We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Lapeer, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

Very pricey for the average room, so not worth the $$$. Have stayed in some just as expensive and less expensive that puts this to shame. Room was clean, decent sized & beds comfortable. The balcony/view out to the bay was nice but other than that, there was'nt anything that would bring me back. Breakfast buffet was just okay, wasn't kept stocked or cleaned up very well. Small workout room, dirty, don't think machines have been cleaned in months. Room heating/air wall mount was very noisy, rattled.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sissybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    99
    45
    23
    9
See reviews for
119
106
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Very reasonable this time of year. Good view of bay from sit down balcony. Clean & comfortable. Standard nothing special basic breakfast choices but ok for serve yourself. Wait staff friendly & helpful. No restaurant for other meals but, plenty of places near & in town.

Room Tip: Beach side rooms are great for view but can get courtside rooms cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecat-Flt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Detroit, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We were repeat guests at the Sugar Beach Resort. Our first stay (June, 2009) was very pleasant, so we decided to make reservations for our trip to Traverse City last month (August, 2011).

When we checked in, the staff wasn't very hospitable. Once we got to our room, we noticed several large carpet stains. The bathroom had a used, dirty bath mat and wet, used towels. We were absolutely disgusted by what appeared to be feces smeared on the shower curtain. Clearly the bathroom hadn't been cleaned prior to our arrival. We contacted the front desk to complain, and they sent the housekeeping supervisor to our room. He brought us fresh towels and inspected the room. He agreed that it was not properly cleaned, but blamed in on a new housekeeper. I found this excuse completely unacceptable.

The Sugar Beach charges a daily resort fee, however, there weren't even clean beach towels in the outsie cabinets for two of the thee days. They said that they were running short on towels. If they charge a resort fee, clearly they should have enough beach towels for guests.

At 6 am one morning, we heard doors slamming. The noise continued for 15 minutes, as there was a teen girls' golf team making the commotion as they were waiting for the breakfast. We called the front desk to see if they could have security visit the second floor to keep the girls from waking everyone up. The front desk attendant, Kevin, was rude, and said he would send someone up. The door slamming continued for another 15 minutes. At that time, I had called back, and Kevin rudely said to wait a few minutes bcause the noisy girls were going to check out shortly. When I peaked out the door, there were two other guests peaking out their doors to see what was going on.

The stairway and to the right of the breezeway was disgusting. There were huge stains on the carpet and the area had a terrible odor. It desperately needed to be cleaned.

We will never stay at the Sugar Beach again. This resort has gone downhill significantly since 2009. We DO NOT recommend!!!!

Room Tip: We had a beachfront room on the second floor. The view was nice, however, crazy drunk girls were run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontiac mi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

like being able to be near the water the kids had a good time next time i will get a room on the 1st floor so i can sit outside while baby naps so older kids can play on beach while i leave the door open so i can hear the baby and keep a eye on them.maybe the desk might suggest it when u tell them u are bringing a baby . it would have been a big help.i did find them very nice and helpful i will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

The Sugar Beach Resort is a great destination! The resort staff are helpful, the facilities are very well kept up, and the beach is wonderful. I recommend this resort for both families and couples.

Room Tip: We selected a beach view balcony room to have a better view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PietownTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

This hotel has fantastic beach but for the price we paid they should have had a working internet connection in our room. The lake water is very clean and warm. They do an excellent job in maintaining the beach. Plenty of beach chairs. Great people watching and lots of activities for kids to do. We were there for 4 days and never were able to get an internet connection in our room that laster for more than 5 minutes. The front desk staff would imply that their system worked fine by saying there people in the lobby using the internet without any problems. It would not been so aggravating if they would just admitted they have a problem. For those prices you should be able to use the internet in your room. The hotel is well maintained and the staff are very nice. The breakfast is good food but the space is too small for the number of people. Rooms are clean and very nicely furnished. Nice indoor pool too. Lots of variations of rooms from which to pick.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothyhydepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

The only good thing about this "resort" was the view! We had a second floor room with a balcony overlooking the bay/beach. The outside appearance of the hotel is very inviting, but once inside...well, that's a different story! First of all, the carpets are disgusting in every location,( ie. stairways, hallways, and rooms). The doors and elevators looked as if they hadn't been cleaned in weeks, there were grungy handprints galore! There was also an awful odor emanating throughout the hotel, it was one of stale cigarette smoke...yuck! The beds were extremely uncomfortable, with their "pancake pillows", super cheap linens, bunchy mattress cover, and very outdated comforters. The bathroom was the nicest part of the room, atleast it had been updated. Our stay did include breakfast, which was ok, but you better get there when no one else is, or you won't get a seat in the tiny breakfast area. Also, I decided to do a load of laundry on our last nights stay...shouldn't have!! The 1980's washer left rust spots on some of our clothing, and the dryer, well let's just say it didn't dry! Oh, and forget about going to the pool, unless you enjoy being in a sauna. The pool area had to have been 110 degrees, it was soooo hot in there you couldn't catch your breath! And one more thing, they charge you a $10 per day "resort fee" for beach towels (that were never at the beach cabinet location), beach grooming, and etc. Seriously, that's not included in the $260 a night stay?? We will not be coming back to this so called resort, nor will we recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ssthoov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
3.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Property: Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing