We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
185
125
53
30
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
185
125
53
30
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat beachsister propertywafflescontinental breakfastbeachfront roomgrand beachindoor poolplenty of chairsbeach viewfirst floorfamily suiteevery morningboiled eggsground floorbeach chairsthe breakfast areanice resort
Filter
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 407 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Beautiful hotel right on the beach. We stayed here for 3 nights and it was very clean, comfortable and a nice location. There was parasailing right from the front of the hotel, and the staff was very helpful bringing me up toothpaste and a luggage cart. Very happy with our stay and would love to go there again!

Room Tip: Get a lake facing room....fantastic view!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrieAnneSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay and for giving us feedback on your experience. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff took great care of you during your stay. We invite you back to kick back, relax, and enjoy your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Went on vacation with family and had great time. Hotel is situated on nice beach on Traverse Bay. Water was warm and crystal clear. Hotel was clean as well as the rooms. We would stay here again and will in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watty41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLC, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you for staying at our “Great Resort!” We were very glad to accommodate you and your family, and happy to to hear that the weather was just as accomodating! Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed at the Sugar Beach hotel 4 nights while here for a conference. Another family attending the conference stayed two doors down from me and yet another family was next door. we all shared the same experience of having to call the front desk multiple times to complain about poor room service. Our rooms cost in the neighborhood of 300 dollars per night, yet the hotel was on the scale of other hotels I've paid 80 dollars a night for, or even less. the hotel is on the bayside of the beach in Traverse City, which is how they justify the price. The first night I got here, I checked in and ran up to the room to use the restroom only to find it had no toilet paper. I used Kleenex and called the front desk for the tp. in the morning I showered and used the toiletries provided and left for the day. Toiletry bottles were left tipped over and empty as I left them in the shower and on the counter, and new ones were not left to replace them. The next morning, dirty towels were taken, but no washclothes left for me. I had to use a hand towel as a wash cloth. My friends in the other two rooms began leaving sticky notes that we picked up from convention vendors all over their rooms to make sure things were cleaned or replaced as neede, as you couldn't take for granted they would be.

The beautiful bay view is spoiled by their neon yellow sign with huge block letters advertising some sort of water sports. Rooms have no closets, only a little cubby as part of a wardrobe/television unit. Three small drawers and some shelves complete your storage so don't plan on unpacking, especially if you have a family. On the plus side, rooms have a microwave and fridge. Room decor is supposed to be kind of beachy, but is cheap and tacky looking. The sliding glass door, which looks right over the water has only a heavy light blocking pull across drape, no shears to allow filtered light in. Breakfast is complimentary, which is nice if your kids want something right away before heading to the water. The beach was populated by a bunch of tame-ish mallards, which I enjoyed. Looks to me like there are quite a few lounge chairs. Last hour of pool time is reserved for adults.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speechcreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

When paying what we paid, we expected more than this: 1) 2 crappy bath towels that looked like tattered rags and 2 'decent' towels that were not absorbent at all; 2) loud mattress pad - sounded like a waterproof one; 3) bar soap that was too small and didn't lather; 4) carpeting needed vacuuming; 5) complimentary breakfast was a bust - the line was wrapped around the room, the room was hot, and there was no place to sit. So we walked across the street to Bob Evan's; 6) went down to the beach and there were no lounge chairs available (at 10:00am!); 7) not one extra roll of toilet paper (come on!). We are embarrassed that we recommended this hotel to another couple - their room was never cleaned, they had to hunt down a maid to get fresh towels and a roll of toilet paper, and they passed on the breakfast for the same reasons mentioned above. We've stayed here before but won't stay here again. There are plenty of other nicer hotels in T.C. to choose from! Not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just complete our second trip to this wonderful property, and we couldn't have been more pleased. Our family of four (2 teens) fit comfortably in the double queen room, which included a fridge, microwave, and coffee service. The room and bathroom were very modern, with a blue/green summer motif - really nice. The bathroom was large, with a lot of extra room in the sink area for all of our products. Perhaps the greatest thing about this room was the storage availability - a large, two-sided eteger which housed the television offered lots of space for all of our belongings, with room to spare. We were able to keep our room somewhat neat by stashing all of our things in this space - loved it. A complimentary breakfast in the dining area (with small balcony) provided a morning start - waffles, french toast, cereals, yogurt, granola, fruit, juices, and really good coffee with sturdy cups for transportation back to your room. Perhaps the most noticeable thing about this hotel is how super clean it was. Spotless. There are lots of friendly staff about, and this is likely a reason why. Someone is always tidying up. The room is SPOTLESS. That's why we keep coming here.

Now, the beach: wonderful!!! Super clean, pristine, very clear water, no rocks, no garbage. The bay doesn't start getting deep until way, way out...perfect for small kids. There is a trampoline out in the water for rental, as well as kayaks and parasailing opportunities. This year, we noticed new umbrellas on the beach, but we always bring our own...it can get hot!

The front lobby is large, with all-day coffee in the corner. There are lots of Traverse City brochures about, and the staff is knowledgeable about day trips and good restaurants in town. Pirates' Cove is right across the street; it's a dodge car, video game, mini-golf, rope walking thing. There's a Dairy Queen located in the middle of it. It's a nice evening activity. Also, there are video games and activities like that somewhere in the hotel facility, as well as a bright laundry area, and an indoor pool and jacuzzi.

Sugar Beach is a wonderful facility for families. It attracts a great crowd, and the hotel is not loud at night. They have another property right next door, the Grand Beach, which looks identical to the Sugar Beach. As far as restaurants, there is a Bob Evans and a Hooters withinwalking distance, but that's it. A gourmet grocery store with wine, upscale munchies, and cold snacks is a walkable distance down the road. The main TC shopping/restaurant area is 7-8 minutes down the road by car, and there is plenty of public parking.

We love the Sugar Beach Resort hotel, and will be going again next year. If you are looking for a nice hotel with lots of room for your family with a walk-out beach, this wonderful place is for you!!

PS...one small quibble: bring your own pillows!! Theirs are thin and skimpy...you'll be glad to bring your own. And that is the ONLY negative thing I can mention about this place!

Room Tip: 229 is the closest room to the dining area.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mom2Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews