We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place on a Nice Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice Place on a Nice Beach”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Spent 5 nights recently at Traverse City in this resort with our family of 5 and had a great time. We had stayed years ago at the sister property to Sugar Beach and had a nice stay there, so we gave it a try. We had room 220, a family suite with double balcony overlooking the beach with a great view of the bay. Rooms were clean with no weird smells. We had a kitcheny area with fridge and microwave which is nice. There is an indoor pool and hot tub in case of bad weather, etc. Continental breakfast in a common room is busy but nice with a kids. I must say the rooms are pretty expensive, more than I have paid at oceanfront hotel rooms in the past.

Across the street there is a Ruby Tuesdays with good food, we did take out from there and had tasty ribs, etc. Also, would highly recommend Sleders, a tavern style restaurant in town (you must kiss the moose!). Do not miss a drive out on the Leelanau Peninsula, and a drive to Leland to see the historic Fishtown and fresh catch being brought in (get some smoked whitefish pate and a baguette at the stores). Sleeping Bear Dunes is gorgeous, take the Pierce Stocking Scenic drive and stop at the overlooks--Lake Michigan is wondrous! And if you can afford it, eat at the Boathouse, some of the best food I have ever had hands down!

Room Tip: The balcony makes the whole trip worth it--first night was "courtyard" because they were f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    103
    46
    23
    9
See reviews for
126
110
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Beautiful hotel right on the beach. We stayed here for 3 nights and it was very clean, comfortable and a nice location. There was parasailing right from the front of the hotel, and the staff was very helpful bringing me up toothpaste and a luggage cart. Very happy with our stay and would love to go there again!

Room Tip: Get a lake facing room....fantastic view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieAnneSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and for giving us feedback on your experience. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff took great care of you during your stay. We invite you back to kick back, relax, and enjoy your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Went on vacation with family and had great time. Hotel is situated on nice beach on Traverse Bay. Water was warm and crystal clear. Hotel was clean as well as the rooms. We would stay here again and will in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watty41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for staying at our “Great Resort!” We were very glad to accommodate you and your family, and happy to to hear that the weather was just as accomodating! Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed at the Sugar Beach hotel 4 nights while here for a conference. Another family attending the conference stayed two doors down from me and yet another family was next door. we all shared the same experience of having to call the front desk multiple times to complain about poor room service. Our rooms cost in the neighborhood of 300 dollars per night, yet the hotel was on the scale of other hotels I've paid 80 dollars a night for, or even less. the hotel is on the bayside of the beach in Traverse City, which is how they justify the price. The first night I got here, I checked in and ran up to the room to use the restroom only to find it had no toilet paper. I used Kleenex and called the front desk for the tp. in the morning I showered and used the toiletries provided and left for the day. Toiletry bottles were left tipped over and empty as I left them in the shower and on the counter, and new ones were not left to replace them. The next morning, dirty towels were taken, but no washclothes left for me. I had to use a hand towel as a wash cloth. My friends in the other two rooms began leaving sticky notes that we picked up from convention vendors all over their rooms to make sure things were cleaned or replaced as neede, as you couldn't take for granted they would be.

The beautiful bay view is spoiled by their neon yellow sign with huge block letters advertising some sort of water sports. Rooms have no closets, only a little cubby as part of a wardrobe/television unit. Three small drawers and some shelves complete your storage so don't plan on unpacking, especially if you have a family. On the plus side, rooms have a microwave and fridge. Room decor is supposed to be kind of beachy, but is cheap and tacky looking. The sliding glass door, which looks right over the water has only a heavy light blocking pull across drape, no shears to allow filtered light in. Breakfast is complimentary, which is nice if your kids want something right away before heading to the water. The beach was populated by a bunch of tame-ish mallards, which I enjoyed. Looks to me like there are quite a few lounge chairs. Last hour of pool time is reserved for adults.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speechcreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2012

When paying what we paid, we expected more than this: 1) 2 crappy bath towels that looked like tattered rags and 2 'decent' towels that were not absorbent at all; 2) loud mattress pad - sounded like a waterproof one; 3) bar soap that was too small and didn't lather; 4) carpeting needed vacuuming; 5) complimentary breakfast was a bust - the line was wrapped around the room, the room was hot, and there was no place to sit. So we walked across the street to Bob Evan's; 6) went down to the beach and there were no lounge chairs available (at 10:00am!); 7) not one extra roll of toilet paper (come on!). We are embarrassed that we recommended this hotel to another couple - their room was never cleaned, they had to hunt down a maid to get fresh towels and a roll of toilet paper, and they passed on the breakfast for the same reasons mentioned above. We've stayed here before but won't stay here again. There are plenty of other nicer hotels in T.C. to choose from! Not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just complete our second trip to this wonderful property, and we couldn't have been more pleased. Our family of four (2 teens) fit comfortably in the double queen room, which included a fridge, microwave, and coffee service. The room and bathroom were very modern, with a blue/green summer motif - really nice. The bathroom was large, with a lot of extra room in the sink area for all of our products. Perhaps the greatest thing about this room was the storage availability - a large, two-sided eteger which housed the television offered lots of space for all of our belongings, with room to spare. We were able to keep our room somewhat neat by stashing all of our things in this space - loved it. A complimentary breakfast in the dining area (with small balcony) provided a morning start - waffles, french toast, cereals, yogurt, granola, fruit, juices, and really good coffee with sturdy cups for transportation back to your room. Perhaps the most noticeable thing about this hotel is how super clean it was. Spotless. There are lots of friendly staff about, and this is likely a reason why. Someone is always tidying up. The room is SPOTLESS. That's why we keep coming here.

Now, the beach: wonderful!!! Super clean, pristine, very clear water, no rocks, no garbage. The bay doesn't start getting deep until way, way out...perfect for small kids. There is a trampoline out in the water for rental, as well as kayaks and parasailing opportunities. This year, we noticed new umbrellas on the beach, but we always bring our own...it can get hot!

The front lobby is large, with all-day coffee in the corner. There are lots of Traverse City brochures about, and the staff is knowledgeable about day trips and good restaurants in town. Pirates' Cove is right across the street; it's a dodge car, video game, mini-golf, rope walking thing. There's a Dairy Queen located in the middle of it. It's a nice evening activity. Also, there are video games and activities like that somewhere in the hotel facility, as well as a bright laundry area, and an indoor pool and jacuzzi.

Sugar Beach is a wonderful facility for families. It attracts a great crowd, and the hotel is not loud at night. They have another property right next door, the Grand Beach, which looks identical to the Sugar Beach. As far as restaurants, there is a Bob Evans and a Hooters withinwalking distance, but that's it. A gourmet grocery store with wine, upscale munchies, and cold snacks is a walkable distance down the road. The main TC shopping/restaurant area is 7-8 minutes down the road by car, and there is plenty of public parking.

We love the Sugar Beach Resort hotel, and will be going again next year. If you are looking for a nice hotel with lots of room for your family with a walk-out beach, this wonderful place is for you!!

PS...one small quibble: bring your own pillows!! Theirs are thin and skimpy...you'll be glad to bring your own. And that is the ONLY negative thing I can mention about this place!

Room Tip: 229 is the closest room to the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mom2Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Only out of respect for tripadvisor will I elaborate.
1. The beach is simply wonderful. Great condition, plenty of complimentary lounge chairs and other seating, beautiful setting, clean water...loved it. On-site rentals include pontoons, speedboats, jetskis, kayaks, paddleboards, parasailing...too much to remember them all. My wife and I had never jetskied so we paid $50 for a half an hour. Felt like a lot to pay as I handed over the plastic, and maybe it was, but I'll tell you this: from the moment I hit the throttle to the time we brought it back, all we could think about was how much fun we were having and how beautiful the bay is.
2. The hotel room: My take on this is that you're paying for the location. We weren't expecting anything fancy and it certainly wasn't. But it was definitely adequate. No complaints. No need to even be in the room much anyway, but it has everything you need.
3. Free breakfast: great concept, good food, nice facility, but very crowded and could be set up more effectively by having separate stations. Instead it's just one huge chaotic line for everything. Expect to wait and deal with pushy people or really slow people. But again, they have the right idea. I walked out of there stuffed and only mildly agitated.
4. Location: the beach alone makes this a great place to stay, but you're right on the main drag. About 5 minutes west is where Munson splits into Front St. and M-22. Or jump on 8th Street to get downtown with much less traffic.

Restaurant suggestions: Trattoria Stella, Apache Trout Grille, Poppycock's, Brew, Firefly, North Peak, and for breakfast - Amical.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmacesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Property: Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel is situated on over 300' of the sugar sand beaches of East Grand Traverse Bay leading into the gorgeous waters of Lake Michigan and is as sweet as the name implies. Fully renovated in 2017, Sugar Beach Resort Hotel gives you the perfect location for local eateries, wineries, breweries and local shopping as well water sports right on the beach. The pillow-top mattresses ensure a great night’s rest and the view overlooking the bay while you enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast simply cannot be beat. Included in every guest room is a mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and personal safe. After a day on the town relax in our heated hot tub, take a dip in our indoor pool, or work off the day’s indulges in our fitness center. From larger suites that can accommodate up to 6 people comfortably, that includes a lovely leisure living area, to more intimate rooms with a king bed and a sofa; there is sure to be a room to fit your vacation or business trip needs. Welcome to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel where your search can end and your adventure can begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing