 miles from downtown shopping and close to the wine regions on the peninsulas.

Cons:

1) Noise level from hallway and other rooms running water are issues (Can wake you up if you are a light sleeper.)
2) Our bed was a little soft

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Beds - Noise from hallway and water in other rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiave08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2008

This was a great place to stay for the the weekend. We enjoyed the early morning breakfast with great coffee. The hotel rooms were fairly large and clean. My only complaint is that the balcony could have used a good cleaning due to all the bugs that had found a place to die. Other than that the hotel staff was freindly and the grounds were well kept. A balcony on the bay was a beautiful way to see the sun rise & set. We will be back but you might want to request your balcony to be cleaned prior to your check in.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Dirty Balcony
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pillowsoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

After being shafted by another resort just down the street, my husband and I drove over to the Sugar Beach hoping to find an open room. Not only did they have a room for us, but gave us the same rate that the other hotel was supposed to give us! We had a WONDERFUL beachfront room with a balcony overlooking the bay! We sat out on the balcony with our glasses of wine and watched the boats. It was beautiful! I can't say enough about how friendly the staff was, how clean and efficient the maids were, and the FREE continental breakfast was superb! We really had a wonderful time and will go back to the Sugar Beach, for sure!

  • Liked — The balcony, the jacuzzi tub, the workout facilities, and the staff!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGreenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

We stayed at the Sugar Beach for a weekend in March. Seeing as it was March and an extremely cold weekend, we did not use the beach. We had just spent a couple days at Avalance Bay so our boys were not interested in a normal swimming pool. We chose the Sugar Beach because my husband and I had stayed there when we first started dating (10 years ago) and really enjoyed it.

When we made our reservation the staff was very friendly and accomodating with the number of questions I asked. We are traveling with a 1 1/2 year old and almost 3 year old. I changed the reservation more than once and did not have any problems at all.

The room looked OK and was clean. However it was on the first floor facing the beach and smelled extremely musty. My husband has severe mold allergies so that is something we try to avoid. Based on that smell alone I don't think we will be going back to the Sugar Beach again.

Many people rave about the Waffles at the continental breakfast. They are OK but really it is one poor girl with 2 waffle makers trying to make breakfast for a room full of people. Having something hot is a nice touch but it doesn't allow people to get in and out quickly if they have to wait in the line. After the first morning we opted to get breakfast elsewhere.

In reality all we needed was a place to sleep. We had lots of other activities planned so we knew we wouldn't be in the hotel much.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank miwyldkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We spent three nights this week during Cherry Festival in a large third floor suite in the Sugar Beach Resort. We found it to be a beautiful hotel, situated on a lovely, well-kept beach. The hotel common areas and rooms are very well-kept, service was friendly and responsive (they even allowed a last minute change to our reservation), breakfast was great, and our family loved the amenitites (beach, pool, game room, onsite laundry, etc).

The only real issue was that we stayed in a non-smoking room on the third floor (which, as it turns out, is a contradiction-in-terms). Since the third floor is the only floor where smoking rooms are located, the smoke coming from those rooms was unavoidable. It seeped into the common areas, the air conditioners, and into every corner of our room. We washed all of our clothes in the laundry facility before we left, be even so, the content of our suitcases (even our cosmetic bags) reeked of smoke after we unpacked them at home.

Great hotel. Non-smokers avoid the third-floor at all costs.

  • Liked — attention to detail
  • Disliked — non-smoking room reeked of smoke
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank randers_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2008

This was a very nice hotel in an excellent location. There were a number of beachfront hotels next to each other that allowed for a nice long walk on the beach.

There was a parasail and boat rental right on the premises.

I'm not sure I would get a room on the first floor beachside. Too much traffic from all of the beach goers.

As was mentioned in other reviews, the internet connection was not very good. Probably should've left the laptop at home anyway!

The cleanliness of the room and maidservice was just OK. We had to ask for fresh towels and toilet paper.

We would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rpmkces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,071 reviews
3.7 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
281 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Property: Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel is situated on over 300' of the sugar sand beaches of East Grand Traverse Bay leading into the gorgeous waters of Lake Michigan and is as sweet as the name implies. Fully renovated in 2017, Sugar Beach Resort Hotel gives you the perfect location for local eateries, wineries, breweries and local shopping as well water sports right on the beach. The pillow-top mattresses ensure a great night’s rest and the view overlooking the bay while you enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast simply cannot be beat. Included in every guest room is a mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and personal safe. After a day on the town relax in our heated hot tub, take a dip in our indoor pool, or work off the day’s indulges in our fitness center. From larger suites that can accommodate up to 6 people comfortably, that includes a lovely leisure living area, to more intimate rooms with a king bed and a sofa; there is sure to be a room to fit your vacation or business trip needs. Welcome to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel where your search can end and your adventure can begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing