We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I booked into the Sugar Beach hotel for a brief stay in Traverse City. It is a beautiful place with views onto the beach for those lucky enough to book beach side rooms. The rooms are clean and spacious and breakfast is included.

Room Tip: book a beach view room. Ground floor rooms open up onto the beach
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 358 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have stayed at the Sugar Beach Resort twice and the Grand Beach resort once...the beach is one of the best in the area, large, smooth with no grasses .... there are plenty of loungers and the water is very calm - you can walk for what seems like forever and be only knee deep...the Resort is clean, the location is wonderful and the service is good, especially the front desk who were friendly and knowledgeable...staff is great at keeping the beach clean and rake it every morning and replenish the towel lockers consistently...We preferred the rooms with a sofa as opposed to a jacuzzi as they are a little older in model and appearance...the views facing the beach were beautiful and I would really recommend getting a room that does not face the parking area, it is definitely worth the extra cost..we initially stayed on the bottom floor but realized that there isn't a lot of privacy for these rooms as there is no sheer curtain only solid so we moved up to the top floor - these bottom floor rooms are great for families that need to access their rooms frequently from the beach....breakfast buffet is pretty basic with no on site restaurants for dinner...highly recommend Amical and North Peak Brewing Company for dinner,...the Pierce Stocking Scenic Drive is absolutely gorgeous and definitely not to be missed...we also enjoyed the dune climb nearby.... leelanau states park has a hiking trail that looks like a scene out of the movie Twilight which opens up into a white sand beach with beautiful water that is secluded and breathtaking...wouldn't stay anywhere else in Traverse City!

Room Tip: choose a room facing the beach on the upper level if not travelling with children
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fllipflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I spent a weekend at the Sugar Beach Resort recently. I had a 2nd floor king bed room, with a full size couch. The room has a nice sized balcony with a full view of the bay. The balcony comes with a nice table and two chairs, but of course, didn't use them.

The room iss very nicely decorated and everything was in good shape. I loved the color scheme of blue and green with white furniture-made it seem like a seaside escape in New England. The desk size was just right, the armoire was huge and provided a lot of storage space for clothes, shoes, and other essentials. I did find the closet section a bit small, esp for 2 or more people. The TV is not a flat screen, but it worked well, as did the remote. There is also a DVD player. The bed was very comfortable and there were good and bad pillows..hotels just can't seem to get the pillows right. Linens very nice; towels good. Bath products were average. I really liked the completely tiled shower (no bathtub), water pressure perfect. Extra sink in the room, as well as the mini-frig and microwave. Everything worked well-lights, plugs, remote, TV, heat (a little too well on the heat-I did have to adjust it several times), locks, doors, hair dryer, alarm clock.

I found the place rather quiet, was expecting more noise from the number of children I saw in the pool! I didn't check out the breakfast, so cannot comment on that. I did check out the pool area and it seemed very clean and up to date. Lobby is very nice with different seating and a fireplace. Service was very friendly and housekeeping was excellent. Parking lot was full. Good location on East Bay.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We used Priceline and ended up staying at Sugar Beach Resort for a night. It is in a nice location, close to many popular restaurants. It is also maybe 10 minutes away from Turtle Creek Casino and 15 minutes from the mall.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanchia39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I had stayed here a few years for an anniversary trip in February. It was everything we wanted for our special weekend together: It was quiet, private, and it made us feel like we were the only ones at the hotel. Fast forward a few years and it is now our destination for our son's hockey tournament. Again, it was everything we wanted for that weekend, even though those things were completely different from our anniversary weekend. The customer service was incredible, from helping us get set up for our dinner in the breakfast area, to ensuring that our rooms were clean and stocked with towels and toiletries. Both the parents and the kids had a great time here!! If you are looking for a hotel that can accommodate large groups, I highly recommend working with Jamie. She is fantastic!! If you are looking for a quiet get-away as a couple or as a family, you still can't go wrong here. Sugar Beach Resort is a place that takes great care of its customers!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanderbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed as part of a hockey tournament weekend. They were very accommodating to all of the families. The breakfast buffet was very good: cereals, hard boiled eggs, granola, yogurt, pancakes, fruit, bagels, breads, coffee/tea/hot chocolate and lots of juices. Better than what I've experienced at other places. The view from our room (main floor with a slider to a cement patio) made me want to return for a summer time trip. The rooms were clean and included a DVD player which was great for the kids.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank see-the-trip-sights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Sugar Beach Resort hotel. Our room was on the 2nd floor, and the balcony and view were definitely the highlight of our stay. It was very quiet and relaxing in our room and we rarely heard any other guests. The service was great and the bed was comfy! We did not have any major complaints. We didn't try the breakfast, so I can't comment on that (we like to sleep in on vacation!).

There were a few small things that we didn't care for: we were charged a "resort fee" but there really wasn't any benefit to us as we visited during rainy weather and all of the beach chairs and sports equipment were already stored for the winter, so I'm not really sure what that fee was for. The TV had a terrible picture and the TV cabinet made a loud clunking/knocking noise any time you walked past it. Other than that, no complaints!

Room Tip: Worth the extra money for a view of the water! Also if you are planning to take the casino shuttle...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
356 reviews
3.7 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#26 of 40 in Traverse City
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,256 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $91 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel is situated on over 300' of the sugar sand beaches of East Grand Traverse Bay leading into the gorgeous waters of Lake Michigan and is as sweet as the name implies. Fully renovated in 2017, Sugar Beach Resort Hotel gives you the perfect location for local eateries, wineries, breweries and local shopping as well water sports right on the beach. The pillow-top mattresses ensure a great night’s rest and the view overlooking the bay while you enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast simply cannot be beat. Included in every guest room is a mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and personal safe. After a day on the town relax in our heated hot tub, take a dip in our indoor pool, or work off the day’s indulges in our fitness center. From larger suites that can accommodate up to 6 people comfortably, that includes a lovely leisure living area, to more intimate rooms with a king bed and a sofa; there is sure to be a room to fit your vacation or business trip needs. Welcome to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel where your search can end and your adventure can begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing