We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Tub for Two” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Utica, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Tub for Two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were very pleseantly surprised when we arrived at Sugar Beach as we had booked what we think was the last available room in the city at the last minute! It was very nice looking and clean and our room was very spacious with a seating area with a TV as well as a TV by the bed. The tub for two was a great plus though it took A VERY long time to fill the tub! It has a fantastic beach area to sit and drink some wine in the last days of fall. The indoor pools and sauna was nice for unwinding at the end of the day as well. The service was excellent. We had one small issue of our own doing and it was taken care of immediately. I will consider coming back here in the summer when we can enjoy the beach for swimming as well!

Room Tip: Get the Honeymoon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    99
    45
    23
    9
See reviews for
119
106
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mighigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent place to stay. Rooms are very nice & super clean. No need to go out for breakfast as the continental breakfast is wonderful. The rooms are a little pricey, but we stayed only one nite & they took a senior citizen rate ... But we had to ask. All in all it is a beautiful place to stay & the people were soooo kind & gracious.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyzmema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Booked online so we were a little nervous. When we got there, we were greeted warmly, given directions to our room through a breezeway connecting the buildings and heading to the beach. Our room was very clean, but the shower could use a little extra work. It was a walk in, not like the tub surround. King sized bed with queen sized pull out and large balcony. Bar frig, microwave and coffee maker. Tv was definitely old school. Average continental breakfast but we went to a local restaurant for breakfast and it was good. Lots of restaurants, some right across the street. 10 minutes from Grand Traverse Mall. Lots of downtown shopping. The beach is combed daily but towels, etc were not picked up and disposed of for 3 days. The water only goes up to your knees for quite a ways. Rentals at the beach for sea-doos , etc. Would have given this a 5* except for the breakfast and beach cleanup. Definitely going again though !!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the upper level and away from the elevator. Go to a grocery store for snacks and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_360063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway Sept 13th-15th. Check in isn't until 3pm, but we were leaving for a wine tour at 12:30pm and called ahead hoping to check in before we left for the tour. The front desk and housekeeping was very accommodating, stating that our room would be the first room that they cleaned once the previous guests checked out. We got there a few minutes before noon, and our room was ready!

We had a King room with a Jacuzzi, facing the "courtyard" (parking lot). I thought this might be an issue with noise, etc. but we never heard anyone else, from the hallway or outside during our entire trip. The room was very clean and the Jacuzzi was huge! A very nice bonus to be able to relax in the Jacuzzi in our room instead of having to go to the pool room. There was also a mini fridge and a microwave in the room, which was nice for keeping and warming up leftovers from the night before.

The free breakfast was nice, it was fairly busy each time we went down there, but everything was promptly refilled, and everything seemed very fresh and tasted good.

It is about a 5 minute drive to downtown.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Although we weren't on the beach, we went and sat on the chairs and walked out on the dock one m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TropicalTraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We cancelled our stay at the Grand Traverse Resort and spa as it was so disappointing and we were so poorly treated and we came upon this hotel. Staff were ecellent, rooms very decent, views stunning! The rates were fair and included a good breakfast. Everyone very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston-Tx
Level Contributor
333 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

What we can expect from hotels like that: standard comfort, nice price, nice breakfast (all we need and a more!), friendly, nice area...and on.
We had a terrible night before and run from an &B in Sutton Bay to Traverse City. After a extraordinary dinner a wonderful night in a comfortable bed, bathroom, plus a nice breakfast. The beach was gorgeous!Thanks guys!

Room Tip: I am not going to go again to some B&B if I can have a clean, quiet, comfortable room and not pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celita Louback W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My two sisters and I all spent a "girls NIGHTS out" at this beautiful hotel. We just returned from a three day stay in Traverse City, MI. This hotel deserves a PLUS for being so accommodating and clean. We asked for extra towels and they were in our room when we arrived. The beach is beautiful, the scenery awesome. You can sit on your deck which has a table and chairs to eat or snack. The shower was wonderful and the pool is beautiful. The breakfast was also a plus and the fresh fruit bowl very healthy. Very polite and professional service by the staff. All I can say is, "I can't wait until my next visit to Sugar Beach Resort.". The old mission peninsula is breathtakingly beautiful and restaurants nearby are great.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redheadn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
3.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Property: Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing