We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed as part of a hockey tournament weekend. They were very accommodating to all of the families. The breakfast buffet was very good: cereals, hard boiled eggs, granola, yogurt, pancakes, fruit, bagels, breads, coffee/tea/hot chocolate and lots of juices. Better than what I've experienced at other places. The view from our room (main floor with a slider to a cement patio) made me want to return for a summer time trip. The rooms were clean and included a DVD player which was great for the kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank see-the-trip-sights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    87
    39
    20
    4
See reviews for
104
91
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Sugar Beach Resort hotel. Our room was on the 2nd floor, and the balcony and view were definitely the highlight of our stay. It was very quiet and relaxing in our room and we rarely heard any other guests. The service was great and the bed was comfy! We did not have any major complaints. We didn't try the breakfast, so I can't comment on that (we like to sleep in on vacation!).

There were a few small things that we didn't care for: we were charged a "resort fee" but there really wasn't any benefit to us as we visited during rainy weather and all of the beach chairs and sports equipment were already stored for the winter, so I'm not really sure what that fee was for. The TV had a terrible picture and the TV cabinet made a loud clunking/knocking noise any time you walked past it. Other than that, no complaints!

Room Tip: Worth the extra money for a view of the water! Also if you are planning to take the casino shuttle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Came in late on a Saturday afternoon. We were able to a great room at a great price and also got to use our AAA discount on top of the discounted rate. The room was perfect for the 3 of us (all girls). Double sinks made getting ready a breeze. Beds were amazing. Front desk gave restaurant tips and shopping locations. Breakfast was good and fully stocked. Everything was perfect for our short stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We made a last minute decision to stop in Traverse City. We walked in on Monday evening and got a very reasonable rate. The girl at the front desk was very helpful, friendly, and gave us great restaurant and winery tips for the Old Mission Peninsula. The room was very clean, with a separate bar sink, microwave, and larger than normal refrigerator. We used the pool and hot tub which were very clean also. The beds were comfy, standard beds. We realized we didn't have any washcloths so we called down and they were delivered quickly. I know we were there during "off" season (actually just this week) but I wouldn't hesitate to go back during peak season. The breakfast room offers great views of the bay and is bigger than many breakfast rooms. The only thing "new" to add to other reviews is that after driving an hour towards home, we realized we forgot our pillows. We called the hotel, they shipped them very willingly, and they arrived today, only 3 days after leaving Traverse City! We were grateful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We rented a condo from Sugar Beach for four days while doing a "winery tour" in northern Michigan. The condos are in the building right next to the hotel. What a beautiful place! Three bedrooms each with a bathroom, gorgeous kitchen with granite countertops and large open floor plan with windows overlooking Lake Michigan. Just wonderful! We had the use of the hot tub and pool in the main hotel building, and took advantage of it one night. I would stay at Sugar Beach again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyC814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stay here almost every time we come to TC in the summer. Its on a great stretch of beach with plenty of watersports. This year we had pretty bad weather, barely 70 degrees each day, but still enjoyed our stay. The indoor pool is nice, the room was great and the breakfast was decent. We stay in a beachfront, first floor room - much more expensive than the other rooms but very worth it when you have small kids. They can play in the sand and beach while you sit on your deck and relax. We really enjoyed it and will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the end seem a little more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth42096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Whenever we're in Traverse City, we enjoy staying at the Sugar Beach. The staff is amazing and very helpful. The rooms we've stayed in are fairly large and have a fridge and a microwave as well as a DVD player and in-room coffee. There is also coffee and tea available in the main lobby 24/7. We like getting a ground floor beach view room so that we can walk out to the beach. Lounge chairs are provided on the beach, and towels are available there as well. A continental breakfast is provided in a "breeze way" which has a nice view of the beach. There's a swimming pool and hot tub. Parking is free. The hotel is a few miles from downtown, but there are several restaurants within walking distance. All of our experiences at this hotel have been excellent!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nickelcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#17 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Property: Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing